We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel, great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Stratos Vassilikos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stratos Vassilikos
Ranked #32 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel, great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

I recently stayed in this hotel whilst on a business trip. We didn't arrive until late at night, but the staff were very welcoming and helpful.
The hotel is beautifully decorated. I had a surprisingly spacious room on the 3rd floor, which was very clean and had the most comfortable mattress that I've slept on away from home.
The breakfast was incredibly varied, with fresh fruit, pastries, cold meats, selection of cooked foods and a wide selection of drinks, including wine!
It is well located 5 mins walk from the metro and is about 30 mins walk from the centre of Athens. Taxis are incredibly reasonable in Athens, although the driving can be a bit hairy! We visited lots of lovely bars and restaurants within 10 mins walk of the hotel.
This really is a special place and I would highly recommend to anyone looking for a decently priced hotel in Athens.

Room Tip: My 3rd floor room was bigger than my colleague's first floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CatherineGrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    271
    90
    17
    3
See reviews for
94
184
36
163
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

The Stratos Vassilikos was a welcome place to land after a bad hotel in Mykonos. There are many positives - the rooms were clean, the food was good, the staff was friendly, and overall we had a great experience. For European hotels, which definitely don't have the comforts of the states, this was a higher end property in my opinion. Don't let the fabric walls in the lobby throw you off when you first walk in - really, fabric walls.

The only two critiques are: it is located about half a mile from the nearest metro, but a walk is always a good thing. The wifi is weak at best. This hotel is located in a residential area, so there are no restaurants, bars, or tourist activities of any kind. You will have to take the metro one stop to Syntagma Square to access the Plaka.

Metro tip from this hotel. To go to the action, go towards "Egaleo" and get off at Syntagma Square, or change lines later to go to the Acropolis. To get back to the Stratos, go towards "Airport" and get off at Megaro Missikis.

Room Tip: Higher floor is always better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GROUP-AIROTEL, Front Office Manager at Stratos Vassilikos, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear Joe S,

It is a great pleasure to hear that you had a pleasant stay at Airotel Stratos Vassilikos Hotel and we thank you for sharing this with the readers of the TripAdvisor website.
Your comments about the wifi connection have been already taken into serious consideration and the management is in the procees of restructuring the entire system (hardware and software), in order to achieve better connection and speed.
Regarding the area of the property, note that it is very close to Mavili square, where lots of bars and restaurants are located. Next time we recommend you to ask our reception staff about special hints and hot spots.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again at Airotel Stratos Vassilikos hotel.

Kind Regards,
Thodoris Evangelopoulos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

Don't get me wrong there is nothing wrong with this hotel and my stay there was fine. The room was a good size, clean, AC worked well, comp breakfast was cool and the huge bathroom I really enjoyed after being in the greek isles with much smaller bathrooms. So why the indifference than mainly because of the area that surrounds the hotel - its mainly residential apartments/condos with the exception of a few hospitals, the embassy, miscellaneous doctors offices, etc. Not a lot of restaurants or shops so if you come back from treking around Athens and don't feel like venturing back out from the hotel then you will be limited on your choices within walking distance. There is a metro station about a 5 - 7 minute walk from the hotel that connects you to the center of Athens within a couple of stops...that was nice. Like I said no real complaints and a decent stay. Oh yeah, they have free wifi in the lobby and in the room. I like free wifi. :-)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seetheworldgirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

This is a very comfortable hotel, in a great location.

Rooms are comfortable, mini bar is stocked and although a tad more expensive than bars is ok. Bathroom is excellent, well stocked, bath, shower.

Very friendly smiley, helpful checking staff.

Food was basic, but tasty and very well priced.

All in all a comfortable hotel, well priced and convenient. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steadmang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon
Level Contributor
66 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

I stayed at the Airotel Stratos Vassilikos for 3 nights in September, room 102. The hotel is about 20-25 minutes from the city centre (Syntagma Square), by metro (nearest station is Megaro Moussikis, 10 minutes walk from the hotel).

I found the 5 star rating exagerated, I think 4 star would be more suitable. Actually, the price I paid including breakfast is definitely in the 4 star range, so it's surely not a question of feeling it was a rip off, but one of lack of pampering one would expect from a 5 star. Nevertheless, not terribly important, considering I didn't spend much time in the room, I found the hotel confortable, clean and perfectly adequate.

Both check-in and check out were efficient and the staff was friendly and helpful, both at the reception and restaurant.

The room was spacious and comfortable, with a nice large bathroom, uninspiring view to the petrol station opposite the hotel. Despite being on the first floor, not much above street level, the room was quiet and well insulated, both to the outside and to the inside. Slippers were provided, no bathrobes, free of charge safe, trousers press available, nice amenities.

I attended a 3 days meeting held at the hotel. The conference room was very spacious, but it seemed there weren't enough tables for everybody, despite the space, which meant that 4 people had to squeeze to fit at each table.

The main issue seemed to be the WiFi connection. For residents, WiFi connection is provided free of charge, with login details given on check in. The connection in my room was excellent and hassle free. However, some colleagues staying in upper floors (3rd and 4th) said the connection was bad. In the conference room, on floor -1, it ranged from terribly bad to nonexistent. This was extremely annoying and a huge inconvenience. Maybe I was lucky because I stayed on a lower floor.

The WiFi connection is something that the hotel should definitely improve. This is essentially a business hotel, with facilities to host business events, it is unacceptable that the WiFi connection was so dodgy. In the meantime, I suggest you ask for a room on the lower floor, should you need to use the Internet.

Breakfast was OK, with enough variety; again, I dont think this was 5 star standard.

So, in summary, the hotel is OK for a few days stay, particularly if you have business at or around the Technical University of Athens. It presents good value for money, but you may have difficulties if you intend to do some work at the hotel using the Internet. Don't expect a 5 star service; otherwise, fine.

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank paulolisb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GROUP-AIROTEL, Front Office Manager at Stratos Vassilikos, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Stratos Vassilikos Hotel while travelling to Athens for business last month and for taking the time to share your comments. It is with pleasure that we learn that your stay was an enjoyable one and of your satisfaction with the level of service you received from most of our staff.
However, regretfully we have made note of the lapse in service you received regarding the wifi connection and we would like to apologise for the disappointment we may caused you. The issue that you pointed has been already taken care of.
Unfortunately, during the period of your stay, the wifi connection appeared to malfunction due to hardware problems, which have already been solved.
Once again, thank you for your valuable feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to Stratos Vassilikos Hotel on your next visit to Athens.

Kind Regards,

Thodoris Evangelopoulos
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Srinagar, India
Level Contributor
62 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

This is NOT a 4 or 5 star as is claimed.
its more like an upper three.
spacious rooms
good breakfast.
clean
good area but FAR from the station so location isn't that great.
Service a bit slow
but overall good stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kingjkhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GROUP-AIROTEL, Front Office Manager at Stratos Vassilikos, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the entire team of Stratos Vassilikos Hotel, we would like to thank you for your feedback on our hotel.
Every observation is extremely valuable and helpful to us, in order to improve our services and be able to meet our guests expectations.
Once again, thank you for sharing your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Athens.

Kind Regards,

Thodoris Evangelopoulos
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

The hotel is great value for money! Room was light, spaciuos and clean. Staff very friendly and helpful. They willingly helped to arrange car rental for us. The location is not bad, although it is not in the very center.
Nice breakfast with variaety of dishes. I would definitely reccomend it!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elene T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Exarchia
Melia Athens
Melia Athens
#35 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,821 reviews
Airotel Alexandros
#91 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
Golden Age Hotel Athens
#53 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Exarchia
Areos Hotel
Areos Hotel
#20 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
Athinais Hotel
#63 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Omonia
Polis Grand Hotel
Polis Grand Hotel
#43 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stratos Vassilikos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stratos Vassilikos

Property: Stratos Vassilikos
Address: 114 Michalakopoulou, Athens 115 27, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#26 Business Hotel in Athens
#36 Family Hotel in Athens
#47 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Stratos Vassilikos 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new, unconventional proposal for those who seek something different in the center of Athens is the fully renovated hotel STRATOS VASSILIKOS. In the intensity of impressionism and hyperrealism, the totally renovated hotel unit is now in position to offer to the guest the emotional uplift and euphoria in combination with the coverage of his demands, in a place that combines harmonically the floral style with the frugality and relaxing mood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Bookgreece.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stratos Vassilikos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airotel Stratos Vassilikos Athens
Airotel Stratos Vassilikos Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing