We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Hotel in a Great Location!”
Review of Airotel Parthenon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Airotel Parthenon
Ranked #48 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Comfortable Hotel in a Great Location!”
Reviewed 15 July 2012

My husband, daughter and I stayed here last August. The hotel is in a great location. It is close to a metro as well as within walking distance to the Parthenon. There is a pharmacy and a few restaurants scattered nearby as well as a small grocery store with a limited selection. Ask the front desk how to get to the grocery store since it’s not very large and not in an obvious location.

Our room was a decent size. The a/c worked okay as long as we kept it running even when we were not in the room. We were given two room keys when we checked in and in order to get the lights and a/c to come on in our room we had to insert one of the room keys into a docking type station in our room. We took both keys the first day we left the room and when we got back it was very hot and it took forever for the room to cool off. After that we left one key in the room in the docking station at all times. Our room had a small balcony but it faced what appeared to be someone’s apartment so there was no view. The bathroom was a shower/tub combo and our shower had plenty of water pressure and there was also plenty of hot water. The bathroom also came equip with a hairdryer. I don’t think the hotel provided any wash cloths (it’s common in Europe for hotels NOT to have wash cloths) but I always bring my own from home so it wasn’t an issue. The beds were very comfortable and the room was quiet. The hotel is located on a side street with little vehicle traffic and mostly pedestrian traffic so that really helped to cut down on noise. The wifi connection in our room was strong and it always worked great.

The breakfast at this hotel was very plentiful and it was included in the price of our room. It was the most plentiful breakfast that was included in the cost of a room that I have ever had in Europe.

The front desk staff at this hotel was great and they spoke excellent English. I had a minor medical issue and I needed to see a doctor and have a lab test done as a result and a woman named Yoda (which was told me was short for her very hard to pronounce Greek name) at the front desk made all the arrangements for me. She found a doctor’s office/lab that had staff that spoke some English and she set up the whole thing for me. She also helped translate. When I got to the lab there was a language barrier so I gave the person at the lab the business card for the hotel and the lab tech called Yoda and Yoda was able to translate for us which saved the day. Yoda was also able to help me with my prescription at the nearby pharmacy that I was given as a result of my lab test.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lilmisstex713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,455 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    511
    656
    219
    46
    23
See reviews for
300
669
83
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

It's possible that they were just having a bad couple of nights, since all of the other reviews were so positive, but we did not enjoy our stay here much.

Pros:
The staff was very friendly
The location was fantastic
The breakfast buffet was pretty good.

Cons:
When we arrived, there was no hot water - this was later fixed
The air conditioning didn't work, we tried to change rooms, but the air conditioner in that room wasn't any better. The A/C was basically just a fan - warm air blew out of it, absolutely zero cooling. It was hotter in our room than outside, so we just slept with the windows open.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thisisthedesk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melsomvik
1 review
Reviewed 15 July 2012

On my first stay in Athens I stayed at this hotel. It was a very good experienxe, and I will recommend it! Clean rooms, good beds, airconditioned, close to the Acropolis and Plaka - with many godd resturants and ta vernas + nice shoppingopportunities!. Walking distance to the best attractions is important to me so that I dont have to worry about transport and spend both time and money to "get there". The personell was very nice and helpful - serviceminded and warm! I would choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne_GroMelsomvik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ottawa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

We loved this hotel. The location was fantastic. Easy to find after taking the airport bus to Syntagma Square, with a little bit of help from a local. Right in the middle of all the sights, but quiet and calm on a side street. Larger rooms than we are used to in Europe. Put us in side by side rooms, sometimes not so easy. Tea and coffee in the room. A balcony for smoking. Quiet at night, no street noises, or other guest noises. Very nice breakfast. The staff were lovely, so helpful and patient especially with my mangling of some Greek place names. We walked to everything!! Just be careful crossing the roads, they like to drive fast and don't like stopping for red lights! Our room was in the back and if the building behind us wasn't there we would have had a spectacular view of the Acropolis, which was right behind us not in the distance. Lots of tourist restaurants near by, but if you wander a few streets over there are lots of great restaurants which all give huge servings for great prices. Perfect hotel for a stay in Athens.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank werk4travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012 via mobile

The location is fabulous, but the rooms are shabby, towels are threadbare, and the breakfast buffet is much smaller than it was just a year ago. Breakfast is available from 7 to 10am. There used to be a choice of cereals. Now only one cereal available and it ran out at 8.05am. The container was then removed and not refilled/returned. Disappointing. Definitely not a 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moroz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

I am not sure how they got a 4 star rating it was 3 at best. My room looked nothing like the photos on the website. I was a single and they put me in a room with 3 twin beds cramed in with little room to walk. The bedding had the ugliest orange blankets that were old and gross. The did bring me a new blanket when asked. The location is excellent, walk right to the Acropolis the new museum, Zuess and more. Righ in the heart of Plaka the town for shopping and dining just outside your door. The airport is about 40-50 minutes away and a 50Euro cab ride. Ferry port is about 10-15 min away and cost about 35Euro for a taxi. Breakfast was good and offered a wide selection. Customer service was good. Free Wifi only worked in the lobby. Lobby good use some updated. If your lloking for a good cost hotel with a good central location this is perfect.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tvlgrl11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

Horrible hotel, it was disgusting! Don't know how it got so many great reviews.

It should not be rated 4 stars at all, it should be a 1 or 2 star.
Don't know why I wasted my money on this hotel, could have got the same quality in a hostel!!!!

It's in a gOod location

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Missalllly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#15 of 326 in Athens
2,200 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Philippos Hotel
Philippos Hotel
#23 of 326 in Athens
995 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Acropolis View Hotel
Acropolis View Hotel
#53 of 326 in Athens
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#16 of 326 in Athens
3,715 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Acropolis Hill Hotel
Acropolis Hill Hotel
#26 of 326 in Athens
703 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Hera Hotel
Hera Hotel
#21 of 326 in Athens
1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airotel Parthenon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airotel Parthenon

Property: Airotel Parthenon
Address: 6 Makri (Makrigianni), Athens 117 42, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Thissio / Makriyanni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#44 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Airotel Parthenon 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Six-Story Hotel situated in central location; across from the Plaka district/Old City; ten minute walk from the Acropolis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Bookgreece.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Airotel Parthenon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airotel Parthenon Athens
Airotel Parthenon Hotel Athens
Parthenon Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing