We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location at the foot of the Acropolis” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hera Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hera Hotel
Ranked #25 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Location at the foot of the Acropolis”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

We stayed at Hera Hotel at the beginning of our trip and the ending which made it very nice.
We visited Mykonos and Santorini island and they checked our baggage until we returned.
The hotel employees were very accommodating in anything we needed or asked. It was a ery short walk to the Acropolis and the Acropolis metro station, The Plaka district is only a couple of blocks away. There are plenty of restaurants very close by. I could not ask for any better place to stay. The only thing is the rooms are small but very nice.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatzilia, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Hera Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review at TripAdvisor.

I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Hope that you enjoyed your trip in Greece and we shall have the pleasure to welcome you again.

best regards,

Iro Chatzilia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

925 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    388
    409
    81
    30
    17
See reviews for
129
516
52
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

The location of the hotel, just a block or two from the metro, the wonderful Acropolis Museum, and the base of the Acropolis itself, is ideal. We were a bit disappointed in the view, however, after paying extra for it, because what you actually see from the room is the ugly apartment buildings across the street. You have to go onto the balcony or into the far left corner of the room in order to see the Acropolis, and even then the view isn't that great. (We had the last room on the right on the 4th floor -or 5th floor in US terminology- this is the farthest from the Acropolis of the 4 rooms that are billed as "Acropolis view," so perhaps the others may be better.) The view from the restaurant upstairs is quite nice, though, and we enjoyed our dinner there. The hallways and room were a bit tired, with dingy carpeting, some peeling wallpaper and a hole in the upholstery of the chair arm. However, the room was clean and the bed was comfortable. Breakfast was plentiful with a variety of choices but nothing particularly special. Desk and restaurant staff were friendly and helpful. I would recommend this hotel if you have a limited time in Athens.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatzilia, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Hera Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Amanda,

Thank you for your review.

I am glad to read that you would recommend our hotel to your friends. However, i am really sad to see that you didnt enjoy the view from your room. As a hotel located in the center of Athens, its inevitable not to have other building in the surrounding area. To be honest, the majority of our guests are extremely satisfied with the view from the Acropolis view rooms. You can see that from other comments too. At least its nice to see that you enjoyed it from our roof garden restaurant!

Hope that we shall have the pleasure to welcome you again!

At your disposal,

Iro Chatzilia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

A group of us stayed at Hera hotel recently and I was very happy with the hotel location and with our accommodation. The hotel itself is great for walking the city, very close to the sights and to restaurants. The room is well appointed and spacious with a nice balcony. We had a street facing room with no view, but it was nice to have the outdoor space. The beds were very comfortable as were the pillows. The bathroom is also very spacious and well appointed. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was plentiful. My only complaint about this hotel is the wifi coverage, very patchy if working at all. Overall though a good base for exploring the city.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CB91910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatzilia, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Hera Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on TripAdvisor.

I am glad to read that overall you enjoyed your stay at Hera Hotel. Regarding the wi-fi , sometimes we do have area connection problems.However, from our side, we have tried to cover with the maximum possible equipments.

Hope that we shall have the pleasure to welcome you again!

At oyur disposal,

Iro Chatzilia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

This is a hotel where you expect and you get. VERY pleasant staff from Reception to Bar. Great location. Lots of dining and drinking possibilities very close by.
Good breakfast selections; reasonable bar prices.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BernieD4810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatzilia, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Hera Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Bernie,

Thank you for your review.

I am glad to see that you liked our hotel. Its so nice to read that we are VERY pleasant!

Hope to see you again.

best regards,

Iro Chatzilia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

First thing to mention is the superb location of this hotel, close to the acropolis and the metro station. Night time drinks on the hotel roof show the most famous site of Athens lit. Lovely room, god breakfast, and very helpful staff.

Room Tip: depends on your preference, the rooms away from the road will be quieter due to a lively club nearby...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guy_Frazer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatzilia, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Hera Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Guy,

Thank you for your nice review.

I am glad to see that you enjoyed your stay at Hera Hotel.


Hope to see you again.

best regards,

Iro Chatzilia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Caney, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
67 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Great base for exploring the ancient sites and Plaka of Athens. Friendly and helpful staff. They helped with transportation to the ferry port and arranged for our driver to stop at a pharmacy for dramamine. Upon entering the pharmacy, the clerk was waiting with the product in hand. Breakfast was awsome in a beautiful room surrounded by a garden.

Room Tip: If you want a good Acropolic view don't rely on the Peacock bar/restaurant. They usually keep th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatzilia, General Manager at Hera Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Joey,

Thank you for your nice review!

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay at Hera Hotel.

Hope to see you again!

best regards,

Iro Chatzilia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
71 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

When opting for Hera Hotel please bear in mind the following: It is a good hotel, well run, clean, friendly staff, etc. but your comfort depends to a large degree on 'which room you end up in'. Mind: There's only 4 rooms at a somewhat higher rate that offer Acropolis view and they are on the 4th floor. Lower floor standard rooms at the front of the hotel look out on the hustle and bustle of the streets and have a small balcony.
However if you order a 'standard room' - unspecified - like us, you may find yourself put away somewhere in a room with a balcony rail over the inner court and have to be content with air conditioner noises and in my view: 'no view!'. I am therefore not a happy customer. Had I known, I would have made sure to get a room at the front of the hotel; if need be at 30 Euros extra per night. Our 17 m2 room did have cooling and a bath room.
Unfortunately there's no information sheet in your room with A-Z. So most of your FAQs need to be sorted by trying, or asking at the reception desk.
Location is at the Southern tip of the Plaka, conveniently within walking distance of the New Acropolis Museum and a metro station.
So this can be a very convenient hotel if you get the 'right' room.
Dinner at roof top is worthwhile.

Room Tip: Always at the front of the hotel or opt for another place. 4th floor front rooms is +30 €/night wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnSt_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatzilia, General Manager at Hera Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear John,

Thank you for your review.

I am glad that overall you liked our hotel. However, I am sad to see that you were not satisfied with your room. As stated at our site, all rooms are described with its size and location. Specifically, for all Small & Standard rooms is clearly stated that they are either located on the back side overlooking the Atrium or for some Standards which are located on the front overlooking the road. We do understand that most guests request for a room with Acropolis view. However, as you mention the rooms are few. Being a hotel located in the city center , and most specifically in the " old" area, it cannot have all rooms facing the monument. We wish we could do it, but unfortunately this is not possible.

I hope that we shall have the pleasure to welcome you again. If you do, please contact me in order to try to arrange a room with a view!

Best regards,

Iro Chatzilia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#15 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,077 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Philippos Hotel
Philippos Hotel
#24 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#13 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#9 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,082 reviews
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#4 of 325 in Athens
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,587 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Airotel Parthenon
Airotel Parthenon
#45 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hera Hotel

Property: Hera Hotel
Address: 9 Falirou, Athens 117 42, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Thissio / Makriyanni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#27 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#57 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hera Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hera Hotel welcomes its guests with the genuine warmth of definitive hospitality, combined with an impeccable service, comfort and the exceptional atmosphere of a boutique hotel.Conveniently located right at the foot of the Acropolis hill, the new Acropolis Museum and next to the interconnected archeological sites. Hera Hotel offers a unique opportunity to the visitor to enjoy an excellent stay at the hotel, right into the heart of the old Athens and to traverse through ancient times by strolling through the historic center of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hera Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing