We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it”
Review of Hera Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hera Hotel
Ranked #18 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This hotel has a terrific location, steps from the New Acropolis Museum and the Acropolis itself. The Acropolis metro station is a minute away if you feel like using it instead of walking. It is on the edge of the Plaka and within walkable distance (through the National Gardens) to the Benaki Museum (a gem, small and manageable with an excellent roof top terrace restaurant) and the Byzantine Museum (larger that it looks and also with a very pleasant outdoor terrace restaurant). We found the staff very friendly and helpful and enjoyed two evenings, of our five night stay, having dinner on the terrace overlooking the Acropolis with the Parthenon illuminated at night. Service was excellent and the food was delicious. We tried to reserve fourth floor rooms with views of the Acropolis but they were, understandably, all taken. Try to get one, as I imagine that they are lovely. Our own rooms were clean and comfortable and although overlooking the street on the 2nd and 3rd floors, quiet and silence descended with the windows closed. The AC works very well. The buffet breakfast was excellent, chilled melon, other fruit, cheeses, hams, eggs (scrambled or fried), bacon, yogurts and all kinds of breads and buns. It is a small and pretty perfect hotel with great staff. Loved it.

Room Tip: we were in 204 and 303 - they were fine but try to get a room on the 4th floor with a view of the Ac...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leslie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatzilia, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Hera Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Leslie,

Thank you so much for your lovely review.

Its so nice that you loved your stay at Hera Hotel.

Hope that we shall have the pleasure to see you again!

Best regards,

Iro Chatzilia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,061)
There are newer reviews for Hera Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

536 - 542 of 1,061 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2014

This hotel is ok at best--for the price. We were given a room on the first floor with a view of nothing but apartment walls and air conditioners. You couldn't even see the sky from our window. The bed and furniture are very good and since we were probably going to spend most of the time out and about we would have been fine with a room that was nice, but difficult to see why it was costing as much as it did. Alas, we arrived on a Friday. That night at about 12:30 we awoke to the beat of the music in the bar right beside the hotel. And it continued until about 5:00 am. The music was noisy but the pulse of the bass could be felt in the body. Since we didn't yet know about the dance club we asked the front desk the next day if it had been a function that they had had the night before. The man assured us it was not them and said the bar was noisy on the weekends and they could go until dawn. It was left at that and we hoped for the best the next night. Same thing. This time we went down to the night staff and complained. He said he could do nothing for us. The next morning we talked to a woman at the front desk and they moved us to a room higher up--same depressing view. Although we were glad to be moved, I did not appreciate the way the woman at the front desk tried to spin our complaint by saying comments that directly contradicted what I had just said. For example, when I said it was two nights of noise her next sentences would indicate that it was one night of noise and that this was really unusual--it must just be a one night thing. ummmm…there's a night club right beside your building. I'm pretty sure it is like that every weekend. Happily Sunday and Monday night were quiet.

One last not great thing about the Hera--my husband is 6 foot 3 inches and he had to crouch to get under the shower head in the bathroom. It is not the worst thing in the world, but when you pay this much for a room you don't expect this irritation.

The good features of this room were a really comfortable bed and marble in the bathroom. The service was fine. The location is great.

We did not eat breakfast at the hotel. Honestly, the cost of the breakfast seemed extraordinarily high. Just go a block down the street and there is a whole row of places to get coffee and pastry and even omelettes if you want, for at least half the price.

We would definately not stay here again unless there was a deep reduction in the price. And the rooms that face that utterly depressing wall of apartments and air conditioners are absolutely not worth the price. If you can't be guaranteed a view of the acropolis or it you like sleeping on the weekends between midnight and dawn, do not stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 324Brian204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatzilia, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Hera Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

Its sad to hear that you were not satisfied with your stay. I am so sorry to read that you had such a big problem with the bar next door. I have personally, spoken with the owner of the bar about the situation and tried to solve the problem. Its true, that this is not a common thing, since they really respect the neighborhood. I assume that they had a special event where things got little of program. For sure this doesnt change the fact that you were disturbed, however, we have taken the comment seriously and we will try to do our best not to happen again.

Regarding the view of the rooms, as you are aware the hotel is located in the center of Athens. A lot of buildings are in the area, unfortunately not allowing clear view. Assuming that you booked the Standard rooms, it is mentioned on our site that they are located either in front or back of the hotel. However, we do offer the option for rooms with view.

Regarding your comment on our breakfast, I am sorry to read that you didnt eat, since we do offer a very nice buffet. The rate of 15 euro per person , is considered below average rate compared to other 4* hotels.

Finally regarding your comment that you wouldnt stay again unless there was a price reduction, that's really strange. Do you mean that you wouldnt be annoyed with the music if you had a lower rate? In any case, I would like to mention that our rates are very competitive compared to other hotels in the area.

Once again, I am really sorry that you were so disturbed with the noise next door. I hope that we shall have the pleasure to welcome you another time were you can have a room with a clear view to the Acropolis and far away from the bar!

At your disposal,

Iro Chatzilia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

The staff was just wonderful when member of our party took sick, and needed a doctor. Rooms compact, but well appointed. Breakfast room is a small gem that looks like a wrought iron Victorian garden gazabo! Located right in the heart of Athens attractions, but quiet neighborhood. Acropolis views! Only one minus...small European tubs to be used as sitz bath or shower?

Room Tip: Pick Acropolis view room with balcony
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JustinaTucson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatzilia, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Hera Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Justina,

Thank you for your review.

Its so nice to read that you liked our hotel.I hope that your friend is well now.

I am not sure what you mean regarding the bath tubs. I assume that you mean they are small? In any case, I am sorry that you didnt enjoy it.

Hope to see you again.

Best regards,

Iro Chatzilia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Hera for 5 nights in early June and overall it was a most pleasant experience. Our room was (for a European hotel) quite spacious, it had a small balcony and faced the street. We were initially a bit concerned about noise as on our first evening there was a bit of shouting and street noise, but the window/door double glazing was excellent and with the balcony door shut we did not hear a sound.

There is just a single lift which means if you are one of the upper floors you might have a wait. When we visited there was a couple of tour groups staying and the lift was for a while in constant use ferrying luggage down to the lobby for a little while.

We thought breakfast was good, better than we experienced in other similar hotels on our trip, served in a very pleasant light open room just off the lobby. There was a good selection of cereals, fruit, cheese/cold meats, pastries and hot food. Similar to other hotels encountered on our trip there seems to be a problem keeping the hot select 'hot' with the scrambled eggs no better than luke warm.

There is a very pleasant restaurant/bar on the roof with views to the Acropolis. While we did not eat there we did enjoy a cocktail and while a bit expensive at 10 euro each, was a very pleasant way to spend an hour before dinner.

We chose Hera mainly due to its proximity to the Acropolis Museum and Plaka districts and were not disappointed.

Room Tip: Don't be concerned about getting a room facing the street as the double glazing is very effectiv...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HawkerAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatzilia, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Hera Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Hawker,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review at TripAdvisor.

I am glad to read that you enjoyed your 5 day stay at Hera Hotel.

Indeed , during this period the elevator is quite busy! I apologize for any disturbance you might had.

Hope that we will see you again.

best regards,

Iro Chatzilia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Notwithstanding the fact that I made a reservation directly with the hotel a month before my stay and had an email confirmation and reservation number, the hotel had no record of the reservation when we arrived. I had reserved two standard rooms, one with a queen and one with two twins. The desk manager had no explanation for his inability to find the reservation (ultimately we were told that there is a general lack of communication between the reservations department and the front desk), but said he would put us in two equivalent rooms just not on the same floor, and that we would change to the same floor the next day. Our room turned out to have a double bed, not the queen we had reserved, and was so small we couldn't turn around or find a place for the suitcases. When we asked the front desk about this they just shrugged -- "some rooms are a little smaller, some a little larger." We then looked up room sizes on the hotel website and saw that they had put us in a different room type, a "small" room, which was cheaper than the one we had reserved, a fact that the front desk had somehow failed to mention. At the same time the kids' room had no air conditioning, so they had to open the windows with no screens and were covered in bites by the next day. Surely the hotel knew there was no air conditioning which is why this room happened to be available. When I spoke to the manager the next morning she said she would have to check with her supervisor about reducing the cost of our room to the actual cost of the small room. In the meantime they did move us to the room we had reserved and ultimately did reduce the cost for the first night to the appropriate rate. But they never moved the kids or fixed the air conditioning, or apologized or offered any concessions. The front desk said "unfortunately there is nothing to be done but move them to a different room," but oops... "unfortunately we are full." On the morning of checkout I had to ask them for some concession relating to the absence of air conditioning. After multiple phone calls and much delays, the second level manager at the front desk suggested to the higher manager on the phone that the price be reduced to the "small" room price and in the end he agreed to that and that's what we paid. Not realizing that we understood her conversation in Greek, the front desk manager claimed that this was the "best he would do," and because we had already been delayed by half an hour due to this and had a plane to catch, we agreed. This is not how an issue like this would be handled in a hotel that calls itself "boutique" in the United States. At the same time the room we ultimately got for three of the four nights we had reserved was perfectly pleasant; it could have used an actual coffee maker instead of a water heater and instant coffee, but that's really my only complaint. It felt spacious for a European hotel. There is a lovely rooftop terrace with reasonably priced food and drinks that directly overlooks the Parthenon with a tremendous view. The hotel is probably the best located one in the city, with the Acropolis and the Plaka a short walk away and the new Acropolis museum just down the street. The hotel also has a beautiful breakfast room with an atrium and a large selection of breakfast foods, which in general were of average quality but did include some delicious homemade peach and pear jams to have with your Greek yogurt. So with the caveats that I list above (which I hope the hotel will take notice of and fix), I recommend this place assuming you double check before you go that they actually have your reservation and will have a room for you when you arrive.

Room Tip: One of our rooms overlooked the interior atrium and other rooms so we had to keep the drapes closed...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatzilia, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Hera Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I want to apologize for all the misunderstanding that occured with your reservation. Sometimes, either by technical or even human error, some reservations might not be processed in our reservation system. Your reservation was the case. The front desk agent wanted to assist you upon arrival and the only rooms available that we had were the one's offered. The bed types are always upon request, as metioned on our site. However, the room that you were offered did have a queen as you mention ( double bed is a queen bed according to European standards). For your children's room, I am sorry to hear that they had an air condition problem. Please rest assure that if we had another room we would definetely offer it to them. There would be no reason not to change rooms and for sure we were not aware of the situation. As far as the charges and payments, the 1st front desk agent didnt mention anything , since he had to talk with our reservations department and check what was the case. We are not the type of business that would mislead our customers for any reason. As far as the the discount on the children's room, again the agent doesnt have the authority to proceed with such actions and that's why they called me to ask it and of course we offered it.

Finally I am happy to see that even though you had your problems, you did enjoy the hotel and the rest of your stay was pleasant.

Once again, I want to apologize for what happened and I hope that you understand that sometimes mistakes do happen ,where we try to do our best to overcome them.

Hope that we shall have the pleasure to welcome you again,

best regards,

Iro Chatzilia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Stayed for 5 days o
n the 1st level room. Did request for an upper floor but to no avail.
Overall,satisfied with the location and the services rendered by staff serving breakfast! Although the food is mediocre,the services mase up for it.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bosozokuster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatzilia, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Hera Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Than you for review.

I am glad to read that we are a great hotel and you did enjoy your stay with us.

I am sorry that we couldn't offer you a room on a higher floor, however due to limited availability sometimes we cannot satisfy all requests.

Hope to see you again.

best regards,

Iro Chatzilia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Spent one night in this hotel before leaving Athens on a cruise. This is typical European hotel, small but conveniently located to the sights you want to see. Walking distance to the Plaka. The room was clean, comfortable, and quiet. Breakfast is included as is as good as buffet breakfasts typically are. Booked online well in advance of trip and got a great rate.

We ate in the rooftop restaurant opting to share the sea bass and risotto -excellent choices and very reasonable. Nice view of the Acropolis in the distance.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tripandtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatzilia, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Hera Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dea Guest,

Thank you for your nice review.

I am glad that you enjoyed our hotel and services during your visit in Athens.

Hope that you had a pleasant trip in Greece!

Looking forward to welcome you again.

best regards,

Iro Chatzilia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#13 of 282 in Athens
2,326 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 282 in Athens
3,838 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Philippos Hotel
Philippos Hotel
#19 of 282 in Athens
1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#11 of 282 in Athens
3,340 reviews
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#3 of 282 in Athens
1,711 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Acropolis Hill Hotel
Acropolis Hill Hotel
#24 of 282 in Athens
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hera Hotel

Address: 9 Falirou, Athens 117 42, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Thissio / Makriyanni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#23 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#48 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £67 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hera Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hera Hotel welcomes its guests with the genuine warmth of definitive hospitality, combined with an impeccable service, comfort and the exceptional atmosphere of a boutique hotel.Conveniently located right at the foot of the Acropolis hill, the new Acropolis Museum and next to the interconnected archeological sites. Hera Hotel offers a unique opportunity to the visitor to enjoy an excellent stay at the hotel, right into the heart of the old Athens and to traverse through ancient times by strolling through the historic center of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hera Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing