We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and friendly staff”
Review of Airotel Parthenon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Airotel Parthenon
Ranked #48 of 284 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 April 2011

We stayed for three night late February early March. Our flight arrived very early from Singapore and we were apprehensive about getting into our room so early around 8.00am. We got to the hotel and we were greeted with a smile. As guests were having breakfast we were offered coffee while we waited 30minutes to get into our room. We had the top floor with a baloney overlooking the Parthenon. Breakfast was very good. Location absolutely excellent. We were able to walk to all the famous sights. We can't fault this hotel at all. You won't be sorry. Internet free. One warning when getting a taxi from the hotel. We were quoted 35euros to the airport but the taxi driver asked for 45euros even though the meter stated otherwise. This is not the hotels fault but make sure you are not taken for a ride.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sax10Brisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,558)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

819 - 825 of 1,559 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2011

The experience began at check-in when my wife discovered that her purse, with cards and cash, had been stolen from her handbag on an increasingly crowded metro ride from the airport. She was shocked and began to shake, at which point in stepped the receptionist, Giota, who sat her down and quickly arranged a coffee for both of us; complimentary food followed. Giota produced a telephone and contact number for cancelling credit cards etc. She then arranged transport and within half an hour we were driven in the manager's car by Stephanos, Giota's reception colleague, to the police station where he translated for us and made the task of reporting the theft and obtaining a police report for insurance purposes quick and painless. And all for which the offer of payment was refused.
The experience was a bad introduction to Athens, but a very good one to the hotel.
The hotel is in a quiet side street, very well located on the edge of The Plaka and within easy walking distance of the Acropolis and surrounding sights worth seeing, the new museum, old city, etc. There are many restauants in close proximity and it's an area that felt safe and comfortable.
We enjoyed our 3-day stay at this clean and comfortable hotel. Buffet breakfast, which is taken in the pristine dining room, was good and plentiful. All the staff were pleasant and very helpful and we would have no hesitation in again staying at the Aerotel Parthenon. It will be our first choice hotel when we next visit Athens ( only next time we'll pay the extra for a taxi from the airport!!) and I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

Room Tip: Beware pickpockets, they are master of their trad
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank df2204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2011

When I arrived on April 4th, I immediately felt welcome by the 2 in the reception. This was a feeling that followed me the whole week from all the staff there. Helpfull, talkative and very kind always, both waiters and receptionists.

The room was, due to the size, not worthy a 4 star hotel, neither was the very small selection of TV channels, but it was clean, sober and quiet. The small balcony facing the backyard, left place for a chair and a book in the warmest hours and a view to birdnests in the tree just above.

The location af The Parthenon is excellent, no more than 10 minutes walk to most tourist attractions, and 5 minutes to most of them.

Overall rating (6 stars max):
Breakfast: 3 stars.
Room: 3 stars
Location: 5 stars.
Staff: 6 stars (close to 7).

I will surely stay here again as well as recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Willy_KMCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2011

The Parthenon hotel is by far the best hotel i have stayed in when it comes to citytrips. Just around the corner from one one of "must see" attractions in the world and very close to nice reaturants and wonderful narrow streets of Athens.
The hotel lies in a quiet and safe area of Athens - and a metro close by takes you to the airport within 1 hour.
The rooms are very clean and bright, some have balconies facing the quiet street and the wonderful smell of orangetrees greets you and so does the staff of the hotel.
Breakfast is a buffet with all that you need with eggs,bacon, fresj tomatoes and cucumber, several kind of bread, cheese, ham and olives.
Cakes, croissants and fresh fruit and two kinds of juice.
If you book in advance you get a fair price ( 89 euro) and thats a very good deal.
But the location is by far the best - Acropolis, Zeus temple and the wonderful hills of Filopappos within walking distance - as the rest of the attractions in Athens.

Room Tip: Top floor with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stoffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2011

We spent a wonderful week staying here, it really is as good as the previous reviews have stated. The location is absolutely perfect and the staff were so caring, friendly and polite; nothing was too much bother for them. In fact all the Greek people we met in Athens were much friendlier than many we have encountered in European capital cities.

We had asked for a quiet room, away from the lift and this is exactly what we got. My only complaint is that the air-con appeared not to work on cooling, so that during the night we had to open the sliding door for air and as mentioned in another review, the very loud garbage truck came down the street, with crashing and banging of bins at 3.45am every morning and woke us up. Another night there was a dog fight - Athens is famous for its feral dogs who fall asleep in the middle of the pavements and sometimes in the road! They are so friendly and are fed by the restaurants and some people who take food out of bins for them.

The beds were very comfortable and cleaning was of a very high standard. Shampoo and soap are the only toiletries provided but they are replenished every day, as were clean towels. Also the bathroom was fab, it had a propber bath tub in it, which was great for soaking aching feet.

The breakfast was great, with a wide range of hot and cold foods and fruit. Try the Greek yogurt and honey, really set you up for the day.

The floor coverings are rather strange, they are a sort of hessian, which do get hoovered every day, but I have to agree with another reviewer, that after padding around the room for a bit barefoot or in socks, they were pretty grubby! Take flip flops or travel slippers.

There are lots of very good tavernas in the Plaka area, a few minutes walk away.
our favourite was one called TO HANI, which is on the left , number 138 Adrianou Street, just past the main restaurant street on the right. You can get a very good half carafe of local wine for €4 or 5. Bottled wine is much more expensive and Spirits by the bottle are more expensive than UK too.

It is also well worth the effort to go to the Attika Zoo Park in Sparta. You can get there on the metro (airport line) and then the 319 bus but make sure the driver of the bus tells you where to get off, as it is still a little walk from there. Look out got the Lidl shop on the right, after 25 mins. Change there for the local bus 230 and it is a short walk from there.

I would happily recommend this hotel and would like to come back here too!

Room Tip: Get a 7 day all transport ticket for only €14
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bellamanning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2011

I spent four days with my grownup daughter - we had a really good time at this hotel. No complaints at all. And everything of interest was in walk-distance / or with the Metro.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anette E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2011

Really impressed with this hotel! I was a single female traveller (late 20s) and the staff really looked after me throughout my stay! They knew I was on my own and so helped me to plan my itinerary each day.

They advised me where to go, see, eat and shop! And always asked how my day was when I returned to the hotel!

The rooms were so clean, fresh and air conditioned and the beds were very comfy!

The location is also PERFECT! right in the heart of everything! every major site is just a few steps away.....!

I would definitely recommend people to stay here if visiting Athens!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RazeLon82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#10 of 284 in Athens
2,489 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Hera Hotel
Hera Hotel
#18 of 284 in Athens
1,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#32 of 284 in Athens
1,844 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Acropolis View Hotel
Acropolis View Hotel
#44 of 284 in Athens
627 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 284 in Athens
3,975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airotel Parthenon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airotel Parthenon

Address: 6 Makri, Athens 117 42, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Thissio / Makriyanni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#39 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £60 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Airotel Parthenon 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Six-Story Hotel situated in central location; across from the Plaka district/Old City; ten minute walk from the Acropolis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Airotel Parthenon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airotel Parthenon Athens
Airotel Parthenon Hotel Athens
Parthenon Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing