We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable price, great location; a good base for the sights of Athens”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Carolina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Carolina
Ranked #164 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Cardiff
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Reasonable price, great location; a good base for the sights of Athens”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2011

Large, simply but adequately furnished, room. The first three nights of our stay we had a room with an Acropolis-view but this was not available for the last night so we had to move to a standard double; we were happy to do this as we didn't feel the view (as shown in the accompanying photo) was worth the extra charge. The continental buffet breakfast was good (bread, cake, cheese, meats, fruit and yoghurt, tea and coffee). The location is excellent, a five minute walk from the Monastiraki metro station and ten minutes from Syntagma Square.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 80shilling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    74
    52
    23
    20
See reviews for
26
93
28
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2011

We stayed in the Hotel Carolina for four nights, the first of which was in a room with a balcony overlooking the street. It was very small and pretty nondescript, but it was clean and comfortable enough.

The second night we moved to room of the rooftop garden rooms, with a "view of the Acropolis." OK, I'll give them the "rooftop garden" part, there were lots of potted trees and plants, but ACROPOLIS VIEW? The only way you could see the Acropolis was if you went to the other end of the roof and looked back between other buildings, and then you could sort of see the Acropolis. Making that claim is a bit of an exaggeration, to say the least! Also, be aware that if you do stay in one of the rooftop garden rooms, the elevator only goes to the fourth (US) floor, so you'll have to carry your bags up a flight of stairs.

Still, the price seemed fair and the location was good for seeing all of the major sights. The staff was friendly and helpful, the included breakfast was decent, and the free wi-fi was excellent!

Would I stay there again? Sure, if I couldn't find anything better at the same price, which is not likely to happen. It's a good hotel, just don't expect an Acropolis view!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MayDayKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2011

Firstly.. I was extremely annoyed to discover by barking on the next room that this place allows animals. Worse of all, the room had a terrible smell, which funny enough I thought it was my shoes that might have stepped on something on the street. When I found out about the hotel also being a kennel I put 2 and 2 together and realised it was dog dropping smell.
The place I am told gets fumigated only 1 a month.. so if you get itchy bites you will know why!!
It is a disgrace that they do not clearly state this on Tripadvisor.
Secondly: The rooms are dated and dark. Claims of a Minibar ?? is that what an empty fridge is called now?
Thirdly: Breakfast is very poor. All layed out the night before.. just touch the bread and the ends and you will soon figure it out.
Fouthly: Location.. while it is fairy central, it is not that great.. and to get to the acropolis is a good 15-20 min walk.. really!! some of the people in this reviews must have jet packs to get there to say it is a short walk..
I would NEVER have stayed there, knowing they allowed flea infested animals. yuck!!

Room Tip: One without a barking dog in the next room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Albertito65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Athens hotels

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2011

We stayed at Carolina in Athens for 2 nights (23 & 24 Apr 2011) before moving on to Pireaus. Our impression of the room and the hotel in general is that it's old but well maintained. The toilets seemed to be newly refurbished and are in good working condition. Hot shower works well. The room is very small and the furniture eg. the wardrobe and desk are old, the bed small, and although there was a fairly large balcony, the view was pathetic. It basically faces the ugly back of old rundown apartments. The location of Carolina though may not be the most ideal but still remains very near to all key attractions. It's about 10 minutes walking distance to Plaka and its surrounding restaurants, Ermou the shopping street and just further away, Syntagma Square. The best feature of our stay though is that the free wifi works perfectly well keeping us occupied during the nights when there was really nothing much to watch on Greece TV. If we were to go Athens again, I'll surely stay at the Plaka Hotel which we had a chance to pass by on our way to Plaka and also the view of the Acropolis from their rooftop terrace was terrific !

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jtham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2011

A charming hotel in Athens at a good price! The room and bathroom were both small, but clean and perfectly adequate. We enjoyed the balcony at night. The staff was friendly and helpful. They provided an area for luggage storage and guests could use a computer with internet access. They had a great breakfast each morning, which was included. We only stayed here a couple of nights and later at another "more American" type hotel...I wished I back at Hotel Carolina for its charm, as the other hotel was lacking character entirely.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bingochips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
73 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2011

The loaction is ideal, the price was good, adequate breakfast, clean & comfortable. Although the street was quite busy at times it wasn't really noticable once the doors were closed, good double glazing.
Free internet was a bonus, the staff were helpful & friendly. My room was fine for a single, no opportunity to view others, & it was well equipped for a budget hotel, aircon/heating, TV, fridge, hairdryer, safe, tea & coffee making facilities & bathroom toiletries all supplied in the price.
The only downside is that noise from the reception (the 2 nightstaff, or 1 staff & friend, chatting & laughing loudly) could be heard in my room as the hotel is all uncarpeted & everything echoes up the central stairwell. This wasn't for long though & all was soon quiet again.
I love the old lift!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yiassas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thessaloniki
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2011

I stayed for christmas 2010 in Carolina Hotel being on a small break away from home. The room type i chose was the superior double, a wonderful spacious room with acropolis view and balcony. The room was quiet enough with a lot of amenities such us complimentary tea/coffee facilities and safe deposit. Furthermore, there was free wifi as well with excellent signal. Breakfast was buffet style, complimentary as well. All in all, i recommend this hotel as it offers good prices, clean rooms and excellent location!!! I am really happy and I think I will always choose this hotel for all my trips to Athens for any reasons!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VictoriaS_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Kimon Athens Hotel
Kimon Athens Hotel
#75 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Monastiraki
Hotel Tempi
Hotel Tempi
#126 of 325 in Athens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Plaka
Hotel Nefeli
Hotel Nefeli
#117 of 325 in Athens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Psirri / Gazi
Cecil Hotel
Cecil Hotel
#149 of 325 in Athens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Plaka
Adams Hotel
Adams Hotel
#102 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Plaka
Pan Hotel
Pan Hotel
#67 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carolina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carolina

Property: Hotel Carolina
Address: 55 Kolokotroni, Athens 105 60, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #164 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Carolina 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Bookgreece.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Carolina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carolina Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing