We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, ok hotel”
Review of Hotel Carolina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Carolina
Ranked #154 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Lafayette, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great location, ok hotel”
Reviewed 7 December 2011

They are not kidding when people describe it as "functional"--our room was very very basic, with zero atmosphere or decor. Beds were very very hard (but so were all the other beds we slept on in Greece). On the other hand, the staff were friendly, the breakfast was great, and the location can't be beat--we walked everywhere with kids in tow and never had to set foot on the subway.

It is also very hard to find a hotel in Europe that will fit four people in one room, so we were happy to find one that was reasonably priced--usually your only option is a 5 star far away from all the attractions.

It is quite difficult to find, so if you are arriving at Syntagma from the airport bus/subway, I would still recommend getting a taxi to take you. It will be a 2 minute drive, but beats wandering the streets for a hour trying to find it. After you know where it is, it's very convenient.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 80diapers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    78
    55
    24
    20
See reviews for
26
95
30
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2011

We stayed here two nights before a cruise and came back for two nights after. We found the location excellent, free wifi was great and breakfast good. Our shower in both rooms had a little drainage issue but nothing too bad. Our room backed onto some kind of theatre or pub or something very noisey on sat night. We didn't have a view but the rooms were clean, cheap and comfortable. I would definatly stay again and definatly reccommend

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Casey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redondo Beach, California
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2011

Spent three nights at the Carolina, very clean, free WiFi and good continental breakfast. Noisy as many clients arrive and depart at all hours and the hotel is an old building, clean and well maintained. If you want to be in central Athens, close to Metro stations, one in Monastiraki at 5 minutes walk, second in Syntagma square 10 minutes, then it will be a good choice. Having meetings in the area was right for me and the price affordable.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stella_sl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

On the basis of description and pictures on the website we thought we had booked a quiet room on the top floor, with two big glass doors and a spacious terrace with chairs and a table overlooking the Acropolis. But no ...... this is what we got ..... http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xlokswc4Nw0

Room Tip: Location is ok, so just bring your ear plugs and go for the cheapest room. And if you want to have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank veeeeerydisappointed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Athens hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Lahore, Pakistan
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2011

Spent one night in athens at this lovely hotel.
the location is amazing if you want to stay in the centre close to or within the hustle and bustle of athens. its two minutes walking from the monastiraki metro station from where the metro takes you straight to the airport. it is also where the flea market is and a five minute walk is the plaka area which is a charming bazaar of handicrafts jewelry and other touristy goods amongst many cute little eateries and restaurants.
the staff are friendly and cheerful. the breakfast was pretty good: the basic fare plus eggs.
prices in this part of athens are generally high but i found this hotel to be a very good deal. definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zanoobles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2011

This Hotel was perfectly located and close to all the main attractions in Athens. We reached it easily from the closest subway stations (Monistiraki) and walked to all the venues we visited during our stay. The room was more spacious than we thought, clean and recently updated, but the bed cover looked like it had been used for century!! Our room was on the 4th floor and had a balcony with a view on the Acropolis and were not bothered by any traffic noise at all. The breakfast was also excellent as was the wireless internet connection which is not common in Europe (well, at least not in Greece). We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Canadian_Montreal12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peoria
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2011

My wife & I picked this hotel because of its ratings on Trip Advisor & hotels.com (85% positive) and its rates and I wasn't disappointed. I got a very good rate because it was one of the smaller rooms & without a view (disclosed in the offering). In retrospect, I was just as glad, because I suspect the street side rooms might have had some street noise and the view wasn't really anything but a narrow one-way street with rooftops and storefronts. I found the location exceptional, one block from the edge of the tourist oriented Plaka, in the sector where the shopping for actual residents of Athens begins, around the corner from the 1 Euro store (like a Dollar Store). It did mean that all of the stores closed early on the hotel's street, so that it seemed a bit lonely till we rounded the corner a dozen meters from the entrance, were there was one of the many sidewalk tavernas and a half block more to the eternally lively Plaka.
This was one of the cleanest hotels I've ever been in. The paint was fresh, and even the grout in the very small bathroom was meticulously clean, not a grey spot anywhere, and the baseboards were likewise spotless, as was the ceiling trim. I'm not usually too finicky with such things as I look for bargains in large cities where most accommodations are unaffordable and easily accept some compromises. I'm usually happy with faded elegance. However, the only compromise was the size of the room, which for a large city wasn't really that bad either - I've certainly had smaller in big European cities.
The breakfast was very good - more than adequate and more than I expected. Some more fruit selections besides peaches would have been nice, but at least there was some fruit, and of course, there was that fine Greek yogurt, and cereals, cold cuts and breads.

The air conditioner was very quiet and well up to the job of keeping a room in Athens comfortable in the summer, a feature that's been problematic in the past for me in economy hotels.

The staff were all very helpful with advice. The first night I called the desk about how to use the room safe, and they had a staff member up shortly who eventually, after trying to repair it, replaced it - all this at 10 at night. The photos of the room speak for themselves; this is a small room in an economy hotel, but exceeded expectations. If I return to Athens, this is where I'll stay!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sschafer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Monastiraki
Hotel Tempi
Hotel Tempi
#125 of 326 in Athens
370 reviews
Plaka
Hotel Nefeli
Hotel Nefeli
#126 of 326 in Athens
232 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
Attalos Hotel
Attalos Hotel
#31 of 326 in Athens
1,842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Hotel Acropolis House
Hotel Acropolis House
#90 of 326 in Athens
476 reviews
Plaka
Athos Hotel
Athos Hotel
#124 of 326 in Athens
174 reviews
Plaka
Kimon Athens Hotel
Kimon Athens Hotel
#74 of 326 in Athens
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carolina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carolina

Property: Hotel Carolina
Address: 55 Kolokotroni, Athens 105 60, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #154 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Carolina 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Bookgreece.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Carolina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carolina Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing