We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In that area you can't get anything awesome - but this is OK”
Review of King Jason Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
King Jason Hotel
Ranked #192 of 281 Hotels in Athens
Reviewed 5 January 2012

The King Jason Hotel is a decent choice if you only need to stay for a few nights: I don’t see it as a hotel where you live a week and actually enjoy it. Although the location is not the best of what Athens has to provide, if you’re on a tight budget you will see that many of the less expensive hotels are located in this area and with that said, this street is not as bad as some of the others. If possible, go as up as possible, the 6th floor has a nice view and you even see Akropolis.

Internet connection on 6th floor didn't work very well, weak signal. Might be better closer to the lobby. Bathroom toilet didn't flush good so at least the one in our room deserves a retirement soon. Other than that it was a fairly clean bathroom for that price class: nothing special, but OK.

In the standard rooms you have a tiny TV (12 inches or so), a minibar / small fridge, a phone and a useful security box. The beds are fine, the only thing that first bothered me that the blankets were just a felt and a sheet, which might be because of the hot days and chilly nights = double function.

Basic buffet breakfast from 6 am to 10 am. Bread, cereals, fried egg, bacon, sausage, coffee, tea, cookies, juice.. the lack of some fresh fruits was the only negative thing.

When I called to a travel agency to book a hotel, the woman in the phone told me she would not recommend the area near Omonia as it has a really bad reputation. The sad fact is though that this is the area of most budget friendly hotels. The better hotels are closer to Sygmae, Akropolis or Piraeus but the price difference was so big that I didn’t even consider any of them. The good thing is that it’s a short walking distance to the more tourist friendly areas from King Jason, and you have two metro stations nearby. If you avoid the suspicious streets, then it’s not that bad. Sure, there are some stripper clubs on the same street as the hotel. The building on the other side of the street is a popular “ladies house”. You can see drug addicts with their heroin needles on the open street, if you walk closer to Omonia you’re likely to see polices arresting people and dealers offering you drugs on the street, you will see prostitutes in the evenings and you must always look after yourself, and your bags. As a woman I would not walk on those streets alone during the nights without male companion (and even with male companion it’s quite intimidating, but after the first night you almost got used to it), over 90% of the people you see are guys. Sokratous is one of the worst streets, we actually walked it one day but if it’s that crazy at 17 pm, then I would not want to know what they’re up to at 22 pm. Walked home another night from the restaurant street near Akropolis and no people bothered us, so it's not that bad as it might sound, they generally seem to mind their own business.

+ OK basic buffet breakfast
+ Close to metro stations (Omonia and Syntagma)
+ Although old, the rooms are fairly clean
+ Nice view from top balconies (Akropolis, sunset etc)

- No WLAN on the top floors (poor connection)
– Located in a drug / hooker district, potentially not very safe at nights
– Bathroom toilet flush didn’t function very well

Read the full review with more information here: http://www.getpalmd.com/2011/04/hotel-review-king-jason-athens-greece-2/

Room Tip: From the 6th floor balcony you can see Akropolis and also enjoy the sunshine and sunset over the hil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank getpalmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2011

I stayed at the King Jason as part of a Travel Talk Tour and was surprised they would choose to book young female guests travelling alone at this hotel. Leaving the hotel was scary at night and even uncomfortable during the day. The streets surrounding the hotel are full of dodgy looking people loitering around and the absolutley stink of urine - we actually saw a man squatting in the street outside. I did choose to walk back to the hotel about 9pm one night with two other girls who were staying there and we all agreed it was good luck rather than anything else that saw us get safely back to the hotel without incident. I certainly wouldnt want to be walking around there much later than 9pm with the busy brothel across the street and dodgy people hanging around. The staff left a lot to be desired - only one receptionist made us feel welcome out of the six we encountered.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank journo83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011

Hotel was fine, good value for money, free internet, rooms clean and comfortable, balcony, good shower, breakfast very nice and plentiful,near metro station and within walking distance to some of the sights and nice eating areas. Hotel staff was a mixture of downright rude or friendly, we found one of the men on reception very helpful and one of the bartenders very chatty and friendly but others couldn't care less if you were you there or not.
It is just a shame the area and neighbourhood is dirty, rundown and very unpleasant and scary people hanging around the street all the time. The very, very busy brothel (or ladies house as the bartender calls it) across the road probably doesn't help matters but kept the conversation going among the guests.
We missed having a restaurant in the hotel but the bar snacks were tasty and filled a hole. This was just as well as we were visiting during the strikes and riots and the hotel advised us to stay put and not venture out ,doors of hotel were locked at 5p.m. for our safety.
On the first day of our holiday my friend was standing out at the door smoking a cigarette when she was threatened with a loaded syringe by a junkie demanding money who thankfully ran off when she shouted on us to come out. Even although my friend was very upset and visibly distressed the staff chose to ignore the incident and offered no help or comfort at all.
This made us very wary of being out and about at night especially when there were no taxis operating.
Would we go back or recommend NO.

Room Tip: We had rooms on the fourth floor with balcony overlooking the street with the brothel so it could be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2011

The neighbourhood, the hotel was placed in was not very safe and comfortable, but at a walking distance to the biggest see sights and metro.
The room was quite small and the satelite tv limited. There was a safety box and also a minibar in the room, which was good. The bed was good.
There wasn´t restaurant at the hotel, but the bar served food/light dishes and bottles of wine. The breakfast was more than just slices of bread and bad coffeé. It was possible to find something of your own taste.
But first han foremost the staff was very friendly, helpful, informative and foreseeing.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Britta K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2011

We stayed at King Jason Hotel for three nights as part of a Travel Talk tour. Why a tour group would book us into a hotel in such an unsafe part of town is beyond me. Athens is a gorgeous city, even with the unrest but this area must be one of the worst parts of the city. We were literally watching from room as men went in and out of brothels across the road. We made sure that we cause taxis back to the hotel in the evening as walking down the street was simply scary.

The hotel itself was adequate anf the staff were lovely but being scared getting back to our hotel each night was not a fun experience.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cyntheap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2011

Wish we had read these reviews before we stayed here, but foolishly trusted our travel agent Flight Centre who obviously have this hotel as one of there service providers. Why else would you put a mature married couple in such an unsafe area. We had no complaints regarding the Hotel, the room was clean and adequate. The TV was a small analogue with only a couple of stations and we had a balcony on the 5th floor. The breakfast was great and the staff friendly, also had free internet which was a first. From our balcony we could view drug deals going down on the corner at night and while walking around at 11.30am on a Thursday morning we witnessed, comtosed druggies down one street, one young girl with a needle hanging our of her arm with blood running down it, and more druggies shooting up a little further on. This all took place in broad dayling on the footpath. Once safely tucked back in the hotel we viewed police marching a dealer in handcuffs past the hotel. Felt very unsafe moving outside the hotel and would never stay in downtown Athens again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sharonandleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

Hotel was OK. Clean and tidy. Staff were pleasant.

The area the hotel is in is close to tourist sites and transpoprt but is rough and unsfe at night for singles. My husband and I were returning to hotel and were just to cross the road when a man ran past and tried to snatch my necklace. It broke and he didn't get it but not a good start to a study tour.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wynner57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Omonia
Alassia Hotel
Alassia Hotel
#195 of 281 in Athens
220 reviews
Apollo Hotel
#133 of 281 in Athens
660 reviews
Crystal City Hotel
#101 of 281 in Athens
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Psirri / Gazi
Jason Inn
Jason Inn
#116 of 281 in Athens
506 reviews
Evripides Hotel
#52 of 281 in Athens
771 reviews
Novus City Hotel
#35 of 281 in Athens
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King Jason Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Jason Hotel

Address: 26 Kolonou, Athens 104 37, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #192 of 281 Hotels in Athens
Price Range: £43 - £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — King Jason Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Cancelon, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your King Jason Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King Jason Athens
Hotel King Jason
King Jason Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing