We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Convenient”
Review of Arethusa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Arethusa Hotel
Ranked #75 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Reviewed 14 March 2014

There are many hotels in Athens, but the Arethusa is brilliantly located for arrivals and departures. It is close both to the airport bus and to the Metro as well as being a block from Constitution Square. I think it is a hidden gem.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (901)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

286 - 292 of 901 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2014

I have stayed in this hotel on several occasions. It is a fine, well-located hotel in Athens. The management is very friendly and helpful. Rooms are simple, clean and comfortable. Plenty of light and able to open windows to let in the air.
I always look forward to staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com
Thank Frank H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

I stayed in Arethusa Hotel for three night on February of 2014. The location is absolutely excellent! Only 2 minutes from the main metro station and the Syntagma square, next to the famous Ermou str (shopping) and very close to the Acropolis and the Acropolis museum.
The room has mostly old(-fashioned) furniture and the building seems quite old but it s the center of Athens you can t complain about that. It was very clean, and the breakfast was adequate.
Also the receptionists were very helpful and kind.
On the other hand I had two issues that troubled me. The first was that I could not have a nice sleep because of the external noise and noise from other room ( the first night I woke up because someone at the next room flushed!!). The other issue was that there was a problem with the wireless connection at the room (which I really wanted). I was given the option to use the lobby where there was no problem but after a long day in Athens I wanted my own space to work.
Generally Arethusa is a good option if you are looking for a cheap room right in the center of the town and you are not looking for something to spend much time in the hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid the side of the hotel looking at the Ministry of Finance, and not hire a car as you cannot fin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Giannis T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Great basic hotel. Lovely reception staff.

The breakfast was basic, but there was enough of a selection to please most tastes and a good way to fill yourself up to mid afternoon if you wanted to save a little money.

The roof top balcony is currently under refurbishment (which I found to my cost due to drilling one morning). That said, the very lovely girl behind reception gave me the key and let me have a mooch around at my leisure on evening.

You aren't going to get a better location at this price. It is literally less than a minutes walk to the main square (on the Acropolis side - about 20mins walk to the foot of the Acropolis). If you take a right out of the hotel and go straight down the street you are about a 10minute walk to the little square in the heart of the local market where street performers rotate for free on a daily basis and you can chill out with a cold drink from one of the kiosks and enjoy the view of the Acropolis.

There are several kiosks in the area (open 24hours by the main square) were you can stock up your fridge in the rooms with drinks.

The hotel is also only a few minutes walk away from the airport bus (X95) drop off point and Metro station (on the same line as the airport). This is perfect for a late night arrival as the Metro doesn't run. The side of the square the X95 drops off at is the side you need. Just go down the hill and cross the road and this is the road the hotel is on (other side of the road on the right).

You could complain how dated and basic the hotel is, but at this price and location it almost scored 5 stars.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Squidgy66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

I ve stayed in this hotel 3 times ,each in deferent rooms, so now I can say that some rooms are ok some are below average & this time I had breakfast for the first time and breakfast ican hardly described as average with coffee quality being very poor. The best thing and reason to stay in this hotel though is the location , especialy when you come or go to Athens airport .

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com
1  Thank Dimitris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

A very good value hotel in the heart of Athens, next to Syntagma square. Rooms size was big but the bathroom was a bit too small. The hotel has a nice terrace with a great view of the Acropolis. The breakfast was very good with friendly staff. Good value and location overall.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gunner365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Cockroach and hair in the bathroom, fly between ham slices in breakfast. No internet on the fifth floor
The only good thing about this hotel, is the location and a very polite receptionist(don't remember her name)

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com
Thank L P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Pan Hotel
Pan Hotel
#59 of 282 in Athens
555 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Niki
Hotel Niki
#113 of 282 in Athens
311 reviews
Plaka
Best Western Amazon Hotel
Best Western Amazon Hotel
#42 of 282 in Athens
995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Syntagma
Hotel Metropolis
Hotel Metropolis
#50 of 282 in Athens
606 reviews
Plaka
Hotel Acropolis House
Hotel Acropolis House
#81 of 282 in Athens
504 reviews
Syntagma
Athens Cypria Hotel
Athens Cypria Hotel
#69 of 282 in Athens
981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arethusa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arethusa Hotel

Address: 6-8 Mitropoleos, Athens 105 63, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Syntagma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Price Range: £44 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Arethusa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Splitty, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Arethusa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing