We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would definitely stay there again”
Review of Hermes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hermes Hotel
Ranked #19 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Wollongong, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Would definitely stay there again”
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in October. Having caught the x95 bus from the Airport, got off at Syntagma Square and walked 5 mins down the road - looked to our left up a little side street and there it was! Our room was quite small, but clean and comfortable. Small balcony was a bonus. The included buffet breakfast was great! Apart from the usual suspects on display, there were also other delicacies - one morning, even tiramisu cups! One of the lovely staff stopped by everyone's table each morning to assist with any travel or tour plans they had for the day. She provided a street map and drew a route on it for where we wanted to walk. The only reason I'm not giving 5 stars is there is no tea & coffee making facilities in the room (which appears to be par for the course in Europe?) and a scary little rickety lift, which saw me use the stairs more than I would have liked :) I also found the mattress way too hard, buy hey, they can't please everyone. But, overall, very friendly, clean, comfortable, handy to everything.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Hermes Hotel, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Dear Diane C
We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor and for choosing us for your visit to Athens. In our attempt to improve we surely value all the feedback we can get from our guests. Hope to see you again.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,526 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    740
    621
    120
    36
    8
See reviews for
372
625
103
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We stayed in the hotel for 3 nights, indeed the location is perfect.
It is located in the very center of Athens, yet not on the busiest street, causing it to be fairly quiet.
The staff was very friendly and helpful (the staff quickly transformed 2 single beds to a double bed when we asked for it). The rooms were to our liking, no complaints there. The only comment is that you occasionally hear noises from your neighbors, or the cleaning staff on the corridors, depending on the room you are in. Breakfast was just fine.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Hermes Hotel, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Dear Groentje
Thank you for sharing all of your observations, we appreciate your many kind comments about our service and amenities. Your feedback helps us examine our achievements and to improve our service. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skiathos, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We stayed at the Hermes for 5 days on our first trip to Athens.
The staff were excellent, nothing was any trouble to them, special mentions to Elias, Olga & Eva who were very accommodating with all requests we made.
Breakfast was great, scrambled eggs, beans & bacon or sausage, toast, contintental & greek specialities, everything was there!!
They also serve complimentary coffee, hot chocolate & biscuits in the lobby every day until 19.00pm.
The location couldn`t be better, easy access to Syntagma Square, Monastiraki & all the sights, buses,metros & taxis all close by, room was very modern & clean, & the bed extremely comfortable, to be honest I could not find any faults at all with this hotel & we will defintiely be staying here again on our next trip to Athens.....

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andigib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Hermes Hotel, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear andigib
Thank you so much for sharing a photo and posting a review following your recent stay with us and I am pleased that it was a memorable and that you felt it was wonderful. I have passed your kind words to all the team and we do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westgate-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Upon arrival the staff were incredibly welcoming and remained charming and helpful all week. Whilst our room was quite small, it was perfectly comfortable and the bathroom was spotless with instant hot water all day. The air conditioning is controlled in the room and is really quiet. The breakfast is nothing short of astonishing, from "full English" through "Continental" to Greek specialities. Complimentary coffee, tea and hot chocolate are available all day in the reception area lounge, which is large and comfortable.
The location is ideal, just a couple of minutes from Syntagma Square, where the X95 bus and the Metro arrive from the airport and there are local buses and thousands of taxis. The hotel is in the Plaka district, which is like an old Greek village, packed with restaurants, tavernas and shops. The main shopping streets of Athens are only 2 blocks away.
We definitely recommend this hotel to everyone and can't wait to return!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Hermes Hotel, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Dear Chris H
Thank you for posting a lovely detailed review of your stay. The hotel is indeed ideally located, set in the historical heart of Athens surrounding by archaeological sites within walking distance, restaurants, cafes and the main shopping street Ermou. We really appreciate your kind compliments and for highlighting so many of the aspects that make the hotel special, and look forward to welcoming you once more at the earliest opportunity.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed at hermes hotel for 5 nights and we had a wonderful stay!
The staff are extremely helpful and friendly and on arrival showed us all the places we wanted to see!

The location is really good and is in walking distance to all the main attractions and to the metro stations. The surrounding area of the hotel are nice with lots of lovely restrauants and coffee shops.

The breakfast was good and the rooms were very clean. The rooms are a little small but is enough for two people!

On the last day the hotel kept our luggage in the storage so we could still enjoy a full day as we had a late flight.

Overall the hotel was lovely with a great location and is clean and is run by very friendly and helpful staff.
I would recommend this hotel and would stay here again if I went to Athens!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny9012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Hermes Hotel, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Dear Jenny9012
Thank you very much for your review and for submitting this wonderful picture! We are delighted to read your comment and we are very glad you were satisfied with our hotel! We shall share your encouraging comments with the rest of the staff. We really look forward to welcoming you soon again!
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

The location is great, we could get everywhere by foot, there are a lot of very good restaurants and tavernas nearby. The room is not big but enough for two persons. We had window on the street and could sleep with opened balcony - the street is quiet. The staff is excellent - very friendly, pleasant and helpful. Special thanks to Dorina - she knows everything about Athens and she helped us a lot. Every morning she or her assistant were at our disposal.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NataliyaL575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Hermes Hotel, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear NataliyaL575,
It was a real pleasure seeing you every morning so happy with a big smile.
I am glad I managed to offer you an exceptional stay and I hope you will come again soon.
Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Close to Syntagma metro station in the centre of Athens, yet a very quiet hotel. Clean comfortable room and excellent breakfast. Tour representative very helpful every morning at breakfast and the reception staff very accommodating. Even though we moved to another location and only stayed at the hotel for 2 nights, the staff impressed upon us that we could call in at any time if we needed assistance. We were pleased to be able to leave our luggage with them on our last day in Athens, as we had a very late flight from the airport.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Hermes Hotel, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Elizabeth M
It is always a pleasure to receive such kind reviews. Our aim is to make our guests’ stay an unforgettable experience and your appreciating comments encourage us to increase our efforts in offering the utmost to our valuable guests.
We look very forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#13 of 326 in Athens
3,273 reviews
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#30 of 326 in Athens
1,711 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#16 of 326 in Athens
2,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#17 of 326 in Athens
3,761 reviews
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#14 of 326 in Athens
3,031 reviews
Plaka
Electra Metropolis Athens
Electra Metropolis Athens
#11 of 326 in Athens
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermes Hotel

Property: Hermes Hotel
Address: 19 Apollonos | Plaka, Syntagma, Monastiraki, Athens 105 57, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Athens
#16 Family Hotel in Athens
#17 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hermes Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Bookgreece.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hermes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hermes Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing