We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel in a great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hermes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hermes Hotel
Ranked #18 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Hotel in a great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

We just returned from our trip to Athens and this hotel was everything we expected and more. The front desk staff was very professional and knowledgeable. They always had time to answer questions and give directions. The bottle of wine and small desserts were a great treat. The general manager,Dorene, was clearly visible at breakfast and came equipped with a map and directions to anywhere we wanted to go. We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Athens. We will definitely stay when we have an opportunity to return.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cpm716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Hermes Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear guest
Thank you for this terrific review of your recent stay at the Hermes Hotel. It gives me great pleasure to know that you were warmly welcomed to the hotel and that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Thank you for highlighting the excellent service you experienced throughout the hotel, we really do appreciate when guests notice our dedication. Hope to see you again.
Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,450 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    691
    599
    116
    35
    8
See reviews for
351
598
93
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Ana, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

Shabby very small room needing for a make-over. A one star hotel room. Hotel elevator door would not close correctly (very dangerous) for three days...did complain ....no change. Breakfast and hotel staff were fine. It was a good location, but we would choose a different hotel next time.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 949135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Hermes Hotel, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Dear Guest,
I am sorry to read that though you were satisfied from our staff, breakfast and location you would not return. I understand your fear about the internal elevator door not closing correctly due to an unexpected damage from a client. The reason of not being immediately fixed ,was that it was a serious damage . As you may have been informed Monday the 28th was a big Bank Holiday. All businesses and shops were closed. As such they could not replace it during the dates of your stay. Our hotel offers a second smaller elevator which you were most welcome to use, as you were afraid. I apologize once again for the issue which was beyond our control.
What I am mostly concerned is your great disappointment of the room.
What did not match your expectations in comparison with the pictures or the description of the Economy room that you had booked? As you understand, we value you as guest and your feedback will be mostly appreciated.
Should you decide to come back, which we really hope, please check our superior room which are of bigger size and offer a balcony .

I thank you in advance for your time.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

Our family of 4 adults stayed here in August. The rooms are modern and clean.
The staff are very helpful and obliging and friendly there was a complimentary bottle of wine in each room which was a nice touch. The breakfast was simple but nice.
It is in a convenient location and walking distance to all cafes and sights.
I would stay here again and would recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rameez S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Hermes Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Guest,
We have read your very kind comments with great appreciation and satisfaction.
We thank you for your time to share these comments on Trip Advisor, and we are pleased that we were able to offer you an exceptional experience.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

We liked our choice, decent price and accomodations and excellent location for proximity to main sights. The staff is very professional and if you strike up a conversation in depth and curious the wonderful Greek spirit just blossoms, sagapo!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BUON_VIAGGIO_7373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Hermes Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear guest
Thank you for your kind words regarding the remarkable service you experienced throughout your stay. I am thrilled to hear that we met your expectations. Comments such as these are a tremendous motivation for us all to continue offering the standards of service to our guests.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

First impression of the hotel was that the reviews were right. Neat hotel in very center Athens (Plaka area) and service was friendly. After staying there for 7 nights, I can truly say that they meet their standards. Breakfast for example is something I miss now when I'm back at home. Fresh orange juice, great coffee, fruits and so on. And I liked the way their customer service was talking with customers during breakfast and were really helpful giving guidance and tips about sights or trips outside Athens.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tuomas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Hermes Hotel, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Dear Guest,
I am very happy to read that reviews from other clients met your expectations. I am thrilled that you enjoyed the cleanliness,the service and the location of the hotel. Thank you.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

I stayed here for 1 night before the beginning of my Iconic Greece tour (i'm a Travel and Tour Architect - Travel Broker Tours) and the last 2 nights of the tour. It's an excellent quiet friendly clean small 2-star hotel with a fantastic location in the heart of Athens historic Plaka area, a must-visit when in the city.

The hotel is located just 5 mins away from the Syntagma (Attiko Metro) Station, which serves both the Red No. 2 Line and the Blue No. 3 Line to the Athens International Airport. Trains run to the airport every 30 minutes, 7 days a week from 6:30 a.m. to 11:30 p.m. for €8 each way or €14 for 2 trips. The airport and Airport (Attiko Metro) Station are very easy to find as well. FYI - If you'd like to have a car service pick you up or drop you off at the airport, give me a shout, I know a great service at €45 each way (€55 from midnight to 5am).

The hotel is a 2-star hotel which basically means no restaurant (except a breakfast room with a wonderful daily selection), and no room service, pool or fitness facilities. The hotel is quaint and the staff friendly. The rooms are decent size for European standards, the beds were comfortable, bathrooms bright and overall very clean.

You really can't beat the Hermes Hotel for the price and for the location, a real winner! Be sure to go up Filopappou Hill, explore the Ancient Agora, tour the Panathenaic (Old) Olympic Stadium and of course visit The Acropolis in the morning or late afternoon because it gets mighty hot during mid-day! OPA!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Hermes Hotel, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Dear Guest,
I am so happy with your enthusiastic review and for having a nice time at our hotel. Thank you for considering Hermes Hotel as a real winner since,after renovation and service improvement ,is a 3 star hotel. I thank you again for your time to share your feedback. Hope to see you soon.
Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Yarmouth
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

We only spent one night in this hotel prior to joining the queen Elizabeth for a 12 day cruise. I had read some very good reports about the Hermes on Trip Advisor. It seemed to be in an ideal location for a short stay, so went ahead with the booking.
I contacted the hotel manager by E mail asking if we could be allocated a room on higher floor
as we are both light sleepers and we have had some bad experiences in the past in city hotels.
I was rather surprised to receive an immediate response from Dorinda, the manageress, confirming that she had reserved a room on the 6th Floor. Bearing in mind that we were booked in for one night only, I thought this was a good example of excellent customer relations.
The hotel is centrally located near to one of the main shopping streets and the Acropolis can be seen from the roof top sun bathing area.
In actual fact the street on which the hotel is situated is relatively quiet and I doubt if any of the rooms are likely to be noisy.
The reception area is modern and there is has a small breakfast/dining room. Our room was modern with a comfortable bed and clean shower room. By modern standards it was compact but more than adequate for our needs.
An extensive buffet breakfast was available next morning. It was not silver service, more self service, but once again quite acceptable.
Dorinda, the manageress was in attendance and makse a point of being available to give advice to her clients, which I thought was very impressive as she obviously thought it an important aspect of her job.
We spoke to some other guests who had booked for longer stays and we were told that her presence in the breakfast room was by no means an unusual occurrence
So, I would not recommend the hotel to anyone looking for 5 star standards and 5 star service but I would certainly recommend the Hermes for what it is, a small clean boutique style hotel in a convenient location and offering a manageress who believes in providing good customer service

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Basil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Hermes Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Guest,
We have read your very kind comments with great appreciation and satisfaction. Thank you for your time to share these comments on Trip Advisor, and we are pleased that we were able to offer you an exceptional experience. We look forward to welcome you again.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#10 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,082 reviews
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#28 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,610 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#14 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,802 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#15 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,077 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#13 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermes Hotel

Property: Hermes Hotel
Address: 19 Apollonos | Plaka/ Acropolis/ Syntagma, Athens 105 57, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Athens
#16 Family Hotel in Athens
#17 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hermes Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays and Agoda so you can book your Hermes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hermes Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing