We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An OK Option”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hermes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hermes Hotel
Ranked #18 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
new york
Level Contributor
67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“An OK Option”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

There were several pluses; good location, breakfast pretty good for 3 star (our breakfast experience in 3 star European hotels is dreadful), free internet in lobby, pleasant reception staff, touring help at breakfast, little rooftop terrace, water and cookies in lobby. We had a room with a little balcony and by European standards, the room was not small. The reason I would not stay there again, is that the bed was impossibly hard; it was like sleeping on a kitchen table, as were also the pillows; they were like sleeping on stone tablets. Also its true the location is good, but we saw a hotel in a much more fashionable area in the center (the street and immediate neighborhood of Hermes is disgusting), that advertised intself as a 4 star, was cheaper, and was on the most fantastic upscale street, with great cafes and coffee shops (one attached and belonging to the hotel, I think), right on top of the hotel. It would have been delightful to come back to this hotel at night, or any time, as it was extremely lively and pretty.
Also the shower had no shower curtain so that the bathroom was drenched after each shower.

Room Tip: We asked for a larger room with balcony, as were advised to do in tripadvisor. We did have a little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank littledebnewyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Hermes Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel and for mentioning all the little details that pleased you.
Referring to your opinion about the sleeping quality, our mattresses have been recently replaced and while I can appreciate that customers may have different preferences it is hard to satisfy all tastes.
Regarding your comment about the special offer of a near by 4 star hotel, I am cetrain you are aware that all special offers ( like the one you are referring), are based on room availability at the time of the booking. This is quite different from the price of a firm booking which is done in advanced and which is guaranted.

I hope that you will consider us again for a future stay in Athens.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,471 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    704
    607
    116
    35
    8
See reviews for
361
605
94
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Noosa Heads
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

Me and a friend stayed at the Hermes for one night on three separate occasions...prior to our tour, at the end of the tour, and the night before leaving for home. We found the reception staff, particularly Dionysus and Stevlios, very helpful organising taxi pick-ups, transport, etc. Nothing was an issue to them. We were able to leave our luggage there for a week at a time free of charge, and safe. The rooms are smallish and the ones we stayed in didn't have a great view, but then we were hardly there.
When we arrived back for the third night, there was a complimentary small bottle of wine which we had on the rooftop that night, and oh, what a sight! You must do that when you are there. I will not give that away here. That wil be for you to discover.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirstine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth Australia
Level Contributor
157 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2012

The Hermes Hotel is a comfortable hotel to sta if you need a night's accommodation before flying off from Athens. Just 5 minutes away is a bus that for €5.00 will take you direct to the airport.

The rooms are small but comfortable. Quiet also.

The immediate are is a bit run-down which is a shame as some of the buildings that are terribly graffiti scared are actually very beautiful, so the whole are could be turned into a wonderful conservation area...if there was the money to do this! Good shops and cafes nearby.

The breakfast buffet is acceptable without being overly exciting. I guess we were spoilt by the hotels on Paros and Mykonos!

Hotel staff were friendly, but that seems to be the story everywhere in Greece. Nice people.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pisang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Hermes Hotel, responded to this review, 15 June 2012
Dear Pisang,

We are very pleased to read that you satisfied with your hotel choice in Athens and we look forward to seeing again on a furure trip.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

You can't choose a better location when visiting Athens - you can pretty much walk to all of the main sites, which you will want to see there. The services is really helpful - they will help you plan your stay in the city and make sure you make the most of your stay there. The rooms are nice and clean. The only thing, which could be a bit better is the breakfast - but mind that it's probably me being picky. I will definitively choose this place again on my next trip to Athens.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maciejsykula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Hermes Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
Dear Guest,

We are very pleased to read that you had a positive experience in our hotel.
In our attempt to improve, we surely value all the feedback (whether is negative or positive).
We surely hope to see you again on a future trip to Athens.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012

This is a great hotel - good location, very short walk to Syntagma Square/Metro, and also close to Monastiraki square/Metro, so it's really easy to get to & from the airport - the metro is only 8 euros p/p, so a lot cheaper than getting a taxi. Rooms are very clean and perfectly suitable - there's also cable TV. You can walk to pretty much all the touristy destinations from this hotel, and it's also really close to great shopping and restuarants/cafe's.

The lobby is lovely, free internet and a rooftop terrace as well. Staff were all very helpful, breakfast was very decent and a lovely woman circulated every morning offering advice and help for your day, which was really nice. We also got a free teatowel when we checked out - thank you :)

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meaganalexandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Hermes Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2012
Dear Guest,

WE thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your lovely experience in our hotel with other readers of T.A.

Guests satisfaction is our priority and we are very happy when we achieve a positive result.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2012

I share the nice comments of so many of the other reviews as to location and quality of the hotel and service. What was exceptional about our stay is that the reception persons and another nice young lady named Maria circulate the breakfast area to answer questions, give directions, provide travel warnings, and diligently work to make sure you have a comfortable, enjoyable stay in Athens..

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Billyboymiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Hermes Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2012
Dear Guest,

How nice to read that your were really satisfied from the service you received from our well trained staff !! We are glad we managed to offer you an exceptional stay.

From all of us best regards and hope to see you again when you come back to Athens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tripoli, Greece
Level Contributor
154 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

30 seconds walk from Syntagma Square (and 2 minutes walk from the Syntagma metro station), the very centre of Athens, the main shopping pedestrian street of Ermou, and near Plaka. Extremely suitable when you come to Athens by plane and then take the sub-urban railway - metro. You can walk to anywhere (Acropolis, the Acropolis Museum, the Theisio area, Psyrri etc) in the centre of Athens. Very near lovely Greek and ehtnic restaurants (50 m from the very good Indian restaurant "Indian kitchen"). Good bathroom. Machine low quality coffee at breakfast spoilt my mood for hours to come, as I count very much on a high quality aromatic coffee in the mornings to start my day. Breakfast was generally rather poor. If you don't care about coffee in the morning, ideal option!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RedSkyWalker22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Hermes Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in Athens. We are glad to read that our location was of great convenience to you. Concerning our breakfast, we offer a great variety of hot and cold ( including plates of ham, cheese, bacon, sausages,beens,eggs,croissants, cake, biscuits, cereals, greek yogurt with honey and a corner with greek delicacies. As for our coffee, we have two well known trade marks, that freshly brow it on the spot . If you ever decide to stay with us again (which we really hope) please do not hesitate to ask for any other type of the following types that we are offering i.e frappe, greek coffee, espresso or cappuccino (nespresso).

Hope to see again on a future trip to Athens.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#12 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,138 reviews
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#30 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,623 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#16 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,113 reviews
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#15 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,849 reviews
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#5 of 325 in Athens
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermes Hotel

Property: Hermes Hotel
Address: 19 Apollonos | Plaka, Syntagma, Monastiraki, Athens 105 57, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Athens
#16 Family Hotel in Athens
#17 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hermes Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Traveltool, S.L.U., Bookgreece.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hermes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hermes Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing