We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is more of a "good" but I am feeling generous!”
Review of Airotel Parthenon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Airotel Parthenon
Ranked #48 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 October 2013

What makes this hotel so special is the proximity to the centre of town - in particular the Acropolis Museum. It is also only about 200m from the Akropolis metro station which meant it was super easy to get out to the airport (about 50 mins - make sure you time it right though, as the trains only run to the airport every 30 mins, from Syndagma). The photos on the hotel website make it look a LOT more glam than it is, as it is actually a bit grubby round the edges! The painted part of my bathroom wall (ie. above the tiles but below the ceiling) was all mouldy and it is a bit noisy as it is in a residential street and there were generally quite a few people clattering around. Didn't bother me as I wear ear plugs. Dinner (we had a group meal) was almost dauntingly large in terms of portion sizes, and was average/good rather than fantastic. However, the location is very good, the service was really sweet and helpful - as it was across Greece and I would recommend it for someone on a budget. I stayed on a group tour so didn't get to choose the location but I gather it is a big favourite with groups as its location is so good. It may also be more reasonably priced than the other hotels on my trip so I shouldn't ungenerously compare apples with pears. Rooms were a bit small but were still fine. To its credit it was the only one of our 5 hotels to have a kettle, tea, coffee and cups in the room - yay! If I come back with my husband I shall try for the Grande Bretagne!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FSHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,535)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

456 - 462 of 1,535 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2013

It is excellent place to stay if you want to explore the perfection of Acropolis and one of most beautiful buildings ever erected – The Parthenon. The Hotel with the same name is close to Dionysius boulevard – straight way to Acropolis. You may go directly to Propylaea along the boulevard, casting a glance at local paintings and listening ‘pavement’ instrumentalists. The other way guides you through archeological site by Dionysius theatre - the first theatre in the world – and the entrance to the site is in a minute walk from Hotel door.
Being close to the attractions, just steps from Plaka’s restaurants and shops, the Hotel overlooks very quiet street and your balcony door may stay open during the night. Room was clean, with good bathroom and all necessary stuff, including safety box. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was decent though it is continental: don’t expect over easy eggs or fresh juice.
You may experience problems if arriving by your own car: the street is narrow, one-way, and almost impossible to park.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gregory B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

My wife and I spent three nights in the Airotel Parthonen Hotel in October 2013 and were very satisfied with the experience. Expectations do need to be managed because despite the star rating it doesn't come close to a 4 star hotel by UK standards. Nevertheless, neither do the prices and if you accept it as essentially being a budget hotel it offers very good value for money.

The best aspect of the hotel is its central location, just a 3 or 4 minute walk from one of the entrances to the Acropolis and the Acropolis Museum and moments away from a lively pedestrianised street with plenty of restaurant options. It's also within no more than a 15 minute walk of pretty much all the other main sites of classical Athens in the old town area including the Roman Agora and the Ancient Agora, the 1896 Olympic Stadium, the Temple of Zeus as well as Plaka and Syntagma Square. The Acropolis Metro station is also very close by for access to and from the airport (the journey door to door takes about an hour). The hotel is located down a side street which means that there are no views to speak of but it is also quiet. It might be worth taking a torch as the street lighting in the area is very poor indeed.

Other than that, the decor and facilities are a touch on the dated side but the rooms are clean, of a decent size and perfectly adequate. The staff were friendly and the breakfast buffet offered plenty of choice though it was rather uninspiring in terms of quality (and I'm no foodie). Overall for the price we were pleased with our choice and would certainly consider staying here again if we were to return to Athens.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garybaldbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

Brilliant location. Near to all amenities and sights within walking distance. Rooms clean and staff friendly. Walking distance to Acropoli metro station as well. Breakfast decent spread of Greek , English and continental items.

Take the metro from the airport to syntagma station and then change trains to Acropolis which is the next station from syntagma.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
Thank RAJU007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We only stayed here one night on our way to santorini but the staff couldn't have been more helpful, organising an extra early breakfast and taxi to the port for us to catch the ferry. They also allowed us to leave out suitcases there the following week while we went sight seeing on our way home.
Room was basic but clean and very good value.
Excellent location for trains, restaurants and city centre.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

The hotel is clean, contemporary, with nice customer service, good breakfast (included), very reasonable price. Our room was quiet, clean, and almost spacious - gave us good rest after long walks around the city.

The best thing about that establishment, however, is its location.

Just a very short walk to the Acropolis, Areopagus, Acropolis museum, and Zeus Temple. Surrounded by many good restaurants and shopping streets - souvenirs etc. Walking distance to Roman Agora, Ancient Agora, Anafiotika, and still more great restaurants, markets, and shopping areas.

A taxi stand is around the corner. Generally, taxis are very reasonable and readily available. A quick taxi ride (35 euros, fixed price) from/to the airport (a Toyota Camry or Mercedes E class are good for 4 people and 4 pieces of luggage).

Recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank calse98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We spent four nights, in between we went to a couple isles. The room was perfect, comfortable, very clean. The breakfast very complete and delicious. The staff frendly, courteous, they took care of our luggage while visiting the isles. The location is superb, steps from Acropolis and main attractions. Great value!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ofelia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#10 of 282 in Athens
2,435 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 282 in Athens
3,941 reviews
Acropolis Select Hotel
#51 of 282 in Athens
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thissio / Makriyanni
Philippos Hotel
Philippos Hotel
#19 of 282 in Athens
1,088 reviews
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#31 of 282 in Athens
1,824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airotel Parthenon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airotel Parthenon

Address: 6 Makri, Athens 117 42, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Thissio / Makriyanni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#39 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £55 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Airotel Parthenon 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Six-Story Hotel situated in central location; across from the Plaka district/Old City; ten minute walk from the Acropolis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Airotel Parthenon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airotel Parthenon Athens
Airotel Parthenon Hotel Athens
Parthenon Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing