We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ruined my stay in Athens - disgusting room, rude staffs” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Tempi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Tempi
Ranked #120 of 325 Hotels in Athens
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Ruined my stay in Athens - disgusting room, rude staffs”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Room is disgusting with stinks in bed, pillows, toilet, shower. It's completely not how it was looked from the pictures they showed. Location - it is really not that close to acropolis.. You need to walk for at least 20 minutes uphills and stairs to get there under the sun. The hotel owner also has serious attitude problem. My fiancée and I requested an early checked in, so we checked into the room at 9am. The next morning according to the hotel policies, check out time is 12pm. However, the hotel owner came into our room at 10:50am, knocking at the door yelling asking us to leave. He went nuts and screamed at us saying that we stayed in the room for 26 hours. It was ridiculous how he didn't communicate with us in advance to create this argument. When we explained to him that he should have told us earlier and asked him to calm down, he blamed us blaming him, continue yelling and being so sarcastic. This is not a biased review because of the owner as I would recommend anyone not to stay here because of the quality. Honestly why don't you stay in hostel rather than this disgusting so-called "hotel" with no hotel services while you still need to bear the owner's attitude?

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank VacationProf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yiannis K, Manager at Hotel Tempi, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Sir / Mam, I would like thank you for your stay and express my disappointment for
reading this kind of review.

From the hotels point of view I would like to state the following

1) The acropolis in on a hill witch makes it impossible to avoid a uphill walk and stairs
towards it, it is approx. a 20 minute walk from Tempi and we also have half rooms with
acropolis view !

2) The room is cleaned with authorized cleaning products and combined frequent checks
from my side to have in order as cleaning and customer support is key for our right operation.

3) Regarding the check- in and check-out, the day of check-in we suggested to you 2 different
rooms, the first room you would check-in at 12.00 and for the second you could check-in at the
time you arrived (9am) but that we would need the room the next day at 11.00 for the reason
that we where waiting for a elder couple that could not stay on higher floor. You preferred the
room with early check-in and the next day our cleaning lady knocked room door at 10.50 and
you did not answer twice so I knocked once more then you answered unfortunately you did not
show the corporation and understanding for this special case even though it was pre-agreed.

4) This is a family business and we always try our best for our customers satisfaction

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    124
    92
    30
    36
See reviews for
40
140
47
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
91 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Was right in the center of Athens,,,,,,,,,walking distance from subway.....I walked to many sites...staff was friendly and helpful............keep in mind its a budget hotel........walk up, no elevators, some rooms have shared bath in the hall.......no phone in the room....A/C,,that makes the room cool, not cold,,,,,,,clean bathrooms and clean room,,,,,,,,,,my room was quiet....right next to bars, café and resturants...........If your wife or girlfriend is fussy,,,,,,,,she will not like it her....I stayed here solo for four nights........tip:ask for a room on the lower floors.....unless you need the excrise..walking stairs..........TiP: go to the AKROPOLIS first!,( 8-9AM is best) because your ticket is also good for 5 or six other sites for the next four days!,.....Tip: use the metro from the airport, easy to use and cost a LOT less than a taxi ( unless someone else is paying the bill)

Room Tip: ask for a room on the lower floors!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blacksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
178 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

We got a small room with a shared bathroom and it's pretty simple, but clean enough. There is a small sink inside the bathroom, which is really helpful. The shared bathroom and shower were very clean.

The location is amazing. Right in the Plaka neighborhood, near to the "Souvlaki street", 10-min walk to Syntagma Square, and a 20-min (?) walk to the Acropolis. Restaurants and bars abound. Actually, we have to close our balcony door to be able to sleep because there are lots of bars in the street underneath us.

Make sure you request a room with a balcony. We can see the Acropolis from ours!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

I stayed for 3 nights at tempi. The accommodations are modest, but pleasant. I found the staff to be very friendly, including the manager- contrary to other reviews. I think if you are polite, and manage your expectations you will be happy. This is pretty much a hostel. Free wifi, great location, helpful staff. I had a great time. There is also an air conditioner in each room, which is essential in Athens. You are in the monastiracki region, in the midst of shops and cafes. A short walk I the hip plaka area. I was there urging the week, so the music outside calmed down by 11pm, and some of the nights there was very little music. The stairs could be tough for older travelers and the infirm. If you are young and healthy and are struggling to climb up 4 flights of stairs I would recommend working out more :) enjoyed the stay, and will stay here again when I return!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AVCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

I have stayed at the Tempi at least four times over as many years and it has always proved the perfect solution. It is surrounded by cafes and restaurants of all types so the simple solution of providing a little kitchen for when you want to make your own tea or coffee is just right, and a chance to meet other travellers as you do it.
Everything that posher hotels offer is also there in a simple way - rooms with balconies, a/c, TV, extra pillows, shampoos and soaps, etc. And above all, the friendly reception staff, armed with information about everything concerning Greece.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Point, Oregon
Level Contributor
70 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

I met my daughter from Switzerland here for our one month exploration of Greece. We also ended our trip here, too. This is a perfect lodging experience. Great location while in Athens, clean, friendly and a good price, too. We could even see the Acropolis from our balconey. A good place to start your Greek adventures.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rastacubbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

Hotel Tempi has the best location you can ask for since it's located right in the center of the city next to Acropolis and the Monastiraki square. It is close to everything you would like to see in this beautiful city and it's so easy to get everywhere. It is a very clean hotel, the rooms are pretty comfortable while the view of Acropolis from the front ones is simply spectacular!! The noise from the streets is not a problem especially if you want to close the windows. The hotel staff is so kind and friendly and they helped us with everything. I have been there twice and the prices are always very good. I would go again!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iasonas p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Hotel Phaedra
Hotel Phaedra
#94 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Plaka
Kimon Athens Hotel
Kimon Athens Hotel
#73 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Monastiraki
Emporikon Athens Hotel
Emporikon Athens Hotel
#68 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Omonia
Hotel Athinaikon
Hotel Athinaikon
#161 of 325 in Athens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Plaka
Hotel Carolina
Hotel Carolina
#160 of 325 in Athens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
Cecil Hotel
Cecil Hotel
#144 of 325 in Athens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tempi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tempi

Property: Hotel Tempi
Address: 29 Eolou, Athens 105 51, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Monastiraki
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Best Value Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Tempi 1*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Tempi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tempi Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing