We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel at the heart of the city”
Review of President Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
President Hotel
Ranked #136 of 281 Hotels in Athens
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Reasonable price,comfortable,clean and large rooms,good breakfast,10 minutes on foot to the nearest metro station,bus stop in front of the hotel,
Carrefour Hyper is about 200 metres down the main street,TGI Fridays is about 250 meters,many cafes and small eateries around the hotel.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank junior1907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,538)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

579 - 585 of 1,538 reviews

Reviewed 25 January 2014

we stayed for five days. The rate was cheap, given that the breakfast was fabulous. The reception desk was so friendly. They tied up all our visits to the islands and to Thesiliniki for a day by train. (It was a lovely five our trip in the midst of Greek hillside.) Acropolis from the hotel was close by and we visited and revisited. what we enjoyed most was having dinner in the top floor / terrace of the hotel overlooking the beautiful city. Food was superb. Staff were excellent.

Room Tip: just make a request to register a request while booking for an outside facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gayatri2013ut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

In November we stayed at this hotel( president hotel ) we are regular clients there BUT NOT ANY MORE!!! We go often to Athens for business . During our last stay after getting to our destination we realized we forgot in our room and specifically on top of the safe deposit room an envelope with important notes and cash of 11.000€ we called the hotel and tried to explain our situation.
They said that they will get back to us!!
After calling us back we got all this different excuses that there is no trust to us and that we were laying, that the room has host different guest after the 2 days we called , that they trust there housekeeping and if it happened they would have been informed or that the manager will look into it and get back to us , something that never happened !!!
We work really hard and this amount was really important for us... The hotel was disinterest about the situation !!! We have knowledge of the hospitality business and it's not difficult for a hotel like the president to find staff getting in the rooms and out!
It's a shame for this hotel to have incidence like this!!!
Very very disappointing !!!!
A very dishonest place not a place to feel safe!!!!!
It's an embarrassment for the Greek people that works so hard in such difficult times !
We know we got late to this but it's something we can not get over yet !!!


Kind Regards
Mario

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mario S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementPH, Director of Sales at President Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Dear Mr. Mario S
Thank you for staying at President Hotel on your recent visit to Athens. We regret that you were left with such a negative impression of our Hotel.
As we have previously mentioned, there is no issue of theft since you contact us several days after your departure and you were in no position knowing where you have missed the envelope (at the beggining you told us between the blankets, afterwards on top of the safe). According to your statement, on the previous night you returned to the hotel during the early hours of your departure date feeling very confused and tired and that is the reason why you could not remember where you have left the envelope.
We always suggest to our guests to use the safe box for their valuebles something that clearly do not happend in your case.
After your departure the room was check and cleaned from the department in charge and nothing was found. All procedures were followed as indicated by GNTO. Moreover management team spoke several time on the phone with you in order to assist you in this serious matter.
We apologize for any inconvenience caused

The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed at the president hotel for a total of 5 nights and must say that it didn't quite met the expectation for a 4 star hotel.

On arrival we were given a twin room even though we booked a double. One of the bed mattress was completely deformed with a huge "hole" in the middle which caused a significant back pain after one night sleep.
We asked to change rooms on the second night and they gave us a double room right next to the elevators. I must say that room isolation is non existent. You can totally ear everything from the other rooms, from corridors and specially from outside. Although we were on the 19th floor we could ear traffic almost the same way as if we were outside. It almost seemed we had the window opened...

The bathrooms are old, small and lacking maintenance. The shower ramp was in pretty bad shape: didn't move, was slack due to time which made the shower itself move due to the pressure...

Apart from all these the rooms are ok, big enough, but very old fashioned. Could also improve on cleanliness.

The facilities of the hotel contrast a bit with the rooms, especially the rooftop bar: very well decorated, with an extraordinary view of the city and serving with very good quality. Only drawback is that it's quite expensive comparing with the average prices in Athens.

In summary, the hotel is ok-ish but for a 3 star that definitely needs renewing, especially in the rooms and isolation. Nevertheless, the price quality ratio is not bad since we got a good price for the rooms. My advice is that you should only stay here if you get a really good price for your stay. Otherwise it's not worth it.

Room Tip: Would say the higher the better and with view to the acropolis. Avoid rooms close to elevators bec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank comerEboer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

Stunning views of Athens as it's one of the tallest buildings there. Recommend you take the upper floors facing the sea. Conviniently located in the centre of Athens. I liked the rooftop restaurant. Room service was wanting. Wifi was really unreliable as it kept on going down (despite the fact that you're paying per the minute for it). Hardboard walls! (I don't know whether it was for all rooms) ...it was really agonizing getting to hear what my neighbour was upto in the next room.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erik M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

One of my girlfriends spent the night here before flying out of Athens. We all went over to have drinks at the bar and enjoy their rooftop pool. Nice view of the acropolis. Well maintained. Nothing crazy/over-the-top, but definitely made for a lovely afternoon together. Walking distance to the subway system.

Room Tip: high floor - some rooms have an acropolis view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank CinciPro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at President Hotel. Perfect luxurious clean rooms, rich buffet breakfast, and excellent service. The hotel's bar Penthouse 21 offers a spectacular view of Athens and the surrounding areas and we highly recommend it for both summer and winter night outs.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elena_Lidia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Stratos Vassilikos
#24 of 281 in Athens
609 reviews
Omonia
Titania Hotel
Titania Hotel
#90 of 281 in Athens
1,627 reviews
Stanley Hotel
#84 of 281 in Athens
1,608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Airotel Alexandros
#78 of 281 in Athens
523 reviews
Athens Zafolia Hotel
#74 of 281 in Athens
418 reviews
Exarchia
Radisson Blu Park Hotel Athens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to President Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about President Hotel

Address: 43 Kifissias Leoforos, Athens 115 23, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #136 of 281 Hotels in Athens
Price Range: £42 - £827 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — President Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 516
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your President Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing