We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem”
Review of Hermes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hermes Hotel
Ranked #19 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Palmer, Alaska
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 10 October 2012

Slightly on an inside road on the Plaka this hotel had everything you could ask for in a stay. It was in a great quiet location. We stayed in two triples to accommodate our family of six. The staff was excellent with the exception of one elderly front desk clerk who work the late afternoon shift. He seemed shady and was always trying to line us up with someone to eat or cab or something as if he were getting a kickback or they were relatives. Aside from that one staff member though the staff was out of this world kind, friendly, patient and helpful!!! The hotel was clean, nicely designed and everything worked! They were VERY nice to our four children (all under age 10). We stayed four days and had a great time. We've stayed in Athens several times before but all our usual places could not accommodate our growing family. So happy Hermes Hotel could. We will not forget it!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarmenAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Hermes Hotel, responded to this review, 12 October 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your wonderful title and review on our quiet area, clean rooms and friendly staff.
Concerning your comment on the reception staff, I think it was rather from his eager to help, than anything else, but, thank you for pointing it out in order to investigate further.

I am more than happy that we helped you to have an unforgettable stay!

Hope to see you again on a future visit to Athens.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,526 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    740
    621
    120
    36
    8
See reviews for
372
625
103
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
delhi
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2012

the best part of the hotel is location. You can enjoy the views of acropolis from the rooftop. It is close to Syntagma square, palaka area and lot of good eateries around. The rooms are basic but have a decent size. Breakfast is reasonable.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vk167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Hermes Hotel, responded to this review, 8 October 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review mentioning the great location of our hotel, close all Archeological sites, restaurants and shops.

We hope to see you again on a future trip to Athens.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2012

This is an excellent, reasonably priced small hotel in a safe, quiet area, and convenient for the major sights. The rooms are spacious and comfortable by European standards, and many have balconies. The breakfast buffet is good and extensive, with European, American and Greek options - feta cheese, tomatoes, olives, yoghurt and honey are a great way to start an Athens day !
The reception staff are friendly and very helpful, while the owner / manager ( Dorina Stathopoulou ) is an exceptional host who eagerly offers guests suggestions and help with any travel plans.
Would definitely recommend this hotel for a stay in Athens.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 979steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Hermes Hotel, responded to this review, 8 October 2012
Dear Guest,

We have read your very kind comments with great appreciation and satisfaction.
It is great to read that you were pleased with your room, the variety of our buffet breakfast and our friendly staff.
We thank you for your time to share these comments on Trip Advisor, and for your high score.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

The hotel is in walking distance of the Plaka for souvenir shopping, dining and atmosphere, and for visiting the Agora, the center of ancient Athens, a must-see. The location is great for exploring the city on foot. Service was good - they held our luggage after we checked out so we could sight see and offered us tea in the lobby on our return before we caught our flight out. Rooms are simple but stylish, and our had a surprise 1/2 bottle of wine welcoming us. There is a little lobby bar/sitting area with computer access, and a rooftop terrace where you can take a beer. Breakfast was good, with a concierge checking in with diners and offering travel advice. We'd definitely recommend this place and would stay again.

Room Tip: Some rooms have balconies with a view of city roof tops, and table and chairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldTraveler859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Hermes Hotel, responded to this review, 2 October 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience on TA that will be helpful to other readers to make a hotel decision.
We are very pleased you liked the area with easy access to all sites. Thank you for mentioning our buffet breakfast, the storage room and the compimentary coffee and tea.

Your recommendation of our hotel is mostly appreciated.

Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2012

Overal very good hotel. Staff speaks English and helpful. Rooms are OK, always cleaned properly, enough soap and towels every day. There is free wifi on every floor, so you don't lose signal strenght as you go up. There is also a roof terrace, but strangely enough you cant order any drinks so i suppose you have to bring your own. For a drink with a great view, visit the sister hotel of Hermes, the Plaka hotel. It has a great roof terrace with a bar and a view on the Acropolis, it's a 3-4 minute walk and staff will be happy to tell you directions.
Breakfast is good, eggs cereal bacon, toast bread etc...Manager frequently stops by at breakfast to ask you if everything is allright.
You cant have a better location than this, especially for this price. It's a 2 minute walk to Syntagma square which is the center basically, and if the weather is good it's a 15 minute walk to the Acropolis. Also alot of eating accomodations nearby. The road to the Acropolis from the hotel is pretty nice, with a lot of small typical shops in cosy and small streets. I would definitely stay here again, this hotel offers everything someone like me, who travels or business, needs.
On the ground floor there is also a self service bar where you can drink coffee and thea for free and relax a bit in some sofa's.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FreddyD90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Hermes Hotel, responded to this review, 28 September 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in Athens and for your review.
We thank you for your review and for mentioning the free and strong WiFi as well as the very good location of the hotel for exploring Athens on foot.
Referring your comment on the roof terrace we are offering drinks from the bar in the lobby or clients can always enjoy a drink from our sister hotel Plaka just two blocks away.
Thank you for recommending us

We hope to see you again.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2012

We,(my husband and anther couple), just stayed at the Hermes for the past week and had exceptional assistance from their entire staff re medical attention that my husband required. Dorina, the owner/manager, made arrangements for us immediately to attend an excellent English speaking doctor and hospital. Although our trip was cut short we will return to the Hermes in the near future I hope and enjoy the wonderful location, good breakfast and free coffee, internet etc.It is so close to the historical sites, and great tavernas you are able to walk to all over the Platka without difficulty to make a very pleasant holiday.
Thank you to all the staff for your assistance.
Marguerite and Dennis Locke

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marguerite L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Hermes Hotel, responded to this review, 28 September 2012
Dear Guests,

It was a great pleasure meeting you all and be able to assist you on this unexpected insident.
I am pleased we managed offer you the best solution.
We all really hope that soon everything will be solved and we will see you soon again.

Our best regards and wishes.

Dorina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

The staff is brilliant! Everybody is always smiley and welcoming! Dionisis, receptionist, is a very nice person, talkative and fun! Dorina is the manager and everyday during breakfast she stops by the restaurant and talks to every guest to understand their stay timing in the city to put together a itinerary so the guests can take most of it! I have never received a treatment like this in any hotel in my life including 5 stars! This is really the best! If you haven't planned your trip, don't worry, Dorina will help you out! Location is great, Appolonos street is a bit dark, but Athens is a very safe place! You will be walking distance to the best attractions and to Plaka which is a fantastic neighborhood to wander... ATMs, small markets and good restaurants are nearby! The hotel is also 3-5 min walking from Syntagma square, where the bus from the airport drops you off! Room is of good size for a couple, fully equipped, modern and very very clean! The double bed is actually two single beds connected, which is not great but I believe it is becoming a standard lately. Breakfast is very good(not spectacular considering South America standards), it has President butter which I consider a premium brand! It has Greek and continental options for every taste! Try the yogurt with honey! Wi-fi is great, free of charge, so you can share your amazing Athens pictures! You can print your next boarding passes in the reception at no charge! The view from the top is nice, but not spectacular! You can go to their sister hotel, Plaka, for a magnificent view, just tell you are from Hermes and you will be welcome! Overall: outstanding value for money, great team, great location, good breakfast and good room! Definitely Definetly coming back when in Athens again, I recommend this to everyone!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Henrique C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Hermes Hotel, responded to this review, 28 September 2012
Dear Guest,

What a fantastic review!
Thank you for sharing your positive experience with details to other TA readers.
We thank you for mentioning the good selection and quality of our breakfast as well as our friendly staff. Comments such as these, are a tremendous motivation for us all to continue offering the standards of service to our guests.

Hope to see you again on a future trip to Athens.

Best regards from all of us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#13 of 326 in Athens
3,273 reviews
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#30 of 326 in Athens
1,711 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#16 of 326 in Athens
2,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#17 of 326 in Athens
3,759 reviews
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#14 of 326 in Athens
3,031 reviews
Plaka
Electra Metropolis Athens
Electra Metropolis Athens
#11 of 326 in Athens
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermes Hotel

Property: Hermes Hotel
Address: 19 Apollonos | Plaka, Syntagma, Monastiraki, Athens 105 57, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Athens
#16 Family Hotel in Athens
#17 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hermes Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Bookgreece.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hermes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hermes Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing