We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$183
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$175
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$196
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$191
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Plaka Hotel(Athens)
US$222
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$206
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Centrotel Hotel(Athens)(Great Value!)
US$76
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$49
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$64/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$214
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$170
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$116
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Melia Athens(Athens)
US$243
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$190
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$268
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$248
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$269
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$245
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$581
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$539
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,681)
Filter reviews
1,681 results
Traveller rating
832
674
126
39
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
832
674
126
39
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssister hotelsyntagma squaregreat locationhotel plakawithin walking distancequiet streeteach morningadjoining roomsrooftop terracecentral locationrooms are smallshort walkgreek yogurtexcellent hotelstayed for nightsclean hotelrestaurants and shops
Filter
Updating list...
840 - 845 of 1,681 reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We stayed for 5 nights over the Easter period and were so pleased with our choice of hotel. Primarily, for the location. Plaka, with its choice of restaurants, was less than a ten minute walk away; the Parthenon (well, the base of the Acropolis), was around 15 minutes.

The hotel was quiet and the rooms were very clean. Some people might have considered our room to be a little small, but we were happy with it (there was room for a double bed, a side couch, desk and wardrobe, but we didn't have a balcony; the en suite was a bath with an over-shower).

Breakfast was good, with a range of cold foods and some hot. Very good tea and coffee (warm milk available) and one of the best toasters we've used in a hotel.

The lounge area downstairs was quite spacious, with Internet access via a computer and wi-fi also available (although the latter could be a little intermittent). "He" was particularly delighted that the flat screen in the lounge was showing an English football match when we returned one night! Other reviews have mentioned the rooftop terrace at their sister hotel, Plaka, (there's no view of the Acropolis from Hermes, but it's a pleasant enough little terrace) and we visited one evening to view the sun set over the Acropolis. It was a rubbish sunset, but it really was a great view of the Acropolis and other parts of the city - and we had a nice glass of wine!

Lastly, but not least, we must mention the personal touch of the staff, especially the manager, Dorina, who stopped by every morning at breakfast to check if everything was okay and if we needed any information on Athens. Her advice was very useful - and she didn't try to sell us anything. We really appreciated the time she spent with us, which we found very helpful. We would certainly stay at the Hermes Hotel again if we came back to Athens.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank SheSaysHeSays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Hermes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind comments on our property. As our main goal is to offer to our guests high quality facilities and services, it is great to read that you were satisfied with your stay. Thank you for mentioning the rich buffet breakfast, the great location as well as spacious lobby of the hotel. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

We recently stayed at the Hermes Hotel in Athens for 7 days and this hotel is truly wonderful!! The location is within an easy walk of all the major attractions in Athens, and they have a rooftop deck with a view of the Acropolis. You can also visit their sister hotel nearby to use their rooftop deck as well. The rooms were quiet, clean, and a nice size. We booked the family rooms, and the arrangement of having two adjoining rooms was very nice and each room had a balcony. The breakfast was a large assortment of greek and "american" breakfast foods and was delicious every morning. And the staff were exceptional - they were in the breakfast room each morning to ask about our plans and give us advice about sights to see, as well as being very helpful at the front desk whenever we had a question or needed directions. My mother wasn't feeling well one day when the rest of us had booked an excursion, and they even went out and got her a Coke. Dorina, Eva, Margarita, Kostos, and all the rest whose names I've forgotten (so sorry) helped make our visit to Athens a trip of a lifetime! I absolutely, highly recommend this hotel! Thank you to everyone at the Hermes Hotel for such a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 472AnnD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Hermes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2013

Dear Guest,
We're delighted to read that by staying at the Hermes hotel we were able to offer you a "trip of a lifetime" ! Thank you for sharing your positive experience on Trip Advisor. Comments such as these are a tremendous motivation for us all to continue offering the standards of service to our guests. Thank you again and best regardsto all your family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

I had stayed here nearly 5 years ago, & as I had an unexpected need to return to Athens for a few days this was a good choice of where to stay.
It's in a really good location for sites & transport, an excellent base. My previous stay was a good experience, but with some improvements made to the hotel this stay was even better! Comfortable & clean, really helpful & friendly staff, some of whom recognised me from staying at the ACS a week or so previously, the hotels are under the same management, along with the Plaka hotel. Breakfast was a good selection of savoury & sweet, hot & cold, something for everyone & a great start to the day.
I was initially staying for 2 nights, but then I was required in Athens for an extra day, no problem, although my room was needed for another guest I was moved to another very nice room for the extra night, all done very efficiently.
Both rooms were excellent, the first one on the top floor with a large balcony, the second one on the first floor, a small balcony this time. I liked both rooms, loved having a bath as well as a shower.
A very good choice for any type of traveller, information is offered on all sorts of things to help make your stay a memorable one. They really seem to have got a good grasp of what is important to guests & their customer service is of a high standard. Well done & thankyou, I had a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yiassas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Hermes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2013

Dear Yiassas,
It was a great pleasure seeing you back again and the fact that you noticed all the improvements we did the last years.
We thank you for your review and hope to see you again in one of our properties.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

This clean, comfortable hotel is within walking distance to all the major sites and the express bus to the airport. We had interconnecting rooms for our family of four. The lobby is nicely planned out, and the staff was well informed. We all enjoyed the various ethnic items for breakfast.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 4worldtravelers4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Hermes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our very well located hotel , our rich buffet breakfast, as well as for your high score. Hope to see you agaoin on a future trip to Athens.
Best regards to all of you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

We highly recommend this hotel! We originally reserved a room for one week but due to an unexpected family circumstance we had to change our plans and ended up staying for six weeks. They were able to accommodate us in every possible way as our needs changed. The manager, Dorina is present every day and she and her staff were so helpful in making our stay stress-free. They went above and beyond to make us feel at home and to assist us with anything we needed. The rooms are very clean, very quiet and have a restful and relaxing feel - just what you need after a day in Athens. The hotel is in the perfect location and you can walk to any attraction. The full daily breakfast is wonderful and plentiful. This is a true gem! Thank you Dorina and your entire staff! You are remarkable!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HVVCVV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Hermes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2013

Dear Guest,
What a nice title! We're delighted to read your comments and thank you for sharing your positive experience on Trip Advisor. Comments such as these, are a tremendous motivation for us all to continue offering the standards of service to our guests. Thank you from all of us and hope to see you again in the near future.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews