We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and friendly, helpful staff”
Review of Hermes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hermes Hotel
Ranked #15 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We had a lovely stay at the Hermes. It was in a great location. Our room was comfortable and had everything we needed. The breakfast was plentiful. Everyone could find something familiar and something new to try. The rooftop view was nice, but we really enjoyed going over to the Hotel Plaka (same owner as Hermes) for their unobstructed view of the Acropolis and their rooftop bar. Dorina, the manager, was so kind and helpful to us as we planned our island excursion. She offered good advice and even called the hotels on the islands to help us make arrangements! We highly recommend the Hermes!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sallyforth207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Hermes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2013

Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you personally for your kind recommendation to others and for sharing your lovely feedback following your stay with us. I am thrilled that you enjoyed the location and the experience of the Acropolis view, as well as the breakfast, the cleanliness. It is so nice to read that our suggestions were helpful fot a memorable stay.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,595)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

751 - 757 of 1,595 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2013

We stayed in a twin room for 2 nights in May. The room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was provided and offered a good selection of hot and cold food. I found the room to be good value for money. The hotel manager is lovely and goes out of her way to ensure guests are satisfied with their stay checking each morning at breakfast to ensure there are no issues and offering helpful sightseeing information and tips. On the morning we checked out of the hotel the manager was in the reception area and offered us a small gift (tea towels) which we found a lovely gesture. We enjoyed our stay and would consider staying at the Hermes Hotel if visiting Athens again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buddy74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We are a family of two adults and two teen daughters. We stayed in adjoining rooms, 201 and 202. We found our rooms to be fresh, clean and quite adequate for our stay. The breakfast was well supplied with hard boiled eggs, scrambled eggs, toast, fruit, cereal and beverages. Seating is plentiful. Service personnel at the front desk were, without exception, engaging and helpful. The hotel location is excellent for access to local historic, shopping, and dining attractions. Based on our experience, we would stay here again and would enthusiastically recommend this hotel.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
Thank GuzzoBazinko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Hermes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2013

Dera Guest,
We are delighted to read your enthousiastic review ! We thank you for your time to share your positive experinece and for your high score.
Best regards to all of you and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Never been this disappointed about an hotel like that.
We stay in Athens every year in the central hotel next to this one.
We decided to try the Hermes hotel this time due to good reviews and it was a terrible mistake ....
First of all and very upsetting!!! The pictures of the rooms in the website are not pictures from the hotel for sure. We made reservation for the superior room and payed more for that just to find out that there are no superior rooms and all rooms are the same- smelly old and absolutely horrible!! When we went to the reception she said that we were upgraded and these are the better rooms...
All in all, don't stay at this hotel!!! In this rate you can find much better hotels even in the same area... We will surely never go back there and definitely won't recommend it to anyone!,,

Room Tip: There are no good rooms!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank shufel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Hermes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2013

Dear Guest,
Please accept my apologies for any unpleased experience you may have had during your recent stay at our Hotel.
I was both disappointed and surprised to read that your stay with us, did not meet your expectations. I say surprised, because we have made sure that we have a detailed description of our rooms and services on our website and the pictures shown are the actual rooms and furnishings throughout the Hotel.
Being that your reservation was for a “Superior Room”, you were offered a room with a balcony, as this is the type of room described in the website as “Superior”. When you complained to our receptionist that your friends had a larger room than yours, our staff explained to you that your friends booking was for a “triple” room, not a double as yours. Still, to satisfy you , our staff moved you to a similar triple room as your friend’s, at no extra cost to you.
All our guests enjoy the professional, hospitable and friendly staff, as well as our very rich buffet breakfast, the cleanliness and the location of the hotel. Being that you visit Athens annually, I hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future, as I am confident that we will be successful in changing your perception of out Hotel. Should you decide to give us this opportunity, please do not hesitate to ask for me directly when making your reservation, or email me. I will be glad to serve you.
I hope that you will keep on coming to Athens, a great city with great history.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Excellent introduction e.g. breakfast times and situation; best place for storage of bags whilst out and about - locked securely and out of the way - not just at the side of the counter. Air conditioning worked well; room clean tidy with a very comfortable/large double bed; safe; and dark curtains that make the bedroom black as pitch! No drinks fridge or tea/coffee making facilities in room. Otherwise good. Showeroom clean and fresh. Breakfast very generous buffet style. Could not fault - coffee from a machine which was OK.

Staff all very helpful, friendly and eager to please. Very good taxi organised for us with an english speaking driver who was very entertaining and gave us full story of life in Greece etc. Be good contributor to Private Eye (satirical magazine) whilst wouldn't livee anywhere else.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mervyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Hermes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience on T.A. with all little details that will help other readers to make their decision.
We hope to see you again on a future trip to Athens.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We loved the Hermes - fantastic breakfasts, walkable to many different sites (ruins, museums) and friendly and accessible staff. The kids thought the tiny balcony was fabulous. The only downside was that the extremely cool, fancy shower leaked.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Hermes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2013

Dear Guest,
We are so pleased to read that you and your family loved the hotel and had a great stay.Our maintenance staff has investigated the issue mentioned. Thank you for your feedback and high score.
Kind regards to all of you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

If fancy elegance and charm is a priority for you, don’t book here. But for a great functional traveler’s experience, it can’t be beat. First the economical, practical and clean rooms: great shower, full-length mirror, vanity space in the bathroom for your things, more than adequate closets, comfortable beds, excellent air conditioning. room to move around (we had a superior room). No problems with the wifi either, a #1 priority to us. Then the location: while the immediate block isn’t beautiful, you’re in the Plaka and therefore the center, an easy walk to most everything. Breakfast a hotel-ish type buffet, but with a good variety (eggs, cereal, etc.) and fresh products—real orange juice, great yogurt, a great coffee machine with half a dozen choices from espresso to filtered. The real secret of this place, though, is the initiative they take to help you to experience Athens. It begins with the postings in the lobby of special events, airport transport times, how to get to out-of-town sights without the need for a rip-off tour. Then there’s the staff’s great attitude— ask anything and they’ll try to do it for you. But best is the system of someone really knowledgeable reaching out at breakfast on a one-to-one basis to help you plan your sightseeing time based on your personal preferences, then adding other suggestions (free museum days, options nearby, what to skip, restaurant suggestions etc.). Our second day, we got the breakfast consult from Dorina, the owner, and it was terrific. This woman is totally on top of what’s going on and pays attention to you as an individual. The welcome bottle of wine in the room and the coffee available in the comfortable lobby just gives you an idea how they operate. Kudos to Dorina for a modest, but perfectly managed hotel experience we wish more hoteliers would imitate. It was great to have a long conversation with her—best of luck with your upcoming Boston visit!

Room Tip: Ask about wifi in choosing a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2travelersboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Hermes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2013

Dear Guest,
We have read your very kind comments with great appreciation and satisfaction.
We thank you for your time to share these comments on Trip Advisor with all little details and we are pleased that we were able to offer you an exceptional experience. As for the Wi Fi we lately upgraded and now all guest are really satisfied. Thank you again and hope you will be back.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#13 of 282 in Athens
3,442 reviews
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#30 of 282 in Athens
1,825 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#10 of 282 in Athens
2,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 282 in Athens
3,944 reviews
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Omonia
Athens Center Square
Athens Center Square
#23 of 282 in Athens
1,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermes Hotel

Address: 19 Apollonos Street | Plaka, Syntagma, Monastiraki, Athens 105 57, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Athens
#9 Family Hotel in Athens
#13 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £53 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hermes Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hermes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hermes Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing