We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great interior and tasty menu”
Review of Athineon Politia

Athineon Politia
Ranked #2,037 of 2,833 Restaurants in Athens
Cuisines: Greek
Neighbourhood: Thissio / Makriyanni
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Thissio / Makriyanni
Reviewed 23 August 2018

Athineon politeia offers a traditional aristocratic interior with beautiful wall paintings and classic design. The menu offers a tasteful variety of dishes while also offering very nice desserts, crepes and waffles. The atmosphere is warm and calm and is definitely a nice place to hang out. The view from the upper floors is also nice, as it's overlooking the Acropolis. Mostly recommended for winter months.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Filippatos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (45)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 45 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2018

The cafe is housed in a neoclassic building at Theseion, an old neighborhood of Athens. You enjoy your greek coffee or frappe in its comfy atmosphere and at the same time you admire the Acropolis in the background. Highly reccommended for those who need some relaxation!

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank EmiliaS1357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2017 via mobile

We stopped here on an incredibly hot day; I was hanging by a thread after visiting the Acropolis. We chose to sit inside due as it was cooler, the only people to do so.

Our waiter came over with menus and ice water. He took my bottle of warm water, filled it up and placed it in a small ice bucket (unexpected and very welcome!).

For lunch my husband ordered some dessert thing which seemed to be balls of custard or cheese with nuts and fruit and a beer. It wasn't my thing but he liked it.

I ordered a Greek salad and plate of olives. Both were generous in size, large enough to share, and really good (if you've only had a Greek salad in the U.S., they pale in comparison to what you get in Greece).

As we finished, our waiter brought us a dish of chocolate ice cream to share. I don't know whether that's typical of service there but we certainly appreciate it on such a hot day. The bill came to 24 euros, which, given the proximity to the Acropolis, seemed very reasonable.

Date of visit: July 2017
1  Thank PortlandORGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2016

A friend of mine reserved a table while we were visiting Athens and she couldn't have picked a better place for our first time visiting!

It was a bit chilly that night so we ate outside but they did have a lot of tables available which gave a beautiful view of the Acropolis lit up once it was dark outside.

The staff was very friendly, food was delicious. The food was brought out quickly and was fresh. We tried so much food I can't remember what we all got honestly! We all picked different things and shared among 5 of us.

Date of visit: October 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Meghan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2016

We went here for an evening meal, drawn mostly by the Acropolis view. The prices were okay, maybe a little expensive. View of the Acropolis at night was beautiful and food was decent. The major negative was the service. We stood outside by the menu stand waiting to be seated, despite many servers walking past and I think actually seeing us, nobody came over. We had to go inside and ask to be seated. Even then the staff were very ignorant and our order wasn't taken for some time and we were waiting for our meals for around 40 minutes.

Date of visit: February 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Alicebecila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Athineon Politia also viewed

 
 

Been to Athineon Politia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing