We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Breathtaking”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mount Lycabettus

Mount Lycabettus
Book In Advance
More Info
US$523.03*
and up
Athens Private Full-Day Tour
Ranked #11 of 345 things to do in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Walk or take the funicular tramway to the top of this hill for the best views of Athens
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

The view from Lycabettus reminded me of why I love Athens and generally Greece. It was so peaceful with the little church that I was touched. The view was amazing and I could see the whole city centre all the way to the sea.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexia X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,535 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,228
    1,005
    244
    40
    18
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
153 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Overrated”
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

This was our biggest disappointment in Athens. Its expensive (7E to take a 5 minute ride up a funicular tram in a tunnel). Yes, the view from the top is spectacular, but isn't much different from the Acropolis. The little church was underwhelming. If we had gone for sunset, I suspect I would be writing a much more positive review.

Helpful?
1 Thank davidbViennaVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heraklion
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Perfect observation platform”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Lykabettus, high above the posh district of Kolonaki, and, hope you never need it, The British Embassy! Accessible, by funicular rail, if you don' t fancy the hike, Nice cafeteria up top, breathtaking views of the City, right down to the sea! On the same hill sits the ancient amphitheatre, of the same name.A gentle stroll down will take you through Chi-chi shopping temptations ,for the ladies, for the guys ,one word ,do not tarry, BEWARE credit card disaster area!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rog D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Onalaska, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing Views !!”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We decided to walk up to the funicular railway. Ugh, what a walk, very poorly marked by street signs. Then you take this very short funicular ride up to the top (the railway is in a tunnel….no view.) Once atop the mount….WOW! Breathtaking panoramic view of the city! The Acropolis, the Temple of Olympia Zeus, the Olympic Stadium, the Sea with all the cruise ships, the sprawling view of Athens, the National Gardens, the sunset….are all there to see. Great for picture taking. There are restaurants at its top, so we stayed for dinner. The food and the service were as exceptional as the views. Make sure you get a table on the southern side, those are the ones with the views. Advice: definitely make time to see tis place, take a cab, unless you really like to walk. Stay for food.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank WTP1776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Stunning views and nice cafe”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We took the (enclosed) funicular up to the top (7 euro return, runs every 30 mins) of Lykavittos Hill early one evening (although there is also the option to walk up). We had dinner inside at the cafe, which has a very decent menu. We went mid-week and didn't book. There is also a fancier restaurant and a large outside eating area too which seems to wrap around the hill. The views from the very top near the chapel are amazing - especially at night with the lights of the city and the Acropolis. We were staying in the area so it was easy for us to get to, but would recommend visiting it even if you are further afield - especially in the evening. Either by taxi or walking up from the metro stop Evangelismos. If you need a taxi, I recommend booking one for when you get down from the funicular. We didn't book one and had to end up walking down the hill - carrying our one-year old at night - still doable though!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rach_444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mount Lycabettus also viewed

 

Been to Mount Lycabettus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing