We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly and clean, very good location”
Review of Hotel Carolina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Carolina
Ranked #121 of 281 Hotels in Athens
Reviewed 4 June 2013

I checked in this hotel after a bad experience in another hotel in Athens. The owner and all the other people working in reception etc. were very friendly and helpfull. Room was very good, not big but nice and clean and with good beds and bathroom, and a nice balcony.
Location is very good, in a nice, safe and lively area with lots of restaurants and shops, and 10 minutes on foot from monesteriki metro station, plaka etc. very good value for a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelerfromams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (223)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 223 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2013

No problems with this place. As title suggests, we were happy with what we paid for. Cannot comment on breakfast. Staff were always friendly. The hotel is very central, 5 mins from metro, 10 mins from Acropolis.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013

Upon arriving at this hotel, I was immediately disappointed. The hallways were dark, the rooms stange smelling, and the shower needing maintenance. For the price we paid, it was not acceptable and the picture is inaccurate.
We stayed in another hotel in Athens for the same price that was considerably better.
The location is convenient however. If you are looking for a place that is near to local nighttime spots, they are plentiful all around the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnnieO222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

I always end up staying here -before and coming back- from the Islands, cause it’s just simply the best place for a reasonable price! Monastiraki is very close by and all the interesting sights in Athens are on a walking distance. If you like to hang out in the bars in Briki , it’s only a couple of blocks away!

Considering the price, standard is really good. I´ve always had a great experience staying at the Carolina! Rooms are clean, staff are ok and the reception is open 24h. Try to get a room with balcony or use the terrace on the roof! The rooms are small, be prepared!

Anyone that know of a better hotel in the same location and for the same price are very welcome to pass on that information :) !

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank missouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2013

Hotel staff very nice. free wifi. rooms were very basic but clean. shower took a little getting use to. good location close to all atractions and bus from airport. breakfast was so so, peolpe were reaving about it but don't know if they changed it or what.

Room Tip: we did get room with slight view of acropolis
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ken p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

I had a lot of difficulty finding this hotel as it is located in the many alleyways of greece. It took us an hour to find it and after becoming familiar with the area, it took us 10 minutes! I came with family and somehow overshot my expectations. Check in was speedy, however, when arriving to the room, the food was literally hanging on its hinges. It wouldn't surprise me if the door had fallen off any second! The room was big enough for 1 and there were 3 of us staying in the room.

The hotel provided breakfast daily, but it was nothing spectacular and only consisted of bread, cheese, ham and extremely dry hard boiled eggs in a basket. I would have at least expected some sort of hot breakfast. The dining area was tiny probably big enough for 10 people and there were 20 of us cramming for seats and zig zagging out way through obstacles.

Considering the room rate, I should not be complaining but the advertising was a little bit misleading.

I diverted from my loyalty to Accor to try something new, but after this stay, I have firmly decided that I will no longer deviate from Accor. This hotel is more for the budget traveller than the family man on vacation.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dawsonr767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

I chose this hotel because I needed something not far from Syntagma just for one night. The description and the pictures looked nice, and they promised tea&coffee maker in each room - as I like to have my chamomile in the evening, it was decided.
On arrival I haven't found any kettle or anything for making tea in the room - and the reception girl told me they don't have it anymore! She even didn't excused. The room also doesn't look as nice as on the hotel photos. It's clean but very small and quite shabby. In some lusters there are no lamps, the safe-deposit box and fridge do not work, the balcony is dirty, there are even butts from previous clients... The view is awful.
The window goes on Kolokotroni street which is dubious and dirty. Be aware - it looks quite but there's a bar next door to the hotel - so you won't sleep till late at night. The room door also isn't sound-proofing at all.
The breakfast is very-very poor, nothing hot, even the eggs are cold.
There is a wi-fi in the hotel, sometimes it works, sometimes not.
So next time I'd better pay ten euro more but live is more pleasant surroundings.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Belo4ka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Hotel Nefeli
Hotel Nefeli
#112 of 281 in Athens
237 reviews
Monastiraki
Hotel Tempi
Hotel Tempi
#109 of 281 in Athens
385 reviews
Plaka
Hotel Acropolis House
Hotel Acropolis House
#80 of 281 in Athens
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Psirri / Gazi
Cecil Hotel
Cecil Hotel
#124 of 281 in Athens
370 reviews
Plaka
Adams Hotel
Adams Hotel
#87 of 281 in Athens
259 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Metropolis
Hotel Metropolis
#45 of 281 in Athens
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carolina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carolina

Address: 55 Kolokotroni, Athens 105 60, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #121 of 281 Hotels in Athens
Price Range: £43 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Carolina 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Carolina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carolina Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing