We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stratos Vassilikos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Stratos Vassilikos
Ranked #32 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Pleasant Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

We stayed in this hotel as a famly of four and had an overall pleasant experience. The concierge was very courteous and happily arranged a small breakfast for us when we had to leave at 4 AM to catch an early flight. The normal breakfast is incredible

The rooms themselves leave a little bit to desired - and we had some issues in particular with the noise transferring between rooms. The walls are a bit thin and we lost some sleep when a group of rowdy athletes were staying next door.

The hotel itself is a little bit far from the center of Athens, but it is about a 30-40 minute walk to Syntagma via the main roads. You can also easily walk to two different Metro stations.

Overall, it was a pleasant stay and we would go back again!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank xiadane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    268
    90
    17
    3
See reviews for
94
182
36
160
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Valletta, Malta
Level Contributor
117 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

This rather small hotel is of a very good standard. It's not bang in the centre but not far and close to a metro station and and to the airport bus stop. The rooms are reasonable and clean, and the staff are friendly and helpful. Breakfast is also of a good standard with both continental and Greek stuff. I would recommend it for a short holiday or a short business trip to Athens.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JonP64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

Very nice hotel, but you can see that in some parts they stayed back in time - some final touches could be improved. Otherwise, very nice, very clean, I loved because the sheets and towels smell so good. The junior sweet was nice, a lot of space. The staff is very friendly and helpful. We left very early in the morning around 5.30 am and they prepared a breakfast lunch box for us.

Room Tip: As for the room at the back side of the hotel, it is much quiety than on the front side where the ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeggyPot P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

*Booking was made for 3 people however after check-in we have found that only two cups, two glasses and two pairs of slippers were placed in the room. After I came down to reception to ask for cup, glass and slippers I was told that they will be brought immediately. Requested items were delivered after 30 minutes unfortunately he forgot slippers and had to come once again with the slippers.
Sauna is a fraud, when we were told it will be ready in 30 minutes and came down to sauna we found it to be at 20 degrees of Celsium, (outside temperature on the day was 16 degrees of Celsium). After checking with reception is it really ready and getting answer that it is ready we tried to use it but temperature never rose above 40 degrees of Celsium. Just for the record optimum temperature of sauna is supposed to be around 70degrees of Celsium.
*Bathroom mirror lights: supposed to be three same coloured on the arrival one was not working, one was white coloured and another yellow coloured. Seing apathy of the staff while executing first requests decided to wait and see what is going to happen with the lights. On the fourth day finally somebody fixed not working light and replaced it with another yellow. (Still having two coloured lights).
Jacuzzi shower - doors cannot be closed properly, any use of it may result in flooding in addition to this only main shower head is working, and propably have never been descaled. After first use and seeing water running out on the floor never used it again.
*Extra pillow in the wardrobe- very nice gesture, however person cleaning room on the third day removed it from the bed removed it from the pillow case and put it back in the wardrobe without pillowcase.

*One of the days towels were left on the luggage rack in the living room and not in the bathroom. I was forced to walk around dripping wet looking where towels were placed.

*Wall at the right bottom corner by the door going from living room to bathroom - parget and paint is fallen of the wall, real eyesore for hotel who claims to be 5stars.

*Cockroaches inside the room - on last evening we spotted a cockroach inside the room, we managed to kill it with the slipper and took it downstairs to reception to report the pest problem. All that we were offered maid to be sent to hoover the floor. Maid with hoover is not going to help you need a pest control in there.

*On 18th of January before check out around 10:30 maid walked into the room without even bothering to knock.

And from positive things experienced in your hotel I can name only two: best beds ever, and breakfast waiter Kostas who was always pleasent and polite and provided 5star service as the hotel claims to have.

As you can see from the points mentioned above negative things experienced throught our stay outweights heavily positive things i feel that hotel was not 5stars as it claims to say on the door, and not even 4stars as shown at booking.com making it look quite below the average. I do not feel that 398.63 Euros for 5 nights is a correct value for money

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlgirdasT1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GROUP-AIROTEL, Front Office Manager at Stratos Vassilikos, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Algirdas T1,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback after staying in Airotel Stratos Vassilikos Hotel.

We are sorry to read that your stay was not as pleasant as we would like it to be.
Kindly note that all your comments have been taken into consideration, shared with our staff and all necessary actions have been already taken, in order to ameliorate any problematic areas.

Hope to be able to welcome you again in our hotel, in order to prove that our services are like the ones Kostas provided.

KInd Regards,

Theodoros Evangelopoulos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

This hotel is a few minutes walk from the Megaro Mousikis train station or X95 bus stop if traveling from the Airport. The staff are extremely friendly and the service impeccable. The room was convenient except for the central heating - got really hot in the night and there was no way of adjusting the temperature. This was the only set back. The breakfast was good and we were even given a packed breakfast as we had to leave early to catch our ferry - very thoughtful and kind. Good hotel and definitely good value for money.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank archana b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

A very good hotel in a very nice and relatively quiet area. It is near the Athens Concert Hall and the subway station. Everything a traveller needs is nearby. Clean and tasteful rooms with windows. Nice breakfast. The hotel also has a restaurant. Hospitable, friendly and helpful personnel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Antonia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

The hotel is situated between two metro stations in a nice location and a 20 minutes walk from Syntagma square. Rooms as well as the bathroom are clean, spacious and fairly priced, and the staff is very polite. Free wi-fi access was available and the greek breakfast served was exquisite.
The lack of a balcony was not really an issue, although the lack of abundant sun light might be a problem for some. Finally, the air ducts of the air conditioning system are unfortunately good conduits for sounds and voices from other rooms.All in all a very good choice.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgios M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Exarchia
Melia Athens
Melia Athens
#33 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,799 reviews
Airotel Alexandros
#92 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Golden Age Hotel Athens
#49 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Athinais Hotel
#64 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Exarchia
Areos Hotel
Areos Hotel
#19 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
Divani Caravel Hotel
#48 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stratos Vassilikos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stratos Vassilikos

Property: Stratos Vassilikos
Address: 114 Michalakopoulou, Athens 11527, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#26 Business Hotel in Athens
#36 Family Hotel in Athens
#47 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Stratos Vassilikos 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new, unconventional proposal for those who seek something different in the center of Athens is the fully renovated hotel STRATOS VASSILIKOS. In the intensity of impressionism and hyperrealism, the totally renovated hotel unit is now in position to offer to the guest the emotional uplift and euphoria in combination with the coverage of his demands, in a place that combines harmonically the floral style with the frugality and relaxing mood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Southall Travel so you can book your Stratos Vassilikos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airotel Stratos Vassilikos Athens
Airotel Stratos Vassilikos Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing