We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt like a local.”
Review of Hermes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hermes Hotel
Ranked #15 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 May 2013 via mobile

Nice little hotel. Felt like a local since hotel in residential area. Close to everything. Manager so friendly and helpful. Authentic European feel. Only complaints: 1) tight rooms, 2) connecting rooms not really connecting, awkward set up. 3) tiny elevator - tough with luggage. Nice stay!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KFCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Hermes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2013

Dear Guest,
It is so nice to read that the location of our hotel pleased you, as well as our helpful staff.
I was most concerned about your comment on the connecting rooms . As mentioned in our description there are two rooms with two bathrooms and an interconnecting door. As one of the two rooms is smaller and of a great deal, I believe that they are ideal for families.
As for the elevator, as all hotels in the area of same category, are old buildings with small elevators. Unfortunately for static reasons this can not be improved.
I thank you again for staying with us.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,561)
There are newer reviews for Hermes Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

758 - 764 of 1,562 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2013

Four couples, including myself and husband, stayed for three nights earlier this month. The hotel is in a great area, close to all the sights, safe, walkable. Staff was excellent, answering all our questions and arranging services when needed. Breakfast started us off with full bellies. Rooms very clean. Price very good.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cynthia b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Hermes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2013

Dear Guest.
Thank you for your review and high score. We are pleased you enjoyed our great area, rich breakfast and excellent staff. thank you for mentioning the good value.
Best regards to you and your friends

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

The Hermes was recommended to us by friends, and we were not disappointed. The hotel is lovely and the friendly multilingual staff are wonderful.

The room was small* but scrupulously clean and everything worked.
There was endless coffee/tea/biscuits, a small bottle of wine on arrival, excellent breakfast (included in our rate of around 110 Euro for a double room with balcony).
There is a small terrace on the roof, with lounge chairs, etc. We were also encouraged to visit the Hermes' sister hotel (the Plaka) a few blocks away, whose rooftop terrace (with bar) gives an amazing view of the Acropolis, especially at night. Worth the trip.

The following are extra things that were done for us during our 5-day stay in May 2013:
- accomodated our upside-down sleep schedule by cleaning our room as late as 6pm;
- provided laundry service (9 Euro for a large bag) in just 6 hours instead of the advertised 24;
- knowledgeable concierge service: helped us plan what to see, how to maximize our time, when it's worth it to book a tour and when to "just get on the bus and go yourself" (most of the time), etc;
- recommendations and directions regarding whatever we asked about as we exited the lobby
- i expressed idle curiosity as to whether i might expect to pay a "tourist rate" for drycleaning -- the manager took time to check the local rate for me (turns out drycleaners tend to use a standard industry rate table);
-impromptu language lessons to help with our limited Greek

The location is excellent, the amenities were great, and the service was wonderful. I highly recommend this hotel.

*Probably unnecessary note for travelers from the U.S.A.: As is normal in Europe, one can expect smaller rooms, fewer amenities, etc compared to the same number of stars in an American hotel. As well, the lifts in older buildings tend to be a retrofit, so they're often tiny. Just saying.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Hermes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2013

Dear Rob R,
I am delighted to read that your stay with us was a positive experience and that we managed to match your expectations. It was a pleasure seeing you in the mornings and make your day more profitable with our advices.
I thank you and your wife for your nice comments and high score as well as for your sweet message and surprise.
I hope we will have the opportunity seeing you again on a future trip to Athens.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

The price/quality ration of this hotel can't be beat. The staff is friendly, the rooms comfortable and immaculate, every day a full breakfast, location is central but the street is quiet. What else would anyone ask for at the prices that Hermes charges? I think that we paid €105 per night for a double room.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emarx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Hermes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying with us and for all your positive comments.
We really hope to see you again soon.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2013

Hermes hotel is right in the heart of Athens. Very clean very cozy friendly and helpful staff. Room was big enough with a nice balcony. Breakfast was nice and tasty. During the breakfast you could get any information in many languages for anything you could possibly ask from a very polite and friendly lady working there. Great value for money highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Livernick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Hermes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2013

Dear Guest,
We are very happy to read that you were satisfied with your stay in our hotel.
Thank you for recommending us and for your positive review.
We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Athens.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2013

Located in the heart of the historical center, close to the main attractions. The room was spacious and clean with a balcony. A bottle of wine was offered upon our arrival. The breakfast was good, and during the day coffee, tea and sweets were available in the lobby. Kind and helpfull staff. Good value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marialena_an
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Hermes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2013

Dear Guest,
We are more than happy to read that you felt that our hotal was of good value and that after avery nice experience you recommend us to TA readers.
Thank you again, see you soon.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2013

We stayed in this hotel on 1st May , and we found the location of hotel very near to metro and bus debtor ding point from Airport. It is walking distance from Metro. They serve the best vegetarian breakfast with Fresh greek cheese in the morning. Breakfast is simply the best. We had two rooms which had two small greek wine bottles. The staff at the reception were very helpful. Do not forget to take the cardamom chocolates at the reception, it is really tasty and very different. Hotel staff came to ask at the breakfast time regarding any help and room service, which was really good gesture because every tourist has many questions. They solve and give printouts of routes and give updates. This is value for money. We were five people, and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this hotel.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank NAVEEN-RANCHI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Hermes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2013

Dear Guest,
We're delighted to read your comments and thank you for sharing your positive experience on Trip Advisor. We are glad that all five of you enjoyed the rich breakfast of good quality, the friendliness of our staff and the very central location. Thank you for mentioning that the hotel is a value for money.

Best regards to all of you and hope to see you back one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#11 of 282 in Athens
3,340 reviews
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#27 of 282 in Athens
1,765 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#13 of 282 in Athens
2,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 282 in Athens
3,842 reviews
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#12 of 282 in Athens
3,147 reviews
Omonia
Athens Center Square
Athens Center Square
#23 of 282 in Athens
1,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermes Hotel

Address: 19 Apollonos | Plaka, Syntagma, Monastiraki, Athens 105 57, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Athens
#12 Family Hotel in Athens
#13 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £54 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hermes Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hermes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hermes Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing