We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location . Best view from restaurant.”
Review of Astor Hotel Athens

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Astor Hotel Athens
Ranked #92 of 281 Hotels in Athens
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stayed for 1 night in May . The room was very small . The bed was up against the wall on one side and then with a small bedside table on the other side meant the door to the hallway /bathroom could not close .
The room was quiet and was adequate for what we needed . They were very busy when we arrived to check in but the staff did their best as quickly as they could .
Breakfast was served in a roof top dining room , which must be one of the best views in Athens but unfortunately not used to its potential by the hotel . The hotel was full during our stay , so unfortunately guests were getting their breakfast and standing by the wall waiting for a table to become free . We sat outside in the open air with a beautiful view over the Acropolis . The hotel is well situated tot eh town centre and transport for trains to the airport . It did seem a little tired and in need of a spruce up.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lorhiti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (716)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

251 - 257 of 716 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

The Astor is a 3-star hotel and that's a good description. The breakfast on the roof is the best feature with a stunning Acropolis view. The elevators have been updated and are fast. The rooms are clean and also updated, but noisy. We were jet-lagged and would have slept anywhere, but after 2 nights when catch-up was over, it became too noisy. When we return to Athens for our final night, we will stay closer to the Plaka in a small family owned simple hotel on a quiet street, but not the Astor. Wifi in the lobby only unless you want to pay for hourly or daily rate, which is high. Any capital city is over-priced, so to find a moderate price hotel is a plus. We walked the 3 blocks from the Syntagma train, and walked to the Parthenon and all Plaka sites, so it's a good spot for anything in the area.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank susanaquerida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Alarm bells for those who expect free WI-Fi, as it is only in the lobby and really slow. I do not know why hotels with these kind of limitations still expect to get high grades?
Room to the street are really nosy. Breakfast is average, coffee not good. A bit of compensation is a nice view.
Staff friendly.
Hotel needs general refubishment.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank Lietuvaite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

I was lured into the hotel by the high booking.com rating and the four stars it supposedly has. However, the hotel does not fulfill my expectations at all. It is clearly not a business hotel - internet is neither free (except in the lobby) nor decently fast. Forget streaming or video conferencing - even the download of a file can take ages, even with the paid option. The answer of the hotel was: well, if a lot of people use the internet then it gets slow. I wonder if they would say the same about electricity... Breakfast is has few choices, but the cheese, olives, tomatoes are ok. Bread is terrible. The hotel is also noisy (avoid rooms to the street is possible). Staff is helpful.
The only really good thing I can say is the view from the breakfast room. That is quite nice.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheLegos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

I recently stayed 2 nights at this hotel as part of my Greece tour (and doing Europe on a shoestring budget). While the hotel is far from the Ritz, it is in the centre of the action (right near parliament, old byzantine church and 1 street back from the main shopping strip) and has the best view of the Acropolis from the restaurant.
The staff are friendly, and would stay there again.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
Thank Lisa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

This is not a swanky hotel. It's above a motel 6, but below a holiday inn back stateside. We stayed one night in April for a layover before heading to the Greek Islands.

Check-in: Michael at the front desk helped us. They were very kind and friendly. Just need to input some passport information. Unlike most places in Europe, they are very hospitable and helped answer our questions.

Location: Great location just west of main square. Easy access for the airport bus and the metro. The bus is the way to go (5 Euros and you get to see a bit of the city).

The Room: We got a standard double room with a view of the Acropolis. We had our own balcony. The room was booked last minute for 60 Euros on Booking. The bathroom had the basic toiletries (shampoo, lotion, and soap). Yes, it's dated, but for $60 Euros and a great location, who cares? The room was cleaned nicely for us. You have to insert your card in a slot to turn on power in the room. The bed is springy and you feel the springs. A trick I use is to fold the comforter under the bed sheet and voila, it's comfy.

Breakfast: located on the 14th floor (top floor). Great views of the acropolis. The breakfast has lots of variety, but it definitely tastes like cafeteria food. I don't think they use real eggs, and their juice tastes off. Plenty of bread and fruit. The meats are mini hot dog links and lunch ham meats and cheese. Coffee & Tea are available of course.

Eats nearby: We just had a quick gyro snack next door at 'Neoklassico". Freshly made, and they serve Fix Hellas Beers. Quick sit down service. Not pricey.

Check-out: Easy, just dropped off the key and collected a receipt.

Room Tip: Ask for something facing the Acropolis. Good view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJWang24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Location : This is the ONLY saving grace for this hotel. The hotel is located in a place where you can walk to Plaka, Syntagema Square,Monsterraki and possibly even to Acropolis.


Room: I was wondering how the price was somewhat on the cheaper side for this hotel and it shows in the rooms and the walkaways. As reviews earlier suggest the carpets in walkaways are downright disgusting. The room itself was very stuffy (we had a quadruple room) and the beds were very not comfortable (I normally overlook these if we are doing a super busy active trip -which we were - but I couldn't really ignore this much badness). The bathrooms had rust in more than one place.
Overall: We paid around 294 euros for 3 nights (April 10th week) and that is definitely not a bad price (probably cheapest in the neighborhood) . A lot of college kids (groups) showed up there (a testament to cheap!). The hotel had a great view of Acropolis from the breakfast area (which is at the top floor). Probably that was the most redeeming factor of this hotel. For those that really want to be in a place that doesn't smell weird and really cramped - I suggest a different place. Families with smaller kids are definitely not going to be a big fan of this place.

Room Tip: Ask for Acropolis view - if you really are making the choice to stay at the hotel!.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DesiTrvler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Syntagma
Athens Cypria Hotel
Athens Cypria Hotel
#68 of 281 in Athens
969 reviews
Syntagma
Athens Diamond Homtel
Athens Diamond Homtel
#58 of 281 in Athens
641 reviews
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#30 of 281 in Athens
1,800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Syntagma
Hotel Metropolis
Hotel Metropolis
#47 of 281 in Athens
600 reviews
Syntagma
Achilleas Hotel
Achilleas Hotel
#103 of 281 in Athens
333 reviews
Syntagma
Electra Hotel Athens
Electra Hotel Athens
#36 of 281 in Athens
978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astor Hotel Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astor Hotel Athens

Address: 16 Karagiorgi Servias | Syntagma Square, Athens 105 62, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Syntagma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#52 Luxury Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £57 - £895 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Astor Hotel Athens 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Astor Hotel Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Astor Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing