We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location; great breakfast, nice staff”
Review of Hera Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hera Hotel
Ranked #19 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 November 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Hera on Oct 6-7 2012. This was our third stay, as in 2008 and 2010 we got two connecting rooms for us and our son, who is now in college. This time we stayed in a non-connecting room, Rm 201.
The Hera Hotel is in the Makrigianni district, a block down from the Acropolis Metro station, and antoher block or so from entering the Plaka area. The New Acropolis Museum is a five minute walk up and around to the left, as is the Acropolis. Excellent location.
The hotel only has 38 rooms, which is a plus to us. The rooms (at least the regular ones) are small, but the beds are comfortable, there's good storage space, and the bathrooms are quite nice. And the air conditioning works! You have to put your key card in a slot to run the electricity and of course the air conditioning.
The staff at the desk were all friendly and spoke excellent English. The breakfast is in a very pleasant room and there are many choices...the breakfast is excellent. There is a conference room, where, when not in use, you have free access to a computer and the internet.
The Peacock restaurant is only open for dinner and has a nice view of the Parthenon. We didn't go this time, but the previous two times we did...the restaurant was good and fairly reasonable. Drinks can be expensive, so order ouzo, which is very reasonable.
We paid 136 euros a night with breakfast...pretty good value. Quite frankly, I spent a lot of time with guide books and on the internet and couldn't find another hotel that combined the location, the breakfast, a rooftop restaurant with Acropolis views, and overall value. We plan to return to Athens in 2014, and I'm certain we will be back at the Hera again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank YiorgosM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatzilia, General Manager at Hera Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your posting your nice review.

I am really glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Looking forward to welcome you again on 2014!

Best regards,

Iro Chatzilia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,096)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

692 - 698 of 1,096 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2012 via mobile

Nice, clean hotel with an amazing view of the Acropolis from the roof top bar / restaurant.

Also, the hotel provides (for a small extra charge) private transport to the airport. This comes in very handy when the local taxi drivers have gone on strike !!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deaquon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatzilia, General Manager at Hera Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your nice review.

I am really glad that you liked our hotel. Indeed the view from our Roof top restaurant is amazing.

Hope to welcome you again.

Best regards,


Iro Chatzilia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2012

Through Homeric Tours we booked the Aegean Wonder cruise from Athens to Istanbul and back to Athens via the islands. We were extremely pleased with the Hera Hotel in Athens at the foot of the Acropolis and with the Louis Cristal cruise ship. We spent four nights in the hotel and seven on the ship. All aspects of the trip were well organized. Homeric's Deborah in NY and Costas in Athens are the best.

It was great staying so close to the Acropolis. The rooftop restaurant of the hotel added a special delight as this wonder of the world lit up at night. We did not do much more in Athens than walk around the base and to the top. On our first full day there there was a general strike and plans had to change because of closures that day. Police were everywhere. My wife decided to take a picture of a corner full of cops. They didn’t like it. They told her to delete. She attempted to show them the camera deleting. “Back away, lady.” I guess she could have been an anarchist disguised as tourist. For a moment I thought I might be leaving her there.

The Hera Hotel has small but elegant rooms. We were glad the TV offered BBC and CNN International. The breakfast offered 7 to 11 AM is excellent. The menu on the roof seemed limited but we were there for the view. It was breath-taking.The two young people waiting on us were absolutely delightful.

There are plenty of restaurants for eating out and stores nearby for drinking in.

Room Tip: We had read that a couple rooms had a vew of the Acropolis. We didn't request and we didn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank buttonpunky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatzilia, General Manager at Hera Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice review.

I am really glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I hope that we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you again.

Best regards,

Iro Chatzilia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2012

On arrival our room was a smaller than anticipated but otherwise ok. We had a couple of housekeeping issues which were easily resolved. As we had arrived late we chose to eat at the roof top terrace restaurant. The view from there made our stay very special - the Acropolis at night will be remembered by us for a long time to come. Food and service in both the restaurant and breakfast room were very good. Overall, the location is excellent, the hotel is clean and the staff were always smiling and eager to help.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank glyn2429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatzilia, General Manager at Hera Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your taking the time to post your review.

I am really glad that , overall, you enjoyed your stay at Hera hotel.

I hope that we shall have the pleasure tof welcoming you again.

Best regards,

Iro Chatzilia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights. Great location, very clean hotel, fabulous value for money! Breakfast - delightful.The rooftop bar and restaurant is a must. Its gorgeous up there and the staff are very friendly and personable! After our first night, they remembered all our drinks for the rest of our stay ;-))The hotel also posted my sandal back to Australia when I left it in the room , how's that for service!!! Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great, you don't need an Acropolis view when you have the rooftop bar and rest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SydneyDownunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatzilia, General Manager at Hera Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review.

Its so nice to hear that you enjoyed our stay with us.

Looking forward on greeting you once again on your next trip to Athens.

Best regards,

Iro Chatzilia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

We stayed here 3 times over a total of 7 nights, using Hera as a base for island hopping, tours etc. we had an acropolis view room. All staff were friendly, pleasant and helpful. . Rooftop bar and restaurant were great especially since we arrived at 930 pm the first time. Went upstairs to a table overlooking the acropolis, had a lovely meal of fresh Greek salad and fried squid which were perfect! Breakfast was great too with all the usual things.
Rooms a little small as they try to fit in a lot of furniture but very clean. The location is excellent! And, they keep the outside beautifully maintained and clean with lots of flower pots and shady trees,.
As well, across the road there's a laundrette with a bar next door and a cafe on the other side, so again very handy to do some laundry ave a coffee or a burger while waiting.
I would thoroughly recommend and will return!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bear2644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatzilia, General Manager at Hera Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your excellent review.

We are really thankful for your nice comments. Its so ince to hear that you enjoyed our hotel and services.

Looking forward to greeting you once again on your next trip to Athens.

Best regards,

Iro Chatzilia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

The Hotel Hera is in the Plaka (or as good as anyway) and less than 10 minutes' walk to the Acropolis. Terrific location and a lovely hotel with comfortable, well appointed rooms. Very clean, very good service and a very good hot breakfast served each morning.

Their rooftop bar and restaurant offers good food and a superb view of the Parthenon. A really great place for a nightcap!

I would not hesitate to recommend it to family and friends.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SEAchange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatzilia, General Manager at Hera Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice review.

We are so glad that you enjoyed our hotel and services. Its so nice to hear our guests recommending our small hotel around the world.

We really hope that we will see you again.

Best regards,

Iro Chatzilia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#10 of 282 in Athens
2,438 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 282 in Athens
3,943 reviews
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#13 of 282 in Athens
3,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#15 of 282 in Athens
1,595 reviews
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hera Hotel

Address: 9 Falirou, Athens 117 42, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Thissio / Makriyanni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#23 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#48 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £64 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hera Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hera Hotel welcomes its guests with the genuine warmth of definitive hospitality, combined with an impeccable service, comfort and the exceptional atmosphere of a boutique hotel.Conveniently located right at the foot of the Acropolis hill, the new Acropolis Museum and next to the interconnected archeological sites. Hera Hotel offers a unique opportunity to the visitor to enjoy an excellent stay at the hotel, right into the heart of the old Athens and to traverse through ancient times by strolling through the historic center of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hera Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing