We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central Hotel in teh Plaka district”
Review of Hermes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hermes Hotel
Ranked #19 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Cairns, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Central Hotel in teh Plaka district”
Reviewed 15 June 2011

Very welcoming hotel .Room fairly basic but comfortable .
Very central for visiting museums and restaurants in the area .
A woman is employed to help with visitor trips each day This takes place during breakfast
Breakfast seems to cover every taste !
The Greek part is wonderful !

Room Tip: Athens new museum has to be seen !
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pamelaedgehill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,542 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    752
    624
    120
    37
    8
See reviews for
380
628
105
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2011

Clean, comfortable room, central location. Good breakfast included in the price of the room. The standard of customer service was excellent, with a guest relations manager asking guests at breakfast if they needed help with itineraries or booking tours. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flimflamfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2011

I was travelling with 2 young kids, so location was very important to us. We took bus from the airport and stopped in Syntagma square. From there, we walked around 10 mins towards Plaka till the hotel sign on the left. Its easy to find. Around the hotel you will find plenty of shops/restaurants with easy access to Acropolis/Flee market.

We took a tripple room and it was clean, comfortable beds and quiet! the bathroom is also satisfying.
Male reception was a bit cold but we were very happy with a female reception who took the time to talk to guests during breakfast and giving tips about Athens. A nice gesture.

I really recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hamadako
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

I picked the Hermes Hotel to stay at because of the location, fair price, and good reviews. It lived up to everything. The neighborhood felt much safer than some of the others I walked through. It was within walking distance of everything...metro, restaurants, attractions and shopping. You can get to the Hermes Hotel from the airport by taking the Metro to Syntagma Square and walk about 4-5 blocks. I booked the family room (Rooms 405 & 406) which is two separate rooms combined with a small hallway (both rooms had balconies). The rooms were small but that was a non-issue because we were rarely in our room. I was happy to see that the rooms were very clean...even the bathroom. The beds were on the firmer side, but I like firm beds so I didn't have any problems sleeping. The hotel is not on a busy street so it's not at all noisy. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was ok....there were a lot of breads and then your basic breakfast items such as cereal and scrambled eggs. It was served until 10am. There is a roof top sitting area with lounge chairs and tables...but not much of a view. You cannot see the Acropolis from the rooftop as the website photos may suggest. The hotel offered free wi-fi for a short time, maybe 20 minutes, and then you must pay for it. I am unsure of the cost.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank google-it
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 June 2011

We stayed at Hermes before and after a week of sailing at the end of May and the beginning of June 2011. We made sure that the second stay was refundable in case we were not happy with the first stay. Except for the beds being firmer than I prefer, I would definitely go back.

Buffet breakfast each morning provided lots of options. During our stay we met and spoke with three desk clerks, two service staff / tourist advisors (sorry Eva, I don't remember your title) and one of the maid staff. All were great; pleasant to speak with and very informative.

Hotel is within easy walking distance to two Metro stops. One will take you direct to and from the airport. The second will take you direct to and from the Pireaus port to catch the ferries to the islands so never a need to change trains. It is also within walking distance of all the sites and we saw everything. Hi definitely recommend it as a great place to stay for a vacation in Athens or a jumping off point to a vacation around the islands.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy_in_Boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rijswijk, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 June 2011

A very nice hotel in the centre of Athens, near the Plaka district. Clean, modern rooms. The breakfast with Angeliki advising us what to see and how to get there was super. We are still a bid in love with here.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zelfde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2011

Very clean, friendly staff, good English, very good buffet breakfast with staff on hand for sightseeing info. and hotel feedback. Large room, tub in bathroom., small balcony. Near Syntagma, historic sights, restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sdmcsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#13 of 326 in Athens
3,300 reviews
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#30 of 326 in Athens
1,731 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#16 of 326 in Athens
2,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#17 of 326 in Athens
3,795 reviews
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#15 of 326 in Athens
3,079 reviews
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermes Hotel

Property: Hermes Hotel
Address: 19 Apollonos | Plaka, Syntagma, Monastiraki, Athens 105 57, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Athens
#16 Family Hotel in Athens
#17 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hermes Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Cancelon, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hermes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hermes Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing