We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best breakfast on the planet bar none”
Review of Stratos Vassilikos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Stratos Vassilikos
Ranked #29 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Yiwu, China
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“The best breakfast on the planet bar none”
Reviewed 1 January 2014

On my honey moon I was here for the first 2 days and loved every second. The neighborhood is great and I live in china so chicky burger across the street was awesome it's red robin caliber burgers and variety. It's about a ten minute walk to the subway. I spent the last part of my honey moon in the plaka and I deeply regret it. It's great being in the plaka and I wanted my honeymoon to go perfect but I would just of stayed here. I have eaten the best breakfast buffets in the world bar none best breakfast buffet

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    281
    94
    17
    3
See reviews for
97
193
37
164
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights, staff polite and helpful, good location, nice rooms, fair pricing for the room, breakfast adequate, good choice for the city of Athens price quality location wise. The hotel is located on a busy road which means some noise maybe depending on the room but good access to mass transport and easy to find if a tourist on the city

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Stathis A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Rooms are a bit old,large and clean, breakfast is excellent, staff is helpful - but wi-fi is terrible. Unusable ! Rooms facing main street are very noisy. I could not sleep at all first night, I had to change room. If you need internet access in the evening - avoid this hotel ! If you do not need internet - hotel is OK. Be aware also, some taxi drivers in Athens will try to cheat you even if they are from official taxi service called from hotel. I had very bad experience. I took the same route each day, sometimes price was doubled !!!

Room Tip: Ask for room not facing main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bv666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GROUP-AIROTEL, Front Office Manager at Stratos Vassilikos, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear bv666,
Thank you for staying at the Airotel Stratos Vassilikos Hotel while travelling to Athens for business and for taking the time to share your comments. It is with pleasure that we learn that your stay was an enjoyable one and of your satisfaction with the level of service you received from most of our staff.
Concerning the wifi, the hotel is in the process of restructuring the entire system (hardware and software) in order to achieve better connection and speed.
Regarding taxi charges : The company the hotel cooperates with is very reliable and we have never had any problem with the charges. Sometimes depending on the traffic charges might be higher than normal. In any case, your complaint has been brought to the attention of the management of the taxi company in order to further investigate the incident.
Once again, thank you for your valuable feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Airotel Stratos Vassilikos Hotel on your next visit to Athens.

Kind Regards,
Theodoros Evangelopoulos
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
larissa
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Excellent excellent causy hotel in Athens. Although we have stayed in several hotels in Athens and although The Hilton is a gold standard this hotel is friendly, quite, beautiful, nice staff, family friendly, clean etc etc and has NO DISADVANTAGE that makes it always a great choise. Nice breakfast with variety of coffee to chose and also nice menu for dining : our daughter really enjoyed the chicken soup..As for the room we had a three-bed room which was really spacious with spacious bathroom and spacious verandah. The matress was excellent and the main bed was queen size really enormous, could sleep 3 persons comfortably... Generally we always feel at home in this hotel. Ok only one thing you have to take a little walk to reach the metro station but taxis are cheap enough..

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodland, California
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Stratos Vassilikos while visiting Athens in September. The hotel is quite far from the main attractions and sites of Athens, but it is about a ten minute walk to the metro station. We took the metro everyday, sometimes twice a day, and it was very convenient. The hotel itself is nice, just average. The staff was helpful. We were annoyed with the fact that they would not provide us an iron for our clothes. If we wanted wrinkle-free garments, we would have to use their laundry service, which was outrageously priced (6E per shirt!). The room was again, average, but it was clean and modern. The bathroom was large and allowed us both to get ready at the same time. We were given a great Greek breafast buffet every morning, which was delicious. If we were to return to Athens, we would definitely try to stay closer to the action, but this hotel was okay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GROUP-AIROTEL, Front Office Manager at Stratos Vassilikos, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear MeganL,

Thank you for your review written on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to hear that in general your stay with us was enjoyable.
Concerning your comments about the laundry service, we would like to inform you that for safety reasons, the hotel avoids to provide irons to its guests - thus laundry service is available. The price for ironing a shirt is 3euros and not 6 euros.
Additionally, there is a trouser press in every room.
We look forward to welcoming you back for a future stay in Airotel Stratos Vassilikos Hotel.

Kind Regards,

Theodoros Evangelopoulos
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

I recently stayed in this hotel whilst on a business trip. We didn't arrive until late at night, but the staff were very welcoming and helpful.
The hotel is beautifully decorated. I had a surprisingly spacious room on the 3rd floor, which was very clean and had the most comfortable mattress that I've slept on away from home.
The breakfast was incredibly varied, with fresh fruit, pastries, cold meats, selection of cooked foods and a wide selection of drinks, including wine!
It is well located 5 mins walk from the metro and is about 30 mins walk from the centre of Athens. Taxis are incredibly reasonable in Athens, although the driving can be a bit hairy! We visited lots of lovely bars and restaurants within 10 mins walk of the hotel.
This really is a special place and I would highly recommend to anyone looking for a decently priced hotel in Athens.

Room Tip: My 3rd floor room was bigger than my colleague's first floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CatherineGrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

The Stratos Vassilikos was a welcome place to land after a bad hotel in Mykonos. There are many positives - the rooms were clean, the food was good, the staff was friendly, and overall we had a great experience. For European hotels, which definitely don't have the comforts of the states, this was a higher end property in my opinion. Don't let the fabric walls in the lobby throw you off when you first walk in - really, fabric walls.

The only two critiques are: it is located about half a mile from the nearest metro, but a walk is always a good thing. The wifi is weak at best. This hotel is located in a residential area, so there are no restaurants, bars, or tourist activities of any kind. You will have to take the metro one stop to Syntagma Square to access the Plaka.

Metro tip from this hotel. To go to the action, go towards "Egaleo" and get off at Syntagma Square, or change lines later to go to the Acropolis. To get back to the Stratos, go towards "Airport" and get off at Megaro Missikis.

Room Tip: Higher floor is always better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GROUP-AIROTEL, Front Office Manager at Stratos Vassilikos, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear Joe S,

It is a great pleasure to hear that you had a pleasant stay at Airotel Stratos Vassilikos Hotel and we thank you for sharing this with the readers of the TripAdvisor website.
Your comments about the wifi connection have been already taken into serious consideration and the management is in the procees of restructuring the entire system (hardware and software), in order to achieve better connection and speed.
Regarding the area of the property, note that it is very close to Mavili square, where lots of bars and restaurants are located. Next time we recommend you to ask our reception staff about special hints and hot spots.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again at Airotel Stratos Vassilikos hotel.

Kind Regards,
Thodoris Evangelopoulos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Golden Age Hotel Athens
#47 of 326 in Athens
664 reviews
Airotel Alexandros
#85 of 326 in Athens
501 reviews
Exarchia
Areos Hotel
Areos Hotel
#25 of 326 in Athens
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Omonia
Athens Center Square
Athens Center Square
#24 of 326 in Athens
1,324 reviews
Y Hotel
#1 of 10 in Kifisia
297 reviews
Omonia
Polis Grand Hotel
Polis Grand Hotel
#46 of 326 in Athens
841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stratos Vassilikos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stratos Vassilikos

Property: Stratos Vassilikos
Address: 114 Michalakopoulou, Athens 115 27, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#26 Business Hotel in Athens
#36 Family Hotel in Athens
#47 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Stratos Vassilikos 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new, unconventional proposal for those who seek something different in the center of Athens is the fully renovated hotel STRATOS VASSILIKOS. In the intensity of impressionism and hyperrealism, the totally renovated hotel unit is now in position to offer to the guest the emotional uplift and euphoria in combination with the coverage of his demands, in a place that combines harmonically the floral style with the frugality and relaxing mood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Bookgreece.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Stratos Vassilikos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airotel Stratos Vassilikos Athens
Airotel Stratos Vassilikos Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing