We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location - Comfortable for short stay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arethusa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Arethusa Hotel
Ranked #89 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Southport, Australia
Level Contributor
411 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
“Perfect location - Comfortable for short stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

We stayed just one night in Athens on our way to Istanbul. We chose the Arethusa because of its location close to the Acropolis area and easy access from the airport.

The hotel is by no means grand or luxurious, but our room was bigger than average for a European mid-price hotel, and it was clean and comfortable. The air-conditioning worked OK and there was no external noise - although we did get a bit from the corridor at one stage but nothing that disturbed us or prevented a good night sleep. The bathroom is small, but the shower had good pressure and plenty of hot water.

Wireless internet is available for free, but we found it was slow to the point of stopping in the middle part of the evening. Later at night (when I assume less people were logged in), it was fine.

The breakfast had a good selection of food available, but all of very average quality. Acceptable for a quick starter. The reception staff we good - not exactly talkative, but helped us with directions and general information, as well as storing our bags in the morning while we had a walk around.

The key benefit of the Arethusa is definitely its location. It is a 15 minute walk up to the Arcopolis. It is also on the edge of the restaurant and retail area. The restaurants and bars start on the street opposite the front door, and with a few minutes walk there are literally dozens of busy, vibrant places to choose from.

Access to the hotel from the airport could not be easier - just take the X95 bus ($5 Euro) from the arrivals area and it drops you at Syntagma Square - the hotel sign is visible when you step off the bus.

I would not recommend staying for more than a couple of nights at the Arethusa, but for a short stay, its perfect location lets you can maximise your time in Athens.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisandJudy1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    293
    257
    89
    36
See reviews for
126
291
120
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Litton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

The hotel has a good location, Syntagma sq. is on the hop on / hop off bus route, great way to get round the sites. Rooms are o'k and the hotel has free WiFi. There are plenty of restaurants in walking distance, turn right out of the hotel and keep going!!. Everest coffee outlet on the sq. for great coffee fix.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

Just look round when you leave Airport bus at Syntagma & there is their sign. 100 meters.. Great after a long flight.You can walk to most things in central Athens that are the must sees.Breakfast great considering how cheap the price is. Rooms ok - just to sleep, but v clean. Staff great.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013 via mobile

Very good location just a short walk from train station. Close to taxis & buses. Easy walk to Plaka & Monastiraki areas.
Room was small for 2 adults & 1 child. Bathroom was very small, with a shower that was very poor.
The free wi-fi was very poor in the room and often didn't connect or dropped out.
Staff were friendly & helpful.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Theresa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

best location very very close to Syntagma, Ermou st and the plaka. Fair price, great breakfast with a big variety, wi-fi, nice staff. The hotel is much better than I've expected! great value for the money. highly recommended mainly because of the amazing location.

Room Tip: some rooms contain no window. if smoke disturbs you, ask ahead for a non-smoking area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ashayovits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

A part the location (1 min walking from Sintagma metro station) and the breakfast i don't think it deserves 3 stars. The room are quite noisy and stuff not friendly at all. We found a long blood stain on the shower tails and at the reception just reply 'ok we'll have a look'. We asked if we could have a complain form and they gave us the diary where guests usually write notes. When we asked to talk with the manager it was even worst, The guys said to my fiancée that she was a lair and that the room wasn't untouched but in reality room service already cleaned the stain and the room. We finally managed to get the second night refunded but it wasn't an easy task.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Monno81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Athens hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Buenos Aires, Distrito Federal, Argentina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

This is a fine three star hotel in Athens. Rooms are simple but clean and comfortable. Breakfast is good. It is very well located, just a few metres from Syntagma square and from 10 to 30 minutes walking from every turist attraction in the city. You can reach the hotel from the airport by taking the metro (30 minutes trip on the same line, no connections needed).

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Pan Hotel
Pan Hotel
#65 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Metropolis
Hotel Metropolis
#57 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
Ilissos Hotel
#96 of 325 in Athens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#18 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,450 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Niki
Hotel Niki
#127 of 325 in Athens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Omonia
Athens Center Square
Athens Center Square
#19 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arethusa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arethusa Hotel

Property: Arethusa Hotel
Address: 6-8 Mitropoleos, Athens 105 63, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Syntagma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Arethusa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays and Odigeo so you can book your Arethusa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing