We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money. Safe and Convenient location.”
Review of President Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
President Hotel
Ranked #134 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We stayed 5 nights with my wife in June 2014. The hotel is old but partially refurbished. eg some rooms have got old big TV sets while other have got LCDs. You can get good prices for the hotel if you look around different websites. We booked through hotelsclick.com and it was something like 75euros per night which was quite good for what you get. The rooms on the high floors have got a good view of the City of Athens. Ask for a room that has got a view to the Acropolis. The other sides have got a view over Ampelokipi suburb which is quite ugly. The hotel is 7mins walk to the closest metro station from where you can get everywhere in Athens. The area around the hotel is safe. Loads of bars and restaurants are within 10mins walk around Panormou metro station. These are bars and restaurants that the Greeks especially of young age go so the prices are not at all "touristic". If you have got a car then parking can be a little bit tricky as the Hotel's underground parking is being renovated and you have to chose between one of the private car parks around or park on the street which is alright late at night but very difficult during the day as the area has got a lot of shops and businesses. Wifi is free only around the reception area. In the rooms it costs something like 4euros for an hour and 10 for a day. The staff were professional neither rude or too friendly. Overall good experience. I would go again for the same kind of money.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank makarv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,510)
There are newer reviews for President Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

531 - 537 of 1,510 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2014

My husband and I stayed here on our first two nights of our honeymoon. The hotel itself is beautiful, but it is located far outside of where you want to be as a tourist. It is not near any restaurants or bars or anything fun.

Great breakfast, decent service, nice beds. I wouldn't stay here again though because of the distance to activities.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carlie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

I found this hotel on expedia for 115$ a night and booked it. Ones there we realized that we would need the room for an extra night ( had 5 needed 6) and went to the front desk to ask for the cost. The guy without a second thought tells me that the rate is 250€ per night. Approximately 320$. I returned to my room and looked again online and the same room was on sale for 95$ per night.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bolibol7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel is old and needs renovation. Bath tube had marks from usage although seemed fairly clean. We had a double room with only one bedside table. The staff was helpful with our needs and the view of the city was astonishing.
No free wifi into the rooms. We did not try the breakfast.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank EM_nosotros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

The President Hotel in Athens was probably 4 star in its heyday - perhaps the 60's - 80's. Its size (21 floors) and proximity to the american embassy help. However, the photos are a bit coy. Yes, the rooftop and lobby are nice, meeting rooms aplenty, and the views are superior above the 10th floor. But as with a hotel that once served the business class, you will find amenities are all extra. Wifi only in the lobby. Lounge chairs at the pool extra. Location not all that advantageous (metro a 10 min walk). Breakfast decent but geared to the legions of tour bus people that roll in. Bathrooms a little old, some odors, etc. So, its a lady keeping appearances but a little tired. A true four star view but not much else. Athens has many newer smaller boutique properties with more personal service.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank salve_sons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

A group of us joined our friends who were guests of the hotel and who were having a meal in the rooftop bar. We brought a cake to celebrate my friend's niece's 8th birthday and we were told we could not have the cake in the bar because we had not bought it there. Her little face was so disappointed after blowing out the candles!!! This is a terrible way to treat your guests who have come to your hotel to celebrate a family occasion.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mimi3383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Went there beginning of May when temperatures are not too high. Hotel is close to the Underground station, easy to get there from the airport. Helpful staff, I had a problem with the safe and the technician appeared in 10 minutes. Independent air conditioning is working fine; I assume it is vital during summer. It is about 25 minutes walk to the old town or it is possible to buy a day underground ticket and use the underground.
Room was clean, bathroom big and with bathtub.
Breakfast is included in the price; nothing fantastic but is sufficient to start a day.
The only drawback is the internet which is free everywhere except the room. To use it in the room you must pay and it is not cheap.
Overall impression positive. Will consider staying there if I am in Athens again.

Room Tip: High floor with the city side view
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 8PeteS8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Stratos Vassilikos
#25 of 282 in Athens
606 reviews
Stanley Hotel
#84 of 282 in Athens
1,581 reviews
Omonia
Titania Hotel
Titania Hotel
#90 of 282 in Athens
1,598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Athens Zafolia Hotel
#73 of 282 in Athens
411 reviews
Airotel Alexandros
#78 of 282 in Athens
517 reviews
Novotel Athenes
#56 of 282 in Athens
2,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to President Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about President Hotel

Address: 43 Kifissias Leoforos, Athens 115 23, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #134 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Price Range: £36 - £842 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — President Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 516
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your President Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing