We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for Money”
Review of Astor Hotel Athens

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Astor Hotel Athens
Ranked #117 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Canberra, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Value for Money”
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Location & Value bring this otherwise standard hotel into consideration for your stay in Athens. Just around the corner from Syntagma Square, the hotel offers a good balance of pros & cons. Let's get to the Cons (most of which feature in other reviews of this hotel).

Cons:
1) The hotel isn't in great condition. It's all aesthetic, but nobody like being in a room with peeling wallpaper. The shower head was also not staying vertical, so had to be held by hand. This is no issue for travellers to south east asia who may not expect much else, but if you haven't encountered this before, it's rather annoying. Also, the lifts barely fit four people.
2) A previous reviewer stated that the mattresses in the Astor have recently surpassed diamonds as the hardest substance known to man. I have had worse, but only in a hostel in China. Technically, I'm sure it's good for your back to sleep on a firm mattress every now and then, but just don't go sprawling into the bed from a height expecting a soft landing. Again, tolerable, but not desirable.
3) The 15 Euro for 24 hour wifi didn't get signal in our room on the 7th floor. I didn't bother chasing a refund as the staff are a bit hit and miss with their empathy. Instead I just sat in the foyer when I needed internet.

The pros:
1) It is centrally located whilst avoiding crowds. The Plaka area is less than five minutes walk, and there are lots of shops & cafes along the way. Being close to Sygtagma Square is also a big plus for getting around the city.
2) It's clean. As average a condition the building is in, the rooms are still clean and odour free.
3) The air-conditioner works. When it's 38 degrees in Athens, that's a plus!

In all, the rest is rather average. The breakfast is okay, but not outstanding, the view beautiful, but the Plaka Hotel is better. The staff work hard but in busier times, they do get a little blunt.

We will consider returning here, but only for the location, and if other options are booked out. We didn't hate it, but there is nothing to bring us back either.

Room Tip: The higher the better; away room street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RLGriffin85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    267
    191
    83
    44
See reviews for
164
231
51
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Falls Church, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 July 2013

I loved your hotel. I was also a friend of a gentleman who worked there; Panos Androhemis. Do you know how I may contact him? If I ever have the opportunity to travel to Greece again, I will be staying with you. The service was wonderful and the view of the Acropolis is amazing. So close to the Plaka where I had so much fun, Your hotel is clean, friendly staff, close to every
thing/ It was my first trip to Greece and I found everyone in the hotel extrememely willing to help
and take time to explain things to me. As I said, should I ever make it to Greece again, I know where I will be staying.
Kindest regards
Suzanne Gerson.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arrecina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013 via mobile

When visiting Athens we usually stop over at the hotel Astor, as it is situated close to the Plaka, Monastriki and all the sites. syntagma is but a 5 min walk when you can catch the train to the airport. Over the past few years the Astor has renovated a number of rooms, especially those facing the acropolis so if you are lucky to get one of those then you're ok. Quite a few of the rooms a in urgent need of an upgrade and I hope the management fixes these soon. Room prices are very good for the centre of Athens an if you are a returning visitor ask them for a discount and you will probably get 25%. Not the best hotel in Athens but perfectly fine for a quick stopover.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Basspro-Namibia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silicon Valley, CA
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

This was my first visit to Greece so I really don't have many Greek hotels to compare with. Reservations by internet. Absolutely no problem. Entered the lobby. Beautiful! Staffed by 2 English speaking gentlemen. Very polite. Room had wonderfully working AC - appreciated during this hot June 2013 trip! Great location. 2 blocks from the Syntagnma transit station. Lots of local buses to go everywhere! Many shops and restaurants nearby. No free wifi at the hotel but many nearby free hotspots at local restaurants. Room was nice. Modern. Old CRT TV but who cares? Not a great view from our mini-balcony but the rooftop restaurant had view of the whole city including the Title View. Full buffet breakfast included in rate. Could sip coffee all day taking in the view. A great place to start and end a walking tour of Athens which we did. This hotel definitely helped make our Greece trip enjoyable.

Room Tip: We were on 2nd floor in the back. Not noisy at all!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NorCalBigRedDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenterfield, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We arrived late from Australia and the location was so close to the train station, such a blessing! The hotel staff were friendly and welcoming. Nothing was too much trouble! Nikos was great with his can-do attitude. We had a brief stay only but our room was comfortable, clean and quiet. Close to the plaza and all the sights.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lentillac du Causse
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

Lovely staff, rooms nicely furnished in a classic modern style, fab location and excellent staff. Great breakfast and for our family of four we felt great value for money. Take the kids up to the dining level and have Greek nibbles and watch the sun go down. Plus lots of Greeks come here so it must be good! Our only wish - we ended up in a family room with a disabled shower - if only they could install a high up hook for the shower head so you don't have to fumble around holding the thing the whole time.

Just a great place, we were on the fifth floor and had good solid sleeps.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jodie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Stayed an over night here catered all our needs clean room decent bathroom Ideal location. Staff superb. Also view from roof top fantastic.Breakfast fair selection of continental and english.Reasonably priced hotel

Room Tip: 7th floor great view of Acropolos
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roma22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Syntagma
Athens Cypria Hotel
Athens Cypria Hotel
#67 of 326 in Athens
935 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Metropolis
Hotel Metropolis
#52 of 326 in Athens
581 reviews
Syntagma
Achilleas Hotel
Achilleas Hotel
#120 of 326 in Athens
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Syntagma
Athens Diamond Homtel
Athens Diamond Homtel
#56 of 326 in Athens
623 reviews
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#30 of 326 in Athens
1,730 reviews
Plaka
Best Western Amazon Hotel
Best Western Amazon Hotel
#40 of 326 in Athens
955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astor Hotel Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astor Hotel Athens

Property: Astor Hotel Athens
Address: 16 Karagiorgi Servias | Syntagma Square, Athens 105 62, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Syntagma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#67 Luxury Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Astor Hotel Athens 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Bookgreece.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Nozio Netplan srl, LoveHolidays, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Astor Hotel Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Astor Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing