We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location”
Review of Astor Hotel Athens

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Astor Hotel Athens
Ranked #123 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

This is the second time that I have stayed at this hotel and enjoyed my stay. The location is wonderful in that you can walk to everything. The breakfast in the morning is nice with a wonderful rooftop view of the Acropolis. Nicholas was so friendly and helpful at check in. When he found out that we had an early check out (2am), we told us to order the breakfast to go and it was waiting for us. He is simply the best and I will definitely stay here again. Thank you again, Nicholas ! :)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jgintx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    246
    176
    81
    40
See reviews for
149
216
48
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor Ct
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

This was our second visit to the Astor. The hotel is centrally located, and if you are willing to walk, it is the perfect place to enjoy all that Athens has to offer.
The staff is welcoming, and the wait service is excellent. Our room was comfortable, with air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
The rooftop garden offered an awesome breakfast buffet, and had a spectacular view of Athens and the Acropolis. The hotel serves lunch and dinner, however, we only enjoyed the breakfast.
Our only concern is that the carpet in the hallways was "tired", and showed signs of wear. There are 8 floors, with two elevators. We would certainly stay at the Astor in the future.

Room Tip: We were happy with the third floor, facing the stores in front of the hotel There is no pool, or fit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank plrwindsor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

right in the middle of Athens; got to our room in 5 minutes .Checked out in 5 minutes. they parked our car right in front(bonus). We walked 4 minutes to all the main history attractions and the awesome restaurants were right across the street. Prime location for a song. Amazing restaurant on the 10th floor .Inside or outside patio with incredible views of the Acropolis and all of Athens. Go figure why all the guests were from different countries in the world .Parking in Athens with walking access to everything(PRICELESS)

Room Tip: book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dandrade1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellingborough
Level Contributor
92 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Good sized room and bathroom. Ideal location for metro to airport and within easy walking distance of most major attractions. Lots of restaurants close by. Some noise at night, but not bad for this area. Breakfast reasonable, though choice a bit limited. The highlight is the view of the acropolis from the restaurant; you can see it at sunrise for breakfast and also floodlit at night from the rooftop bar.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Not_so_Old_Nick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Location & Value bring this otherwise standard hotel into consideration for your stay in Athens. Just around the corner from Syntagma Square, the hotel offers a good balance of pros & cons. Let's get to the Cons (most of which feature in other reviews of this hotel).

Cons:
1) The hotel isn't in great condition. It's all aesthetic, but nobody like being in a room with peeling wallpaper. The shower head was also not staying vertical, so had to be held by hand. This is no issue for travellers to south east asia who may not expect much else, but if you haven't encountered this before, it's rather annoying. Also, the lifts barely fit four people.
2) A previous reviewer stated that the mattresses in the Astor have recently surpassed diamonds as the hardest substance known to man. I have had worse, but only in a hostel in China. Technically, I'm sure it's good for your back to sleep on a firm mattress every now and then, but just don't go sprawling into the bed from a height expecting a soft landing. Again, tolerable, but not desirable.
3) The 15 Euro for 24 hour wifi didn't get signal in our room on the 7th floor. I didn't bother chasing a refund as the staff are a bit hit and miss with their empathy. Instead I just sat in the foyer when I needed internet.

The pros:
1) It is centrally located whilst avoiding crowds. The Plaka area is less than five minutes walk, and there are lots of shops & cafes along the way. Being close to Sygtagma Square is also a big plus for getting around the city.
2) It's clean. As average a condition the building is in, the rooms are still clean and odour free.
3) The air-conditioner works. When it's 38 degrees in Athens, that's a plus!

In all, the rest is rather average. The breakfast is okay, but not outstanding, the view beautiful, but the Plaka Hotel is better. The staff work hard but in busier times, they do get a little blunt.

We will consider returning here, but only for the location, and if other options are booked out. We didn't hate it, but there is nothing to bring us back either.

Room Tip: The higher the better; away room street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RLGriffin85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falls Church, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 July 2013

I loved your hotel. I was also a friend of a gentleman who worked there; Panos Androhemis. Do you know how I may contact him? If I ever have the opportunity to travel to Greece again, I will be staying with you. The service was wonderful and the view of the Acropolis is amazing. So close to the Plaka where I had so much fun, Your hotel is clean, friendly staff, close to every
thing/ It was my first trip to Greece and I found everyone in the hotel extrememely willing to help
and take time to explain things to me. As I said, should I ever make it to Greece again, I know where I will be staying.
Kindest regards
Suzanne Gerson.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arrecina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013 via mobile

When visiting Athens we usually stop over at the hotel Astor, as it is situated close to the Plaka, Monastriki and all the sites. syntagma is but a 5 min walk when you can catch the train to the airport. Over the past few years the Astor has renovated a number of rooms, especially those facing the acropolis so if you are lucky to get one of those then you're ok. Quite a few of the rooms a in urgent need of an upgrade and I hope the management fixes these soon. Room prices are very good for the centre of Athens an if you are a returning visitor ask them for a discount and you will probably get 25%. Not the best hotel in Athens but perfectly fine for a quick stopover.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Basspro-Namibia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Syntagma
Athens Cypria Hotel
Athens Cypria Hotel
#61 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Metropolis
Hotel Metropolis
#53 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
Syntagma
Achilleas Hotel
Achilleas Hotel
#116 of 325 in Athens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Syntagma
Arethusa Hotel
Arethusa Hotel
#84 of 325 in Athens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
Syntagma
Athens Diamond Homtel
Athens Diamond Homtel
#59 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
Syntagma
Electra Hotel Athens
Electra Hotel Athens
#40 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astor Hotel Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astor Hotel Athens

Property: Astor Hotel Athens
Address: 16 Karagiorgi Servias | Syntagma Square, Athens 105 62, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Syntagma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#66 Luxury Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Astor Hotel Athens 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Odigeo, Bookgreece.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Astor Hotel Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Astor Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing