We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and location”
Review of Hera Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hera Hotel
Ranked #22 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great hotel and location”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We only stayed at The Hotel Hera for one night, after our holiday throughout the Greek Islands. The hotel was beautiful, room was wonderful with a view of the Acropolis!! The breakfast was one of the best we had, throughout our 5 weeks in Greece. Also the Plaka is a short walk away from the hotel, very convenient!! We really enjoyed our short stay!!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Anna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatzilia, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Hera Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Anna K,

Thank you for your beatiful review!

i am glad that you enjoyed your 1 day in Athens.

Hope that we shall have the pleasure to welcome you again.

best regards,

Iro Chatzilia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,032 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    449
    451
    84
    30
    18
See reviews for
150
577
58
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
bribane
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Thanks Hera hotel for upgrading us to a suite on the top floor!
This very nice small hotel has lovely views of the acropolis and it is very close to the acropolis museum and a lovely cafe filled walkway to the Plaka. The roof top restaurant was a real treat, lovely view again. A very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brissiegirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatzilia, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Hera Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice review!

I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us!

Hope to see you again!

Best regards

Iro Chatzilia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I found a room at Hotel Hera very last minute on Expedia and I was very pleased. The hotel is in a great location (about one block from the new acropolis museum) but it is also about one block from a public walkway that has a strip of new places to eat as well as being easy walking distance to Plaka. The staff at the hotel were excellent - check in was excellent and they also were very helpful in recommending restaurants to exactly suit what we were looking for (for example, I asked for a recommendation of a traditional Greek restaurant in Plaka - and they recommended Prassas - the oldest restaurant in the area at 120 years old and it was fantastic).
We were on level 2 facing the street and the room right in front of the elevator. I usually hate those rooms as you hear everyone coming and going but this hotel was very quiet. We were there over the weekend so I am not sure if it is louder during the week. Bathrooms were great with very good water pressure. Breakfast was included and it was really good and served in a lovely atrium room on the ground floor. And the rooftop terrace was lovely for an afternoon drink - has a wonderful view of the acropolis.

Room Tip: Room 202 was good - even though it was right in front of the elevator it was very quiet. The hallwa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luxe333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatzilia, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Hera Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice review.

I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay at Hera hotel.

Hope that we shall have the pleasure to welcome you again.

best regards,

Iro Chatzilia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I only stayed one night at the Hera Hotel, but it was clean, very comfortable, and the staff was wonderful! We'd arrived early from Tel Aviv - too early to check in - and were exhausted and they made sure we had the first room available and earlier than expected! The walk to the Plaka was easy and safe. Our room overlooked the street and Athens is a noisy city, but the hotel is on a side road, so it wasn't bad at all. Nice little balcony and super comfy beds! Would stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Denise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatzilia, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Hera Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Denise,

Thank you for your review.

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay at Hera hotel.

Indeed Athens is a busy city and during summer much more! I am happy that you enjoyed your sleep. Last year we changed all our mattresses , and Its nice to hear that we made a good choice!

Hope to see you again.

best regards,

Iro Chatzilia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Loved the location and the feel of the hotel. Walking into town, Plaka, and up to the Acropolis was easy... and made it convenient if we needed to go back to the hotel to grab something. There are restaurants right outside and a little stationed snack & beverage vendor across the street. The room was in good condition, but tiny... We were hardly in it and didn't care too much -- we managed and enjoyed being able to walk out and start the day (early enough to beat the cruise ship crowds!)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sangita24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatzilia, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Hera Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Regarding your comments on the room size. We do offer several room types, where all sizes are clealrly mentioned on our site. I assume that you had booked the Small Standard room.

Hope to see you again!

best regards,

Iro Chatzilia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Pros:
1. Location: 5 minutes walking to Acropolis, Plaka, metro station.
2. Staff: hotel employees and cooperating associates (taxi drivers, guides, etc) are all friendly and helpful.
3. Food: the restaurant at roof garden is superb. Breakfast is not as good, however decent enough.
4. Room: no complaint.

Cons:
1. Wi-fi: free but poor.
2. Elevator: slow, and a little shaky.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guangyu H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatzilia, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Hera Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice review.

So nice to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I really like your bullet point comments!

Regarding our wi-fi , at this point, we are offering the fastest free line in the area. The reason why sometimes the wi-fi is not very fast, is that multiple guests download big data ( movies, music etc) during their stay, creating a delay on the line. In anyway, I apologize for that, however,at this point, we cannot do anything better.

Hope that we shall have the pleasure to welcome you again.

best regards,

Iro Chatzilia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuwait
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed there last week after a friend recommended it to me. Check in was quick and easy and while the rooms are typically small, they were clean and well decorated. We had a small balcony with 2 chairs that were perfect for sitting out during the evening. The breakfast was a bit disappointing, only a few items (pastries, cheese, cold cuts and some cold eggs). Other than the great location, the best part of this hotel was the roof top restaurant/bar. There was a dynamic duo working- they were there every night and were providing great service and making friends with all the guests. There was a beautiful view of the acropolis from the restaurant as well. I would definitely recommend this hotel for visitors Roth just a few days in Athens as it's right in the middle of everything!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank AliMM4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatzilia, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Hera Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay at Hera Hotel.

Regarding your comments on our breakfast, I will talk with our team about them.

I am happy that you liked our roof garden restaurant. The view is indeed beautiful.

Hope that we shall have the pleasure to see you again.

best regards,

Iro Chatzilia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#16 of 326 in Athens
2,240 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Philippos Hotel
Philippos Hotel
#23 of 326 in Athens
1,017 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#17 of 326 in Athens
3,763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thissio / Makriyanni
Acropolis Hill Hotel
Acropolis Hill Hotel
#27 of 326 in Athens
712 reviews
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#13 of 326 in Athens
3,273 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Airotel Parthenon
Airotel Parthenon
#48 of 326 in Athens
1,470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hera Hotel

Property: Hera Hotel
Address: 9 Falirou, Athens 117 42, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Thissio / Makriyanni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#27 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#57 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hera Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hera Hotel welcomes its guests with the genuine warmth of definitive hospitality, combined with an impeccable service, comfort and the exceptional atmosphere of a boutique hotel.Conveniently located right at the foot of the Acropolis hill, the new Acropolis Museum and next to the interconnected archeological sites. Hera Hotel offers a unique opportunity to the visitor to enjoy an excellent stay at the hotel, right into the heart of the old Athens and to traverse through ancient times by strolling through the historic center of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Bookgreece.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hera Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing