We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and great service”
Review of Hera Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hera Hotel
Ranked #22 of 327 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great location and great service”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I found a room at Hotel Hera very last minute on Expedia and I was very pleased. The hotel is in a great location (about one block from the new acropolis museum) but it is also about one block from a public walkway that has a strip of new places to eat as well as being easy walking distance to Plaka. The staff at the hotel were excellent - check in was excellent and they also were very helpful in recommending restaurants to exactly suit what we were looking for (for example, I asked for a recommendation of a traditional Greek restaurant in Plaka - and they recommended Prassas - the oldest restaurant in the area at 120 years old and it was fantastic).
We were on level 2 facing the street and the room right in front of the elevator. I usually hate those rooms as you hear everyone coming and going but this hotel was very quiet. We were there over the weekend so I am not sure if it is louder during the week. Bathrooms were great with very good water pressure. Breakfast was included and it was really good and served in a lovely atrium room on the ground floor. And the rooftop terrace was lovely for an afternoon drink - has a wonderful view of the acropolis.

Room Tip: Room 202 was good - even though it was right in front of the elevator it was very quiet. The hallwa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luxe333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatzilia, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Hera Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice review.

I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay at Hera hotel.

Hope that we shall have the pleasure to welcome you again.

best regards,

Iro Chatzilia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,012 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    438
    444
    82
    30
    18
See reviews for
146
563
57
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I only stayed one night at the Hera Hotel, but it was clean, very comfortable, and the staff was wonderful! We'd arrived early from Tel Aviv - too early to check in - and were exhausted and they made sure we had the first room available and earlier than expected! The walk to the Plaka was easy and safe. Our room overlooked the street and Athens is a noisy city, but the hotel is on a side road, so it wasn't bad at all. Nice little balcony and super comfy beds! Would stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Denise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatzilia, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Hera Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Denise,

Thank you for your review.

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay at Hera hotel.

Indeed Athens is a busy city and during summer much more! I am happy that you enjoyed your sleep. Last year we changed all our mattresses , and Its nice to hear that we made a good choice!

Hope to see you again.

best regards,

Iro Chatzilia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Loved the location and the feel of the hotel. Walking into town, Plaka, and up to the Acropolis was easy... and made it convenient if we needed to go back to the hotel to grab something. There are restaurants right outside and a little stationed snack & beverage vendor across the street. The room was in good condition, but tiny... We were hardly in it and didn't care too much -- we managed and enjoyed being able to walk out and start the day (early enough to beat the cruise ship crowds!)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sangita24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatzilia, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Hera Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Regarding your comments on the room size. We do offer several room types, where all sizes are clealrly mentioned on our site. I assume that you had booked the Small Standard room.

Hope to see you again!

best regards,

Iro Chatzilia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Pros:
1. Location: 5 minutes walking to Acropolis, Plaka, metro station.
2. Staff: hotel employees and cooperating associates (taxi drivers, guides, etc) are all friendly and helpful.
3. Food: the restaurant at roof garden is superb. Breakfast is not as good, however decent enough.
4. Room: no complaint.

Cons:
1. Wi-fi: free but poor.
2. Elevator: slow, and a little shaky.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guangyu H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatzilia, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Hera Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice review.

So nice to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I really like your bullet point comments!

Regarding our wi-fi , at this point, we are offering the fastest free line in the area. The reason why sometimes the wi-fi is not very fast, is that multiple guests download big data ( movies, music etc) during their stay, creating a delay on the line. In anyway, I apologize for that, however,at this point, we cannot do anything better.

Hope that we shall have the pleasure to welcome you again.

best regards,

Iro Chatzilia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuwait
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed there last week after a friend recommended it to me. Check in was quick and easy and while the rooms are typically small, they were clean and well decorated. We had a small balcony with 2 chairs that were perfect for sitting out during the evening. The breakfast was a bit disappointing, only a few items (pastries, cheese, cold cuts and some cold eggs). Other than the great location, the best part of this hotel was the roof top restaurant/bar. There was a dynamic duo working- they were there every night and were providing great service and making friends with all the guests. There was a beautiful view of the acropolis from the restaurant as well. I would definitely recommend this hotel for visitors Roth just a few days in Athens as it's right in the middle of everything!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank AliMM4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatzilia, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Hera Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay at Hera Hotel.

Regarding your comments on our breakfast, I will talk with our team about them.

I am happy that you liked our roof garden restaurant. The view is indeed beautiful.

Hope that we shall have the pleasure to see you again.

best regards,

Iro Chatzilia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

This was an excellent hotel with a superb location...easy walking distance to Acropolis museum, Acropolis, Plaka area, restaurants, shopping, etc. Great view of the Acropolis from the rooftop restaurant/bar. Excellent breaks at buffet and friendly, helpful staff. Rooms are relatively small (as are most European hotels) but spotlessly clean and well appointed. Great accommodation at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GNorris1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatzilia, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Hera Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dea guest,

Thank you for your nice review.

I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay at Hera hotel. Its so nice to read such nice comments.

Hope to see you again.

best regards,

Iro Chatzilia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We spent six nights here of which the first was terrible. We had just arrived from a weekend away and were bone tired and were given a cramped (normal for europe) room that was stifling hot. We unpacked and switched on the aircon and went out to dinner thinking the room would be bearable upon our return. It was not. The aircon was not releasing any cool air at all. We decided to just go to bed and kept the door to the tiniest balcony (overlooking walls, noisy aircon systems and windows of other ugly buildings) open as far as we could (it hit the furniture) to get some air in. In the morning we brought this to the attention of the front desk clerk who apologised profusely and said he would arrange to move us immediately. We repacked and left the bags to return in the afternoon to a new room at front of the hotel overlooking the street which had a small but pleasant balcony (no Acropolis view) and aircon that worked perfectly. That I'm happy to say, was the only hiccup of our stay. We had a twin bed room that although small did accommodate us well with some space for our clothes and things. The bathroom was also small (but not cramped) clean and modern and we had no issues using it although it could benefit from a hook or two to be able to hang clothes.

We enjoyed a wonderful, plentiful and delicious breakfast each morning in the spacious well lit breakfast room on the ground floor where the staff were always pleasant and obliging. Plenty to pick from both hot and cold, we enjoyed it very much. We did not eat at the rooftop restaurant but did enjoy the views and a drink/coffee up there a couple of times.

The front desk staff always greeted us with a smile and happily answered our questions and provided much appreciated assistance even when we needed to move a day tour booking that we had organised from home. The best recommendation we received was for the excellent Manh Manh restaurant located across the road and a few doors down - hands down the BEST Greek food we had over a two week stay in Athens. The entrance is not obvious and you walk up a flight of stairs to get to it and it is so so worth it - do yourself a favour and go there!

The hotel is located in a brilliant spot literally on the border of the historical (and very touristy) Plaka. It is in a residential location so you are literally a stroll from major sites, a metro station, eateries (spruikers can be annoying) and souvenir shopping without the noise and bustle of crowds and partying on your doorstep (or beneath your window).

The one criticism we do have is that the wifi although free, is painfully slow and unreliable. Having said that though, we left satisfied and happy to return in the future.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KLoves2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatzilia, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Hera Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

I am glad that overall you were satisfied with your stay.

Regarding your 1st day, I am sorry that you had that problem . However I am happy to hear that your new room was pleasant. As far as the internet is concerned, at this point we have the fastest line in the area. Unfortunately the local providers cannot create better internet lines due to the difficulty of the area. Additionally, we see in our system that many guests download big data ( movies, music, etc) during their stay, creating delay for other computers or tablets to operate.

Hope to see you again on your next trip to Athens.

Best regards,

Iro Chatzilia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#15 of 327 in Athens
2,208 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Philippos Hotel
Philippos Hotel
#24 of 327 in Athens
997 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#17 of 327 in Athens
3,722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thissio / Makriyanni
Acropolis Hill Hotel
Acropolis Hill Hotel
#27 of 327 in Athens
705 reviews
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#12 of 327 in Athens
3,241 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Airotel Parthenon
Airotel Parthenon
#49 of 327 in Athens
1,455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hera Hotel

Property: Hera Hotel
Address: 9 Falirou, Athens 117 42, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Thissio / Makriyanni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#27 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#57 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hera Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hera Hotel welcomes its guests with the genuine warmth of definitive hospitality, combined with an impeccable service, comfort and the exceptional atmosphere of a boutique hotel.Conveniently located right at the foot of the Acropolis hill, the new Acropolis Museum and next to the interconnected archeological sites. Hera Hotel offers a unique opportunity to the visitor to enjoy an excellent stay at the hotel, right into the heart of the old Athens and to traverse through ancient times by strolling through the historic center of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Hera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hera Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing