We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Too expensive for what we paid” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Tempi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Tempi
Ranked #119 of 333 Hotels in Athens
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Too expensive for what we paid”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

We paid €55 for one night here, a bit of a treat to ourselves after a long trip staying in cheap hotels (usually no more than €35/ night). What a rip off! The room was just as sparse, if not sparser, than all the other cheap places we stayed, and in several ways it was much worse! There wasn't even breakfast included like in all the cheaper places we stayed. We were in a twin room rather than a double simply because there were no doubles left available for the day we booked, which was fine, however we were on the floor second from the top, very high up and no elevator. Again, not too much of an issue for us though some might have not enjoyed it. What I did have issues with, however, was the constant noise all through the night and early morning. Our room was ensuite but the other rooms around were not, and we were kept awake by the pipes making noises as the rest of the floor showered in the communal cubicles just along the corridors. Because of all this, doors were constantly opening and shutting as people went in and out of the corridor to use the bathroom and showers. And in the morning (around 7am no less!) maids started clattering around and literally yelling to each other in the corridor and stair well! So we had a constantly interrupted nights sleep followed by no free breakfast to make up for it.

Also, the shower ran dry and hot and cold and lost pressure as I tried to use it at the same time as other people on the same floor. This was absolutely ridiculous, and even if I put up with it, it wouldn't have exactly been easy to squeeze in a shower when none of the other ten people staying on the same floor were running a tap. I ended up crouching underneath the tap,splashing myself with luke warm water to get the soap off that I could and resigning myself to not having an actual shower until I got home from the airport the next day! Also, the bathroom had not been cleaned well - hair on the tiles.

Our window had black plastic roll-down shutters which made the room feel very secure, even though we were already several floors above the city streets. Our view looked straight onto a wall, and if we looked right, straight into the window of the room next door.


Wifi signal was free and very strong, the staff member we spoke to at reception was friendly, and the location was excellent. From the street outside (was was beautiful in itself, cobbled street in a main shopping and cafe area) we could see the acropolis, and it was a five minute walk from Monastiraki metro.
HOWEVER this does not justify the cost for us at all as we stayed only five minutes away from the Tempi only a few days before in a much nicer hotel, for much cheaper and free breakfast. I firmly believe that the fact that the hotel was on the pretty Eolou Street rather than the next street over (Athinas) which is a bit more like regular Athens rather than a tourist area, is what shot the cost up, rather than the quality of the hotel. To take it a step further, before that we stayed near Omonia and the cost was significantly cheaper for a hotel, despite the quality being similar. Yes the street outside was not as picturesque, but it was still within walking distance of the acropolis and five minutes from a metro stop!

For anyone interested, we stayed in the Cecil Hotel on Athinas st, and at the Marina Hotel near Omonia and both were better value for money.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CHM1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    124
    92
    30
    36
See reviews for
40
140
47
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights with one friend on a floor with shared bathroom and toilet. The bed was fairly comfortable, but the pillows were very thin and not the best. The shared bathroom/toilet was cleaned regularly and never had any issues using them. Stairs only, so if you have a lot of luggage, it wont be easy. Right in the middle of the Plaka, so walking distance to many shops, restaurants and tourist attractions. Staff were very friendly and helpful, wifi worked well too.

Room Tip: The lower the Floor the better, no lifts, stairs only!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Great location, close to restaurants, bars, public transport and sightseeing. And quite cheap for Athens.
Things I did not enjoy: A/C dripping constantly when on, woke us up at 2am as bed was getting soaked, turned it off, room was super stuffy (just moved the bed out from the wall the next night). Also staff cleaning showers and toilets at 7am, right next to our room, not the nicest way to wake up after being awake all night in stuffy room...
Stairs are a pain with a backpack but its good exercise.
One socket to charge phones/iPad etc and it's up high next to the tv.
All in all, average stay.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

Like others have said the location is perfect. You are minutes from the Acropolis and the other main attractions, there a number of cafes, restaurants, and bars in the surrounding blocks. The room was small but clean. And the bed was comfortable enough. The staff was extremely friendly and willing to give directions and suggestions. I was on the 5th floor and there are a lot of steps to get up to the top, but there are also a lot of steps to get to the Acropolis, so it's not terrible.

The location of the outlet in the room I was could have been better, it was high up on the wall and on the opposite corner from the bed. It was difficult to get things plugged in initially but it was only a minor inconvenience. There really isn't much of a social atmosphere at the hotel itself so it is hard as a solo traveler to meet others that are staying here. If you want to get that youth hostel experience this may not be the best place. But if you are traveling with others there are plenty of places near by to hangout.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

Recent reviews pretty well nail it: fantastic location with lots of attractions and distractions nearby in almost every direction, including the ancient agora just blocks to the south, the central food market just blocks to the north, elegant shopping a stroll to the east, etc. I stayed 2 weekend nights during world cup: lots of action outside late into the night, but quiet inside, with a cool room and comfy bed, and very friendly staff. How do they manage such a great price? No frills: small rooms, spartan furnishing, shared toilet and shower on a floor with 5-6 rooms (I never had any wait), and single outlet in the room. Still, a good deal if you want to save for other things.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank steve2020202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Positives: The people running the hotel were extremely friendly and helpful. The location of the hotel is absolutely perfect. You are right in the middle of things, yet during the night, it was very, very quiet (even when Greece won its World Cup game!). The Acropolis is right above you, the metro is two blocks down and right across the street, and there are tons of places to eat and shop. The hotel room was very clean, and so were the shared bathrooms and showers. The air conditioning was good as well (and it was sorely needed when we were there!). When my friend decided to come with me on this trip less than three days before my departure date, the hotel was quite accommodating. They were able to put us in a room with two beds for three nights. The fourth night was not as comfortable, as we were put up on the top floor in a very, very tiny room, but we were glad that they could make adjustments with such short notice.

Negatives: If your room is above the second floor, please be prepared for a very steep climb with your suitcases. We were on the fourth floor for the first three nights and the fifth floor for the last night. It was definitely a climb not for the weary! My biggest complaint is the lack of outlets in the room. I never understand this - only two. In this day and age of electronic devices, hotels have got to be more accommodating with this, especially when it's a room made for two people.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel for budget travelers like myself who want to spend their money on other things but still have a clean, convenient, and safe place to stay.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Cyndi O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

On the positive side, the room and shower facilities were very clean, and the position is excellent. But being on the 4th floor with no lift was a problem, and having to share the shower and toilet with 5 other rooms was a challenge. The room was quieter than expected but a basin in the room with no hot water or plug IS a problem! Also, there was not one single plug point to be able to charge cells or batteries - a BIG problem.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Athens hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Hotel Phaedra
Hotel Phaedra
#93 of 333 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Plaka
Kimon Athens Hotel
Kimon Athens Hotel
#73 of 333 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Monastiraki
Emporikon Athens Hotel
Emporikon Athens Hotel
#68 of 333 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Omonia
Hotel Athinaikon
Hotel Athinaikon
#160 of 333 in Athens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Plaka
Hotel Carolina
Hotel Carolina
#161 of 333 in Athens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
Cecil Hotel
Cecil Hotel
#143 of 333 in Athens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tempi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tempi

Property: Hotel Tempi
Address: 29 Eolou, Athens 105 51, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Monastiraki
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Best Value Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Tempi 1*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Tempi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tempi Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing