We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Budget Hotel”
Review of Hermes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hermes Hotel
Ranked #15 of 281 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 October 2013

The Hermes Hotel is ideally located within walking distance of the Plaka, the Agora and the Acropolis. The room was very comfortable and clean, with air con much appreciated. The staff were very friendly; in fact, nothing was too difficult for them, and their command of the English language was very helpful as my Greek is non existent! I especially appreciated one of the staff coming to our breakfast table to see if we needed any help. A map was forthcoming in order to show us how to get to the Archeological Museum. Also helpful was the luggage room where we left our bags in order to make the most of our last hour in Athens.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dinah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Hermes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Dear Guest,

I was absolutely delighted to read your very kind words following your recent stay with us. I was so happy to read that we met your expectations. It is always so nice to read such complimentary comments about our staff as they aim to make every guest’s stay memorable.
We hope that you will visit us again.

Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,575)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

692 - 698 of 1,575 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2013

Great location and very friendly and helpful staff. I had a few demands such as late chck out, taxis, services to be delivered and they were always very nice and kind to me. There were wine and crips as compliements in the room and a cocktail at night at the sister hotel wich had an incredible view from the Acropolis. Close to many major atractions, small parks, cafes and shops. The lift is a bit small but eficiant. and even though Greece is on a very bad situation right now, the athenians were very friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BiaHarrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Hermes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at Hermes Hotel. I am very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and were impressed with our attention to detail. I am thrilled you were so happy with all aspects of the hotel... from the rooms, to the service and to the overall ambiance.
We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Great location , very close to syntagma square & the plaka area , in a nice & quite street restaurants and shops in the area .
Hotel was very clean , our room was very comfortable and clean, hotel breakfast.. was nice no more than that .

the reception staff sopke very good english , very very nice & friendly , always willing to help , with directions , & evrey questions we had . especaliy - MRS MARGARITA , this amazing lady in the reception ...she was full of great information of where to dine and how to get around.
BTW .. We took the metro from the airport , it took 40 mins to syntagma square & then we walk about 7 mintes...to the hotel . we stayed at 3/sep/2013 it coast 8 euro . one way tkt .


.

Room Tip: high floor , room 606 . with balcony ... we loved it .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank orih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Hermes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your nice review and your complimentary comments about our staff. I am glad that you were satisfied with the ''perfect'' location of the hotel and the service you received,as well as the cleanliness and the comfortable accommodation of your superior room.
Hope to see you soon in a future trip to Athens.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Ideal location in Syntagma Square, we enjoyed our stay. Really friendly staff and very helpful. The hotel itself is nice, the breakfast was good and the rooms very comfortable. Good quality for the value.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Hermes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Dear Guest,
It is always a pleasure to receive such a kind review after 5 months since you have stayed with us . Our aim is to make our guests’ stay an unforgettable experience and your appreciating comments encourage us to increase our efforts. We look very forward to welcoming you again.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

I happened to take a night halt in Athens before flying out of Greece at d end of my beautiful vacation! And i chose Hermes for its central location( its close to syntagma sq.) and i had also gone thru d pics and reviews on tripadvisor. The rooms were average and so was d buffet breakfast. But, what really touched me was the fact that whilst we were having breakfast we noticed that there was this sweet lady going from table to table talking to the guests very politely and helping them with what seemed to be their days itinerary. When she approached us, on learning about our scheduled flight departure from d airport and our havin to take a metro ride to the airport - she brought to our notice that some of the major tube stations are going to remain shut on account of a strike bcos apparently angela merkel, d german chancellor was coming to athens for d first time bcos of which a strike /protest was forewarned. And she also suggested as to which station we cud catch our tube from (namely monastiraki) which was also nearby. This gesture/timely help from the owner herself really touched us! And which is why i am here writing this review to recommend a hotel which made us feel safe and well taken care of in a foreign land! esp when one is traveling, in between transits one can easily lose track of following up on d latest local news...so this help coming from d hotel saved us a whole lot of trouble. Kudos to the lovely owner! :)

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank divinedivs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Hermes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Dear Guest,
We are glad that after a year of staying with us you still remember the exceptional service we offered you. Should you decide to come back, which I hope so, please check our superior room which I am sure it will match your expectations. If need it please do not hesitate to contact me directly.
With kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

My friend and I wanted a hotel close to the Plaka and within easy walking distance of the ancient sites. This hotel proved to be ideal. Apollonos Street is about five minutes away from Adrianou Street which is the centre of the Plaka. The theatre of Dionysos is about ten minutes away and the Temple of Olympian Zeus no more than a quarter of an hour's slow walk.

The hotel itself had all that we wanted: a comfortable bed, the luxury of a proper bathroom and enough plugs for phone charging. The breakfast was imaginative, with both Greek specialities and the usual items like muesli and scrambled egg. You won't go hungry! Also, the manageress and her colleague Eva made a point of chatting to guests about places they wanted to visit and this proved very useful if you wanted to see something a bit more off the beaten track - like Plato's Academy!

As a guest at this hotel you can go to the sister hotel, the Plaka. This has a roof garden with a bar and a view of the Acropolis. It is less than five minutes' walk from the Hermes and worth a visit.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a hotel right in the centre and near lots of lovely places to eat! Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thecrazyraven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Hermes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you so very much for your lovely comments about our hotel.It is always so nice to read such complimentary comments about the location,the variety of the breakfast and our staff as they aim to make every guests’ stay memorable.We are very happy to know that your stay at the Hermes hotel was a positive experience.Hope to see you soon!
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We stayed there for 4 nights. The hotel staff were very efficient and friendly. Our room on level 4 was a reasonable size. The location was great and we could get to the Plaka, Syntagma Square and the Acropolis easily. The nice thing about the hotel was the roof terrace from which we could see the Acropolis lit up at night. The hotel served complimentary coffee, tea and biscuits every afternoon in the downstairs lounge area. The breakfasts were also very good with lots of choice and during breakfast time the hotel's Manager and PR person would come and talk to guests to see if everything was OK and to answer any questions about getting around the city and places of interest. They seemed genuinely interested in their guests' satisfaction.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vickym830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Hermes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Dear Guest,
Many thanks for posting your kind feedback following your recent stay with us.I was so happy to read your kind words and that you really did enjoy the great service and facilities we are all so proud of. I do hope that you will be able to come back to the hotel in the future so we can once again ensure you have a wonderful stay with us.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#10 of 281 in Athens
3,380 reviews
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#30 of 281 in Athens
1,800 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#11 of 281 in Athens
2,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 281 in Athens
3,891 reviews
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#12 of 281 in Athens
3,202 reviews
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermes Hotel

Address: 19 Apollonos | Plaka, Syntagma, Monastiraki, Athens 105 57, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Athens
#12 Family Hotel in Athens
#13 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £57 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hermes Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hermes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hermes Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing