We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Greece....crisis strikes again”
Review of President Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
President Hotel
Ranked #138 of 281 Hotels in Athens
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We have arrived in this 4 stars (I don't know who is evaluating these things) and were detained long in the reception due to the presence of a trainee who didn't know how to use credit card reader (and this is accetable, since he was in training).
In the whole hotel there was a smell as if somone had left garbage.
Rooms small and old, with a moquette really dirty and the bathroom small. The shower didn't work. The fridge was empty and the wifi was only present in common areas.
I hope this is not one of the best hotel in Athens....otherwise Poor Greece.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mickbianco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,538)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

558 - 564 of 1,538 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

This place was very disappointing. The rooms small and old fashioned, and stinking of smoke (I think the Greeks have similar views about the smoking ban as they do about taxation!). Breakfast was rammed and poor quality....the queue just to get in was at least 15mins. Won't be coming back.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank Freddie199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I stayed at this hotel recently and I was quite happy with my experience.

The rooms were spacious and comfortable, the bathroom was big, clean and with all the needed amenities, beds very comfortable.

I unfortunately did not get to experience the pool as it was closed. This was the only disappointment.

The breakfast was fantastic, so much to choose from, great variety. From hot food to toast, fruit and vegetables.

Staff was friendly and helpful. And the look of the hotel from the inside was very impressive.

Location was ok, not the absolute best but for the price it is very decent. the metro was a 10 minute walk.

I would certainly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Top floor if you can, the noise level was not bad, I had no issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikkipie89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

I spent 4 nights here while attending a conference. The room was large, clean, and had good water pressure. Staff were nice and the breakfast was substantial. Location is nice. City views and not far (10 min) from a metro station. Recommended.

Room Tip: The higher you go, the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelibrarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Room and bathroom big and clean, beds very comfortable. Three stops on the metro from the centre of things and the metro very simple to navigate with a station 5 minutes walk from the hotel. Make sure you get a room high above the very busy, loud road outside. Breakfast poor quality and the "hot" option was very, very cold each of the 3 mornings of our stay. Staff efficient but the front desk staff and concierge seemed unable to smile - unlike everyone else we met in Athens who were fantastically friendly. The bar at the top of the 21 floors was pleasant with a great view. We booked this place because of the pool only to be told it wasn't open. Eventually we managed to get them to admit it would not be open for our entire stay because it wasn't warm enough. It was 23 degrees. Worth checking before you book. But all in all, good value for money - we paid £160 fB&B or 3 nights.

Room Tip: We were on the 18th floor and had to keep the windows closed because of the road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 186338Claire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Nice rooms, but two single beds pushed together instead of a double or queen size bed. Clean and quiet, very good breakfast. Only negative was that I was foolish enough to ask their front desk staff for a recommendation on where to find asome good burgers, assuming naively that Greeks made the best in the world. They sent us to a dive called "Goody's" and I was thoroughly embarassed for my family, as that is like a McDonald's. Totally gross. Next time, just follow Trip Advisor recommendations for food and ignore the staff/

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thebaron007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

First time in this hotel, and it was excellent for two reasons.

Firstly the comfort of the rooms and polite and helpful staff. Don't be put off by the exterior as inside the public areas are well appointed - with free WiFi - and the rooftop terrace and pool very comfortable, although for the pool we were "out of season". And an added, and unexpected, bonus - valet parking!

But the other reason is how they handled a problem. We had our rental car broken into and GPS stolen. At first we thought this had happened whilst the car was at the hotel. The duty manager was very responsive and explained very clearly how this could not have happened and what their night security staff ad reported when we returned one evening. In fact it had been stolen in town.

Sadly the true mark of any kind of service provider is how they respond when tings go wrong - in this case the President Hotel passed with flying colours.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BroughtonBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Stratos Vassilikos
#24 of 281 in Athens
610 reviews
Omonia
Titania Hotel
Titania Hotel
#88 of 281 in Athens
1,627 reviews
Stanley Hotel
#84 of 281 in Athens
1,608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Airotel Alexandros
#78 of 281 in Athens
523 reviews
Athens Zafolia Hotel
#74 of 281 in Athens
418 reviews
Exarchia
Radisson Blu Park Hotel Athens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to President Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about President Hotel

Address: 43 Kifissias Leoforos, Athens 115 23, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #138 of 281 Hotels in Athens
Price Range: £65 - £826 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — President Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 516
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your President Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing