We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“this is a nice place.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of President Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
President Hotel
Ranked #146 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“this is a nice place.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

I stayed there 3 nights.It is a nice hotel and in a good place and near to public taransformation.Near to sintagma sq and there is a lot of shopping center near this hotel.
Rooms are clean and they have good view,Staffs are polite.And food is great.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Behnoosh1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,334 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    465
    428
    157
    105
See reviews for
215
363
116
382
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2011

The hotel is located relatively far from the city attractions but it is in a good condition (except the rattling elevators) and calm. My room was on the 15th floor - I recommend the upper floors because of the nice view. The room was spacious and clean, the TV set was out of order. No free wi-fi, and it was expensive. Breakfast was tasty and plentiful. During my stay the hotel was full of strange guests, the majority of them was injured. I felt like being in a hospital or in a rehabilitation institute.FInally revealed that the strange guests are refugees staying there for 2-3 months. It was in December.

Room Tip: Upper floors have nicer view (10+)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Technogracia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhodes Town, Greece
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2011

I stayed in President Hotel for 2 nights. I made this choice because I had heard very good comments for this hotel in the past.
I arrived there after my vacation in Europe. I checked in after 12.00 in the night. The receptionist (a man) and the bell boy were very helpful. However, when I filled in the registration form the receptionist asked me to charge my credit card with the amount of the accomodation. There wasn't any possibility for me of leaving the hotel without paying. I was really bothered from that. I can understand that big hotels have certain policies. I have been in a 5star hotel and the procedure was the same. But that hotel was of 5 stars and it really deserved it.
The worst thing: they gave me a room in 15th floor. I have never stayed in a so high floor; by nature I don't feel comfortable at high heights. When I went in the room, I tried to "adapt" myself to the height. It was impossible. I phoned at the reception to ask if it was possible to change room. The receptionist (was a girl) had a very negative attitude towards me. She insisted on asking me if I really like the room. She asked me why I hadn't told that at the ckeck-in. I told her that I hadn't stayed there before and I wasn't familiar with their policy. I still asked her very politely to change the room even the next day. She told me, completely impolitely, that the hotel is full and the only room available was on 7th floor. Being very tired from the night flight and from a cold, I accepted to go there. It was much better for me, being at the 7th floor. But, I was really annoyed by the receptionist's way of talking to me.
The new room was in a lower floor. But, it was a room for handicapped people. The receptionist told me that I would change to a double room, not a room for handicapped people. But, I couldn't complain again because the hotel was full and then I would have to stay in the street. Even though if I wanted to call at the reception, I wasn't able because the telephone was out of order. I discovered in the last day, when I wanted to call the bell-boy to take my luggage at the reception. In a 4 star hotel, where you have to pre-pay your accomodation, the telephone in the room is only for decoration. Just to say that the room has a telephone. But if you need help or if you want to call, you have no possibility.
Another thing that I want to mention: in the hotel there were a lot of guests. I expected to see many different people there. But I couldn't imagine that I would see illegal immigrants in a 4star hotel. There were many people from Libya in the hotel. You could see them walking in the hotel without shoes, with broken hands, legs and heads. I agree that Greece like a government can offer help to those people, that have war in their country. In my opinion, a hospital is a better place for those people. In a 4 star hotel, seeing that picture, impoverished people with broken heads and legs, staring at the female clients, is completely unacceptable. I wanted to have a pleasant stay in this hotel, to relax and feel safe.
In the future, I won't stay in this hotel and I wouldn't suggest it to my friends. It has many facilities but there are "details" that spoil its general picture.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Giota_Lz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2011

While it's a little far from the main attractions, it worked perfect for us because we prefer to stay at a nicer hotel and out of the city than be in a cheaper hotel near the attractions.
The buffet breakfast was huge and delicious.
One downside was that there aren't many good restaurants within walking distance for dinner. We asked the concierge for directions to a "typical greek" place and got lost, but we ended up finding something decent.
About 3 minute walk from the nearest metro station.
I can't remember the name of it, but there's a mountain/hill that's not too far away with a church on top. That was a fun hike and we enjoyed wandering through the market on the street on the way down.
We tried to use the pool the first day we were there, but it was too cold. It looked nice though it was smaller than it appears in the hotel's photo.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iluv2pla10is
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2011

Although the rooms were not recently refurbished, they were very clean. The hotel was very quiet and we had a very good sleep, which was never disturbed. We stayed in the 8th floor and the view was nice... however, rooms on higher floors would have much better view of all Athens. Overall, it was a very good stay and we had a good time.

Room Tip: HIgher floors have an excelent view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2011

The President is a good, reasonably priced hotel with a gorgeous Penthouse pool side bar/ restaurant that is open all year (the pool closes in Autumn/ Winter). Breakfast is included in the price and has a good range of breads, cereals, juices, meats, fruit, hot drinks, greek salad/ yogurt& honey etc; served 6.30-10 am I believe. The reception and hotel staff are excellent and very helpful. The single room I stayed in had a double bed with ample storage, a vanity desk, a small coffee table with 2 soft chairs and carpeting. There was air-conditioning/ heating that kept the room nice and warm in Autumn. The window can be opened a little for fresh air. Opt for a room on a high floor as the street side can be noisy. The rooms have wifi for a fee and it can 'drop' the signal occasionally. The TV shows mostly Greek channels which a few of the major news channels- I would prefer SKY NEWS but imagine it is not common in Greece. Ambelokipi, the nearest station is only a few stops into the centre on the modern and clean metro system and runs until late at night. There is an ATM just to the right of the hotel and a kiosk on the same and opposite sides of the street which sells magazines, water (50c for small bottle), crisps, chocolate, crisps, package sandwiches etc. If you continue down the road (after leaving the hotel to the right) there is a huge Carrefour supermarket selling food, daily goods, toiletries and household goods. The street has lots of other shops and cafes and if you take a right at the bottom of the road (on the way to the metro) there are more cafes/ restaurants. Overall I have given it 4 stars as it is great value for money imho.

Room Tip: High floor *18th recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eveloves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2011

This was just a one night stop-over in Athens and a while since I've stayed at the President. Room spacious and bed extremely comfortable. It would be nice if there was a kettle and cups in the room for tea or coffee though. Biggest improvement was the breakfast. The layout has changed, as has the food on offer - a veritable feast.

Room Tip: I did once stay and the room was rather noisy - this time I requested a quiet room and got an exelle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fishingboat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Stratos Vassilikos
#32 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
Airotel Alexandros
#91 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
Stanley Hotel
#82 of 325 in Athens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Omonia
Titania Hotel
Titania Hotel
#123 of 325 in Athens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,398 reviews
Athens Zafolia Hotel
#78 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Novotel Athenes
#59 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to President Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about President Hotel

Property: President Hotel
Address: 43 Kifissias Leoforos, Athens 115 23, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #146 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — President Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 516
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Lastminute and Agoda so you can book your President Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing