We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location.”
Review of Airotel Parthenon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Airotel Parthenon
Ranked #47 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 May 2014

It's not the Hilton, but it's half the price and pretty nice. The location, price, helpfull staff, (mostly English speaking), and included breakfast, compensated for some room maintenance issues. We stayed 5 days in 2 blocks and on both occasions we were allowed to check in early plus leave luggage at the hotel between trips. Handy to the Metro, (200m), exit either exit, Parthenon behind, Makri Street is 1st street parallel and look for Parthenon Hotel sign, (not Airotel). Great choice of local restaurants, quiet location, (upper floors and rear best),central to, and walking distance to main attractions. A quick and inexpensive trip on the Metro to the airport and Piraeus.
Not 5 star but good value and great location. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rsee4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,537)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

416 - 422 of 1,537 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2014

I stayed here for two nights at the end of my honeymoon last week. We originally were going to stay in the Plaka, but after staying there one night at the beginning of our honeymoon we hated it and decided to stay here instead. The location was great and the service was also wonderful. However, the hotel was not what I consider high quality. When we checked in, we saw that someone had left their dirty boxers in the cabinet. I immediately made me wonder how well the rooms are cleaned between people. The sheets were wrinkled making me think they may have been the same as the person who was there before us. The bathroom door is a slider door, and it was broken, so it wouldn't slide closed....Thankfully, my husband and I have been together for five years so a bathroom door not shutting all the way was a kink in the plan but not awful. I imagine for many honeymooners it would have been a HUGE problem. Also, the cosmetic mirror was shattered down the back, and the toilet seat was broken.......the breakfast in the morning was so so. Pretty Americanized which was very disappointing.

Overall, I liked the location and in a pinch it's not a bad place to stay. However, I'm sure there are MUCH nicer hotels in Athens.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GROUP-AIROTEL, Guest Service Manager at Airotel Parthenon, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear Nicole H,

Firtsly, we would like to thank you for choosing the Airotel Parthenon for your stay in Athens. According to your recent review we would like to express our deepest apologies for the inconvenience we caused you. We are deeply sorry for the incident and we would like to inform you that the necessary measures are already taken.
Regarding to your comment about the breakfast buffet, we would like to inform you that we will take it into serious consideration and we will do our best to upgrade of our services.
We are happy of having you as a guest and it will be our pleasure to welcoming you again in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Dimitris Koursaris
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

On behalf of a tour group from Mission Travel Australia we couldn't fault the service and care from the staff. The front reception and restaurant staff were excellent. We stayed for three nights 6 to 8 May.
The location close to the Acropolis and Metro was great for first timers to Athens.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We looked at the reviews before we booked and decided Airotel Parthenon was ideal for our Athens trip. My wife has poor mobility so being right in the heart of the city was a must. The ride in from the airport on the metro and the single change at Syntagma was un eventful. There are lifts on the metro but you do have to look for them.
Once at street level Acropoli we easily found the hotel with our city centre map and it really is 3 mins. even with luggage. The footpaths were a bit uneven so care is needed but the roadway is smooth. A couple of steps up to the hotel might cause problems for the mobility challenged but as my wife could manage them we didn't ask if there was another entrance.
Reception were very helpful. We asked and were given the code for the free wifi, electronic door keys (one is needed for the electric supply) and a safe key. Porter service is available but we declined as the 2 lifts are easily accessible . After reading some of the reviews before we left I was a little worried that our room was only 4m. from the lift but no noise problems arose during our stay.
The room size was great, especially as we had a good on line price deal, the twin beds were very comfy we had a small balcony and the bathroom was passable. As another reviewer said the sliding bathroom door could be a bit noisy and difficult to open but everything worked ok and there were plenty of soaps etc. We thought the the room could do with a lick of paint, everything worked but looked a little tired, hence our 4 stars.
As promised the TV had some English speaking channels, the fridge worked and so did the kettle. We did go and ask for more tea and milk and a couple of extra pillows and these turned up immediately.
Breakfast was full of choices and we managed to eat enough to survive till our evening meal, maybe the odd ice cream helped. The range of food should enable anybody to get well fed and it was topped up frequently. Not gourmet eating but fine for the price.
Easy access to the metro, good local eateries and the amazing Acropolis round the corner. We would definitely use it again for a city centre break.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kez0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We arrived in the dark at this hotel and although it was only a 2 minute walk away from the Acropolis Metro station we were lucky to find it as it is down a little side road so I advise you to
ask directions at the station desk - they have a map! It was a straightforward trip from the airport using the Metro with only one line change at Syntagma for the Acropoli station. We bought a three day travel pass and made good use of it. The hotel itself was perfect for our purpose. There were lots of excellent, reasonably-priced restaurants within easy walking distance. Rooms were a good size, clean with comfortable, large beds and complimentary soaps etc. The breakfast was good, with a variety of hot and cold foot, eaten at restaurant seating ( not café style!) and the staff were very polite and obliging. For the price we paid it was excellent value, particularly since wifi was available in the lobby at no extra charge. What made this hotel even more perfect for us was that it had a balcony so my husband could smoke without having to keep going downstairs! I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a good hotel for a city break in Athens and I would certainly return there myself.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gail M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

This is our last night of a 4 day stay here. We have visited Athens many times but this is the first time we have stayed in the centre. It is very quick and easy to get to from the airport and very close to the Akropoli metro station, no need for a taxi, just one change at Sintagma. The staff are very helpful and not at all intrusive. We have had no problems with noise an have slept very well. The room is a good size. There is a small fridge in the room. Breakfast is good.
We would definitely stay here here again.

Room Tip: Above front entrance
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

This hotel is great if you're on a budget. The staff are friendly and, as other users have said, the location is absolutely superb. It is on the street parallel to the Acropolis museum and therefore incredibly close to the Acropolis itself, as well as within walking distance of pretty much all of the other sights you would want to visit when in Athens.
However, there is one reason why I can't give it more than an average rating, and that is the noise. We were in room 502, which is right next to the elevator. There was quite a lot of noise, including what must have been the sound of the lift actually moving. When people were outside of the room it was like they were in the room with you. Also, when others (not sure if it was the room next door or up above) used their taps and showers it was like it was coming from our bathroom as it was loud. We looked out over a lot of apartments, and sometimes the noise from the people who live there was quite loud. Also, the balcony door in our room was basically broken, making it very tricky to open and close. This meant in the three nights we stayed I never got a decent night's sleep.
I would still recommend this hotel if you need something which is good value, but be careful which room you stay in, or bring ear plugs!

Room Tip: Away from the elevator, on the side of the building where the main entrance is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GROUP-AIROTEL, Guest Service Manager at Airotel Parthenon, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Amy B,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing the Airotel Parthenon for your stay in Athens. According to your recent review about the noisy room we would like to express our deepest apologies for the inconvenience caused. However , we are deeply sad for the isolated incident and the fact that we did not act earlier so that an immediately solution could be given.
We were happy of having you as a guest and it will be our pleasure to welcoming you again in the future.

Yours sincerely,
Dimitris Koursaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#10 of 282 in Athens
2,438 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 282 in Athens
3,943 reviews
Acropolis Select Hotel
#50 of 282 in Athens
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thissio / Makriyanni
Philippos Hotel
Philippos Hotel
#19 of 282 in Athens
1,088 reviews
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#30 of 282 in Athens
1,825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airotel Parthenon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airotel Parthenon

Address: 6 Makri, Athens 117 42, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Thissio / Makriyanni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#39 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £55 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Airotel Parthenon 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Six-Story Hotel situated in central location; across from the Plaka district/Old City; ten minute walk from the Acropolis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Airotel Parthenon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airotel Parthenon Athens
Airotel Parthenon Hotel Athens
Parthenon Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing