We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value and location”
Review of Airotel Parthenon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Airotel Parthenon
Ranked #48 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
dublin,ireland
Level Contributor
137 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Excellent value and location”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

This hotel represents excellent value when booked well in advance. It is located in an excellent location within easy walking distance of the main sites. It is in an very safe area. The staff are friendly and helpful. The breakfast is very good and is located in an airy and fresh room. The bedrooms are quite dated but clean and adequate, however, our mattresses had collapsed in the middle and need replaced urgently. The bathroom toiletries included a toothbrush and toothpaste and a shaver and shaving gel ( more than the best 5* hotels), replaced every morning.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dubliner_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,455 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    511
    656
    219
    46
    23
See reviews for
300
669
83
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rocky Hill, Connecticut
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

I stayed at this hotel for seven nights in August 2014. It is ideally located at the foot of the Acropolis and an entrance to Placate. The front desk staff is attentive, polite, and goes out of their way to help you have an enjoyable stay. The continental breakfast is one of the best I've ever seen in Europe. The rooms are newly refurbished, especially on the fifth floor, with all modern conveniences. The housekeeping staff is polite and thorough. Above all, the location is convenient, yet on the side street that is quiet. I recommend this hotel highly.

Room Tip: The front desk staff seems to know which rooms have good air conditioning in which rooms do not. Be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leeleebella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

This hotel was the first hotel that my husband and I stayed in during our honeymoon. Honestly we didn't have very many high expectations for Athens or this hotel. This hotel was the only hotel on our tour package that we didn't upgrade, but we ended up being pleasantly surprised. When we arrived at the hotel we were early and we didn't have our bags due to the airport loosing them, the staff helped us make an international call and use the computer to take care of a few things while we waited for our room to be ready. It is nice to have people be so helpful when you feel like things on your trip are starting off poorly and they even gave us shaving kits and toothbrush sets to get us through the first night. There is also a little refreshments stand next to the front desk with little pastries, fruit juice, water and best of all OUZO! My husband and I made a point of coming down to take a shot of Ouzo before heading out the door and were always greeted with smiles and helpfulness from the staff. The room was large by European standards and comfortable. I think that the location could be a little better, it was a bit further from the sites then I was anticipating but the metro station is not too far away to take you anywhere in the city. Overall we enjoyed our time at this hotel and would stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aurielle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Location, location, location! This hotel is steps away from the Plaka (pedestrian shopping/dining area). The picture of the outside of the hotel had me a bit worried, but in person it looks better. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were well appointed for this price point. The bathroom was a bit dated and the hair dryer was not great. The breakfast was simple, but good. Considering the reasonable price, the friendly staff and the fantastic location, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

This was our second stay at Parthenon hotel, location is excellent walking distance to all major sights and metro. Breakfast is great, rooms clean and comfortable. Excellent choice for short stay in Athens. Staff were very helpful. We will return.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrisi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2014

DO NOT GO! Location and breakfast are good but that is all. AC was not working in the room. We advised the staff who said they would send someone to fix it and it never happened. Spent one week at 40C (105F) in a damp hot room. Bed sheets were not fitting over the mattresses, were never changed during all our stay and beds were barely made (you could see the bottom of the too short mattress cover was always sticking up like when we left the room in the morning). Covers and beds are full of dust mites and just the act of sitting on the bed in shorts would make me break in hives on my legs. AVOID AT ALL COST!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TramCaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GROUP-AIROTEL, Guest Service Manager at Airotel Parthenon, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Tram Caro,

On behalf of the entire team at the Airotel Parthenon we would like to thank you for your feedback on our hotel.
In our attempt to improve, we take all comments seriously and share them with our staff, so we may resolve any and all issues. Kindly accept our most sincere apologies for causing you disappointment during your stay with us.
The points you highlighted have been discussed with the heads of the appropriate departments in order to take appropriate corrective action.
We hope that despite our shortcomings on this occasion, you will nevertheless grant us a renewed opportunity to welcome you back to the Airotel Parthenon hotel and provide you with the experience you should expect to receive from us.

Kind Regards,

Dimitris Koursaris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Great little hotel with excellent location right next to the plakka, acropolis metro station, and the Acropolis. It is also in walking distance (or short metro ride) of all of Athens attractions. The staff were friendly and very helpful making our stay even more enjoyable. In particular, Petros was amazing and recommended really special places for us to go including what became our favourite bar and also restaurant in Athens! Ask him about the rooftop bars! They even provided breakfast! I would not hesitate to recommend the hotel and the staff. Thank you for an enjoyable stay, we will be back!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yang X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#15 of 326 in Athens
2,199 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Philippos Hotel
Philippos Hotel
#23 of 326 in Athens
995 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Acropolis View Hotel
Acropolis View Hotel
#53 of 326 in Athens
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#16 of 326 in Athens
3,715 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Acropolis Hill Hotel
Acropolis Hill Hotel
#26 of 326 in Athens
703 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Hera Hotel
Hera Hotel
#21 of 326 in Athens
1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airotel Parthenon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airotel Parthenon

Property: Airotel Parthenon
Address: 6 Makri (Makrigianni), Athens 117 42, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Thissio / Makriyanni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#44 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Airotel Parthenon 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Six-Story Hotel situated in central location; across from the Plaka district/Old City; ten minute walk from the Acropolis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Bookgreece.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Airotel Parthenon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airotel Parthenon Athens
Airotel Parthenon Hotel Athens
Parthenon Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing