We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hera Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hera Hotel
Ranked #22 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

The Hera Hotel is only a block from the Acropolis Museum, the entrance to the Acropolis and numerous cafes, as well as only two blocks from the metro. The view at night from the terrace restaurant is not to be missed, while the food and service there were excellent as well. Breakfast was expansive and well done (served until 11am for those of us who are late starters...). The only downside is to be sure you specify you want a room facing the street. Our friends had one overlooking the street with a nice balcony while ours had a Juliet balcony overlooking an inner area of air conditioners, neighbors' laundry, etc.

Room Tip: Be sure to specify you want a room facing the street, not the inner area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WarmWeatherValerie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatzilia, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Hera Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

I am glad to read you enjoyed your stay at Hera Hotel.

We are one of the few hotels that we offer breakfast till 11:00 am. We do undertand and take into consideration late starters too!


I hope that we shall have the pleasure to welcome you again and we will definetely try to allocate you in a front room!

best regards,

Iro Chatzilia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

944 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    402
    414
    81
    30
    17
See reviews for
133
527
54
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
122 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

Location is perfect. Withing walking distance to the Acropolis loop and the new Acropolis is just on the next block, as is the entrance to the Metro! This could not have been a better location. That being said, we were a bit disappointed with our "Junior Suite", which was more like a small hotel room with a sofa squeezed into it in order to call it a "suite" It was what I would call a hotel room. "Junior Suite" was a misnomer, except in that the size of the room was, in fact, junior.

The room we booked had an "Acropolis view"--it did, except that you had to be on the balcony. It was really nice, but kind of a stretch to say that this had an Acropolis view.

Regardless of these issues, the staff was nice and helpful. The breakfast was nice. Again, Location WINS!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatzilia, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Hera Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

I am happy that, overall, you enjoyed your stay with us.

Regarding your comments on our Junior Suites, room size is stated on our site in order to avoid any misunderstading. The reason why they are J.Suites, is that they have a small in-room sitting area as well as a big veranda with amazing view of the Acropolis. We do understand that you could find them small, compared to US standards, however, that's the reason why we clearly state all sizes and room descriptions on our site. As far as the view is concerned, specific rooms are praised from all our guests. I am sorry you didnt enjoy it .

Hope that we shall have the pleasure to welcome you again.

best regards,

Iro Chatzilia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

I cannot say enough great things about this hotel. 5 stars just isn't enough. As "dumb" American tourists they handled every moment of uncertainty of ours with ease. Out luggage was lost during the flight to Athens from the states and they repeatedly called the airlines for us, and we got them back in a very timely fashion. Several days later we had accidentally left our passports in the hotel room safe, and they were amazing given the situation. Not only did they get the passports back to our friends whom we were meeting in Santorini, they had waived the forgotten key fee of 50 euros as long as we sent it back. The customer service, comfort and even shower water pressure (a rare find in Europe) we're all amazing. And on top of it all, it's in a fabulous location. I highly recommend staying here to visit Athens!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Camille M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatzilia, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Hera Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Camille,

Thank you so much for your lovely review!

I am so glad that you enjoyed our hotel and services.Its so nice to read such nice comments!

Hope that we shall have the pleasure to welcome you again on your next trip to Athens!

Best regards,

Iro Chatzilia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
130 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Just returned from a week long vacation in Greece with my mom and mother-in-law. We stayed at the Hera for three days and shared a single room with one additional twin bed. It was a bit cramped, but we expected it to be. The location of the hotel can't be beat and the price was great. You can walk right up the street and you're in the Plaka or at the Akropolis Museum. The front desk staff was very helpful and nice, and the rooftop restaurant had nice views... just make reservations.

Room Tip: Try and get a room facing the Akropolis!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DCPRPRO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatzilia, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Hera Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review.

Glad to read that you enjoyed your stay at Hera Hotel. I hope all 3 of you had a nice trip in Greece.

Hope to see you again!

best regards,


Iro Chatzilia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Hera Hotel. The best part was the great beds. Much larger than any other European Hotel we have stayed in. The air conditioning worked well and the room was clean. The location is central to all sites and the staff was very accommodating. Breakfast was good if not a little boring after a few days.....but overall we had a great stay. Thanks Hera!

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor to enjoy fews of the Acropolis!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelnutUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatzilia, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Hera Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your nice review.

I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am happy to read that you liked our beds and enjoyed your sleep. 1 year ago we changed all our beds, trying to offer the best sleep quality possible.

Hope that we shall have the pleasure to welcome you again.

Best regards,

Iro Chatzilia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

This hotel has a terrific location, steps from the New Acropolis Museum and the Acropolis itself. The Acropolis metro station is a minute away if you feel like using it instead of walking. It is on the edge of the Plaka and within walkable distance (through the National Gardens) to the Benaki Museum (a gem, small and manageable with an excellent roof top terrace restaurant) and the Byzantine Museum (larger that it looks and also with a very pleasant outdoor terrace restaurant). We found the staff very friendly and helpful and enjoyed two evenings, of our five night stay, having dinner on the terrace overlooking the Acropolis with the Parthenon illuminated at night. Service was excellent and the food was delicious. We tried to reserve fourth floor rooms with views of the Acropolis but they were, understandably, all taken. Try to get one, as I imagine that they are lovely. Our own rooms were clean and comfortable and although overlooking the street on the 2nd and 3rd floors, quiet and silence descended with the windows closed. The AC works very well. The buffet breakfast was excellent, chilled melon, other fruit, cheeses, hams, eggs (scrambled or fried), bacon, yogurts and all kinds of breads and buns. It is a small and pretty perfect hotel with great staff. Loved it.

Room Tip: we were in 204 and 303 - they were fine but try to get a room on the 4th floor with a view of the Ac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leslie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatzilia, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Hera Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Leslie,

Thank you so much for your lovely review.

Its so nice that you loved your stay at Hera Hotel.

Hope that we shall have the pleasure to see you again!

Best regards,

Iro Chatzilia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

This hotel is ok at best--for the price. We were given a room on the first floor with a view of nothing but apartment walls and air conditioners. You couldn't even see the sky from our window. The bed and furniture are very good and since we were probably going to spend most of the time out and about we would have been fine with a room that was nice, but difficult to see why it was costing as much as it did. Alas, we arrived on a Friday. That night at about 12:30 we awoke to the beat of the music in the bar right beside the hotel. And it continued until about 5:00 am. The music was noisy but the pulse of the bass could be felt in the body. Since we didn't yet know about the dance club we asked the front desk the next day if it had been a function that they had had the night before. The man assured us it was not them and said the bar was noisy on the weekends and they could go until dawn. It was left at that and we hoped for the best the next night. Same thing. This time we went down to the night staff and complained. He said he could do nothing for us. The next morning we talked to a woman at the front desk and they moved us to a room higher up--same depressing view. Although we were glad to be moved, I did not appreciate the way the woman at the front desk tried to spin our complaint by saying comments that directly contradicted what I had just said. For example, when I said it was two nights of noise her next sentences would indicate that it was one night of noise and that this was really unusual--it must just be a one night thing. ummmm…there's a night club right beside your building. I'm pretty sure it is like that every weekend. Happily Sunday and Monday night were quiet.

One last not great thing about the Hera--my husband is 6 foot 3 inches and he had to crouch to get under the shower head in the bathroom. It is not the worst thing in the world, but when you pay this much for a room you don't expect this irritation.

The good features of this room were a really comfortable bed and marble in the bathroom. The service was fine. The location is great.

We did not eat breakfast at the hotel. Honestly, the cost of the breakfast seemed extraordinarily high. Just go a block down the street and there is a whole row of places to get coffee and pastry and even omelettes if you want, for at least half the price.

We would definately not stay here again unless there was a deep reduction in the price. And the rooms that face that utterly depressing wall of apartments and air conditioners are absolutely not worth the price. If you can't be guaranteed a view of the acropolis or it you like sleeping on the weekends between midnight and dawn, do not stay here.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 324Brian204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatzilia, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Hera Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

Its sad to hear that you were not satisfied with your stay. I am so sorry to read that you had such a big problem with the bar next door. I have personally, spoken with the owner of the bar about the situation and tried to solve the problem. Its true, that this is not a common thing, since they really respect the neighborhood. I assume that they had a special event where things got little of program. For sure this doesnt change the fact that you were disturbed, however, we have taken the comment seriously and we will try to do our best not to happen again.

Regarding the view of the rooms, as you are aware the hotel is located in the center of Athens. A lot of buildings are in the area, unfortunately not allowing clear view. Assuming that you booked the Standard rooms, it is mentioned on our site that they are located either in front or back of the hotel. However, we do offer the option for rooms with view.

Regarding your comment on our breakfast, I am sorry to read that you didnt eat, since we do offer a very nice buffet. The rate of 15 euro per person , is considered below average rate compared to other 4* hotels.

Finally regarding your comment that you wouldnt stay again unless there was a price reduction, that's really strange. Do you mean that you wouldnt be annoyed with the music if you had a lower rate? In any case, I would like to mention that our rates are very competitive compared to other hotels in the area.

Once again, I am really sorry that you were so disturbed with the noise next door. I hope that we shall have the pleasure to welcome you another time were you can have a room with a clear view to the Acropolis and far away from the bar!

At your disposal,

Iro Chatzilia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#16 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,109 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Philippos Hotel
Philippos Hotel
#24 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 959 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#11 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,135 reviews
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#5 of 325 in Athens
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,605 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Airotel Parthenon
Airotel Parthenon
#49 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hera Hotel

Property: Hera Hotel
Address: 9 Falirou, Athens 117 42, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Thissio / Makriyanni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#27 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#57 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hera Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hera Hotel welcomes its guests with the genuine warmth of definitive hospitality, combined with an impeccable service, comfort and the exceptional atmosphere of a boutique hotel.Conveniently located right at the foot of the Acropolis hill, the new Acropolis Museum and next to the interconnected archeological sites. Hera Hotel offers a unique opportunity to the visitor to enjoy an excellent stay at the hotel, right into the heart of the old Athens and to traverse through ancient times by strolling through the historic center of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Bookgreece.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hera Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing