We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you need”
Review of Astor Hotel Athens

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Astor Hotel Athens
Ranked #94 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We stayed at the Astor three times during our stay in Greece. After being sent there initially by another hotel who had overbooked us, it was great to be welcomed on arrival and checked in efficiently, especially by Kostas. Others have mentioned that the decor is a bit tired, but on each occasion, our room was very clean, the linen white and crisp, and spacious rooms and public areas- a real bonus in central Athens. The location, just off Syntagma Square, and next door to the highly rated Neoclassico Restaurant cannot be beaten. Breakfast is varied and generous, and beginning the day with the Acropolis in full view cannot be beaten. We will recommend the Astor to others.

Stayed: October 2013
1  Thank patchycrowsnest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (727)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

267 - 273 of 727 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2013

The location of this hotel is excellent and within easy walking distance to many of the attractions that Athens has to offer. The breakfast was good and the view from the restaurant is exceptional, with unobstructed views of the Acropolis. Unfortunately the decor of the hotel in is desperate need of an upgrade and this detracted from the overall ambience of our stay. There were four fairly large pieces of wall paper falling off the walls in various places in our room and where they had installed a new aircon unit the area around it had not been finished and looked dirty. The wifi code we were given did not work on three separate devices that we tried it on. Also the glass in the bathroom was dirty with what looked like toothpaste residue in the bottom of it. In spite of all this though, the staff were helpful and friendly. So if you get a nicer room this would still be a good place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ReneeClothier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

This is the second time that I have stayed at this hotel and enjoyed my stay. The location is wonderful in that you can walk to everything. The breakfast in the morning is nice with a wonderful rooftop view of the Acropolis. Nicholas was so friendly and helpful at check in. When he found out that we had an early check out (2am), we told us to order the breakfast to go and it was waiting for us. He is simply the best and I will definitely stay here again. Thank you again, Nicholas ! :)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jgintx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

This was our second visit to the Astor. The hotel is centrally located, and if you are willing to walk, it is the perfect place to enjoy all that Athens has to offer.
The staff is welcoming, and the wait service is excellent. Our room was comfortable, with air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
The rooftop garden offered an awesome breakfast buffet, and had a spectacular view of Athens and the Acropolis. The hotel serves lunch and dinner, however, we only enjoyed the breakfast.
Our only concern is that the carpet in the hallways was "tired", and showed signs of wear. There are 8 floors, with two elevators. We would certainly stay at the Astor in the future.

Room Tip: We were happy with the third floor, facing the stores in front of the hotel There is no pool, or fit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank plrwindsor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

right in the middle of Athens; got to our room in 5 minutes .Checked out in 5 minutes. they parked our car right in front(bonus). We walked 4 minutes to all the main history attractions and the awesome restaurants were right across the street. Prime location for a song. Amazing restaurant on the 10th floor .Inside or outside patio with incredible views of the Acropolis and all of Athens. Go figure why all the guests were from different countries in the world .Parking in Athens with walking access to everything(PRICELESS)

Room Tip: book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dandrade1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Good sized room and bathroom. Ideal location for metro to airport and within easy walking distance of most major attractions. Lots of restaurants close by. Some noise at night, but not bad for this area. Breakfast reasonable, though choice a bit limited. The highlight is the view of the acropolis from the restaurant; you can see it at sunrise for breakfast and also floodlit at night from the rooftop bar.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Not_so_Old_Nick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Location & Value bring this otherwise standard hotel into consideration for your stay in Athens. Just around the corner from Syntagma Square, the hotel offers a good balance of pros & cons. Let's get to the Cons (most of which feature in other reviews of this hotel).

Cons:
1) The hotel isn't in great condition. It's all aesthetic, but nobody like being in a room with peeling wallpaper. The shower head was also not staying vertical, so had to be held by hand. This is no issue for travellers to south east asia who may not expect much else, but if you haven't encountered this before, it's rather annoying. Also, the lifts barely fit four people.
2) A previous reviewer stated that the mattresses in the Astor have recently surpassed diamonds as the hardest substance known to man. I have had worse, but only in a hostel in China. Technically, I'm sure it's good for your back to sleep on a firm mattress every now and then, but just don't go sprawling into the bed from a height expecting a soft landing. Again, tolerable, but not desirable.
3) The 15 Euro for 24 hour wifi didn't get signal in our room on the 7th floor. I didn't bother chasing a refund as the staff are a bit hit and miss with their empathy. Instead I just sat in the foyer when I needed internet.

The pros:
1) It is centrally located whilst avoiding crowds. The Plaka area is less than five minutes walk, and there are lots of shops & cafes along the way. Being close to Sygtagma Square is also a big plus for getting around the city.
2) It's clean. As average a condition the building is in, the rooms are still clean and odour free.
3) The air-conditioner works. When it's 38 degrees in Athens, that's a plus!

In all, the rest is rather average. The breakfast is okay, but not outstanding, the view beautiful, but the Plaka Hotel is better. The staff work hard but in busier times, they do get a little blunt.

We will consider returning here, but only for the location, and if other options are booked out. We didn't hate it, but there is nothing to bring us back either.

Room Tip: The higher the better; away room street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RLGriffin85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Syntagma
Athens Cypria Hotel
Athens Cypria Hotel
#68 of 282 in Athens
984 reviews
Syntagma
Athens Diamond Homtel
Athens Diamond Homtel
#56 of 282 in Athens
646 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Metropolis
Hotel Metropolis
#49 of 282 in Athens
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Syntagma
Electra Hotel Athens
Electra Hotel Athens
#37 of 282 in Athens
992 reviews
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#32 of 282 in Athens
1,819 reviews
Plaka
Hotel Acropolis House
Hotel Acropolis House
#81 of 282 in Athens
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astor Hotel Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astor Hotel Athens

Address: 16 Karagiorgi Servias | Syntagma Square, Athens 105 62, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Syntagma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#52 Luxury Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £58 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Astor Hotel Athens 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Splitty, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Astor Hotel Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Astor Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing