We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, location and hotel”
Review of Hermes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hermes Hotel
Ranked #19 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Limassol, Cyprus
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Excellent service, location and hotel”
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Amazing hotel, clean and comfortable. The location is in the city center, just a few meters away from the Syntagma or Monastiraki metro stations, the famous Plaka and the Ermou shopping street. The breakfast provides a variety of options whilst the WiFi is free in the rooms. Will be visiting again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dora C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Hermes Hotel, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear Dora C
Thank you for taking the time to share your review about your recent stay with us. Your kind words are most appreciated. I am thrilled that you felt your room was comfortable, the breakfast tastefull and our location very central! We hope to see you soon!
All the best wishes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,526 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    740
    621
    120
    36
    8
See reviews for
372
625
103
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nicosia, Cyprus
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

A very cute small hotel in a great location in the center (walking distance to everything in the center - Ermou, Monastiraki, Thyseio, Acropoli Museum, Kolonaki, Plaka)
Very welcoming staff!
Nice clean confortable rooms!
Free coffee, tea, biscuits etc at the lobby all day!
Great breakfast!
Nice roof top veranda with a view!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaxElmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Hermes Hotel, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear MaxElmar
Many thanks for your feedback following your recent stay with us. Overall I was delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and passed on your feedback to my team. We hope to see you again soon.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

This was the second time I've stayed at the Hermes Hotel and I was not disappointed.

The Hermes Hotel is very reasonably priced in an excellent location. Syntagma Square is only 3 or 4 minutes walk (handy for the metro and the X95 bus service to the airport, just 5 euros for the bus which takes between 50 - 60 minutes) The restaurants around Plaka are just a few minutes walk and all the places of interest are not too far away.

The hotel is very clean and comfortable, the staff are very friendly and there is a good choice of items available at breakfast. At breakfast there was always someone around asking guests (speaking many languages) if there is anything they can do to improve guests stay and helping new arrivals plan their day – pointing out attractions etc on maps. The hotel has is a small roof terrace which is very pleasant (guests can also use the roof terrace at the sister hotel – Hotel Plaka which has a much larger terrace and it has a bar in the evening and lovely views of the Acropolis).

The hotel also has free Wi-fi which is available all over the hotel including the bedrooms and there is a desktop computer guests can use in the reception / lounge area. Free tea, coffee and biscuits are available for guest during the day. There is also a very reasonable priced 24 hour laundry service available.

I’ll be back and I will be telling my friends to stay there too.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PalaceJohn2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Hermes Hotel, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear PalaceJohn2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful comments following your last visit to the hotel. As returning and much-valued guests your feedback is most important to us and I am therefore thrilled that we have once again met your expectations and made this visit another superb stay. I have already passed on your kind words to my great team. We hope to see you once again in 2014.
My best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 January 2014

This hotel has all stars for comfort, central location, accommodating staff. First, the staff. These women and men go the extra mile to make sure you are comfortable, your concerns are addressed, and that you have what you need to enjoy your stay in Athens. Add to that--particularly for travelers from the U.S., who are used to crappy "free" breakfasts ala the holiday inn--you can enjoy a high quality breakfast each morning, complete with delicious cappuccino. Fruit, feta, eggs, breads, cereal, and more, are included in the cost of our room. But the real topper is that the manager talks to all guests at breakfast and asks if there are problems--and then she solves them! The first day I was offered a better room, with a balcony and a view. The staff located a tailor for me to alter clothes, recommended a moderately priced cab, told us where "real people" shop and eat, in other words, made us comfortable and made sure we did not waste money or time. PLUS, they have a mini bar available if you just want a drink in their lounge after a long day. They have a gorgeous and comfortable room to sit and talk (and have a drink) if you want to get out of your room but don't want to go out. No complaints. AND, it cost about $120 a night for a double room. My roommate and I spent the equivalent of about $60 per night and had zero problems.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good, but the ones with balcony or view are nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank muffy_sunde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Hermes Hotel, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear
I was absolutely delighted to read your feedback following your recent stay with us at the Hermes Hotel. I have already passed on your kind words to the team members mentioned and the rest of the team. I do hope that you will join us again soon.
My best wishes for a happy 2014!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crowthorne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We wanted to visit the acropolis and were very close. All staff were very courteous and helpful. While at breakfast one of the staff came round to each table and asked your plans for the day and drew on map best way to get to acropolis, how much and other places we wanted to visit. Also offered free coffee & tea all day and we popped in twice for coffee and to use facilities although we had checked out. They kept our cases in locked room till late afternoon when our taxi arrived. Good shower, plenty of hot water and comfortable bed.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zigalig99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Hermes Hotel, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear Zigalig99
Thank you for taking the time to leave your kind words following your recent stay with us. I was glad to read that we met your expectations and that you also liked the attentive service we provide which makes this a special place to stay. I will be sure to share your lovely comments with the team who will be most appreciative. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.
Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larnaka City, Cyprus
1 review
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Very clean room and comfortable bed. the management was very good as well and the staff was friendly and helpful. The hotel is located in a very central location in Athens, next to the shops, restaurants and cafes. 100% recommended

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nekt K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Hermes Hotel, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear Nekt K
Thank you for sharing feedback on your recent stay with us. It is wonderful to know that you had a great experience and your stay was a memorable one. We will be looking forward to welcome you back on your next trip to Athens.
Best wishes for 2014!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limassol, Cyprus
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Very clean, comfortable beds, excellent breakfast, top location and great staff who really made the time to ensure our stay (two nights) was as comfortable as possible. Would recommend it to anyone looking for the a top three star stay in Athens.

Room Tip: Superior room refers to two double beds but they are actually two single beds or 1 1/2 beds put tog...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Hermes Hotel, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Dear Fiona Z
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a trip advisor review. We are delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed yourselves with every aspect of the hotel, including the friendly staff, the rooms and the standard of service. Thank you for your recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.
Best wishes for 2014!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#13 of 326 in Athens
3,273 reviews
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#30 of 326 in Athens
1,711 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#16 of 326 in Athens
2,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#17 of 326 in Athens
3,764 reviews
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#14 of 326 in Athens
3,033 reviews
Plaka
Electra Metropolis Athens
Electra Metropolis Athens
#11 of 326 in Athens
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermes Hotel

Property: Hermes Hotel
Address: 19 Apollonos | Plaka, Syntagma, Monastiraki, Athens 105 57, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Athens
#16 Family Hotel in Athens
#17 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hermes Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hermes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hermes Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing