We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely fabulous!”
Review of Hermes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hermes Hotel
Ranked #18 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely fabulous!”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

After hearing good reviews about this hostel, we had high hopes of a wonderful stay in Athens. On our entrance the gentleman at reception knew to expect us which made it a personalised stay.The hotel is perfectly situated, out of the way of the hustle and bustle of Greek city life, but a few streets away from Monistiraki and Syntagma. Not only this, but a walk away was a stunning view of the Acropolis. The hotel itself was clean, welcoming and exactly what we had read about. The breakfast had a wide selection and we found Eva, a member of staff extremely helpful with our itinerary for each day. It was clear that a lot of thought had been put into the breakfast on offer. Not only this but the room we stayed in was lovely, maids made our bed and cleaned the room but were not too intrusive as we hardly saw them at all. All in all a perfect stay. Couldn't have asked for anything more.

We would definitely stay here again if we were to visit Athens.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelikeBerker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Hermes Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear MelikeBerker
We are honored that you chose Hermes Hotel for your visit to Athens. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. We of course are most grateful for your recognition of our team and their efforts especially Eva's. We are looking forward to that next visit.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,491 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    716
    612
    118
    36
    8
See reviews for
364
612
98
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

The hotel is also close to the tram station. Friendly staff and a peaceful ambience. If you have 20 minutes of your time, you can walk to the nearest station from the hotel. However, the breakfast was quite expensive and our family took it outside the hotel. The service was exceptional and it is a perfect hotel. The specialty of this hotel is that they offer free internet access with Wi-Fi I have visited this hotel many times on business, visits and I should say that this hotel has kept up its stellar reputation. I will truly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to visit Athens.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WackerBoys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Hermes Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear WackerBoys
Thank you for choosing Hermes Hotel. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and that we exceeded your expectations. We apologize for any misunderstanding about breakfast as breakfast is complimentary for all the guests. However we are happy knowing that you will return back!
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 March 2014

i spend a wonderfull 4days; i was with my family and our triple room was nice & clean ; the only problem was the elevator too small ; as per the breakfast i love it same for the coffe break during the afternoon and the suff is very helpfull ;

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rita n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Hermes Hotel, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear rita n
Thank you very much for your positive review. We do look forward to your return and hope it will be soon!
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Just near Syntagma Square and walking distance to Monasiraki, Thissio and other areas.
Metro goes from here on blue line to airport - €14 one way for 2 people and very easy.
Price includes a buffet breakfast with lots of choice and variety.
Member of staff comes round the breakfast room every morning asking if you need any help with any part of planning your day etc - nice touch for people who haven't planned before travelling.
Coffee and other hot drinks served with biscuits free of charge in Reception most of the day on request.
Sister hotel - Plaka - close by and has great rooftop view of Acropolis.
Room - clean, tidy and good value. Fridge, hair dryer and safety deposit Box.
Fantastic powerful shower.
Would stay here again.

Room Tip: We had no view and the hotel is in a typical narrow city street so don't expect lovely views. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris2107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Hermes Hotel, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear christough2107
Thank you very much for leaving a review on TripAdvisor. We appreciate you staying with us, as well as all of your kind comments. We do hope you will return to us in the future.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Congleton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

Excellent hotel in good location. Rooms small as with most European City hotels, but modern and clean. Breakfast good and manager there each morning to help with days planning and help if any problems. Overall a good stay.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bryan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Hermes Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Bryan N,
It is with great pleasure I read your positive review after a five days stay in Hermes Hotel. I thank you for your kind comments and I hope you will come back.
Best regards from all of us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

I spent one night at this hotel. The room was very clean and although it was small but it had a very nice and quite big balcony. Breakfast was really good for a 3 star hotel. The staffs were the kindest I've ever seen. Another positive point of the hotel was its location since it is in the heart of city center and there are lots of bars and restaurants nearby.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Monamona86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Hermes Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Monamona86,
I thank you for you enthusiastic review and high score. I really hope that you will be able to stay longer on a future trip to Athens.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We booked this hotel as part of an easyjet package. We chose it because it had great reviews and we were not disappointed. First it should be stressed that this doesn't claim to be a 4 star hotel and the reviews are based on value. The hotel is perfect for anyone looking for a good value small hotel in central Athens. The location in Apollonos Street is great for anyone travelling in by bus or metro from the airport as it's just a few hundred metres from Syntygma Square. It's also just a few hundred metres from all of the major sites and the bars, restaurants and shops of Plaka and Monistariki. Within seconds of leaving the hotel you can be looking up at the Acropolis above you or sitting at a pavement cafe. Apollonos Street itself is really just a narrow lane (like so many "streets" in Plaka) - it's a bit run down due to Greece's economic crisis but felt perfectly safe - maybe that's because of all the church supply shops which dominate the street. The hotel itself is small and doesn't have a restaurant or bar. However, they serve a great breakfast (hot or cold buffet) and there are tea/coffee/biscuits available in the afternoon. Guests are invited to bring their own drinks in. The rooms are smallish but clean and comfortable. For British guests I'd compare them to a good standard/new Premier Inn. There is a free safety deposit box and good free wifi throughout the hotel. Above all the staff are really friendly and helpful - nothing is too much trouble and they are keen to give advice on where to eat / drink / visit etc. I was a bit disappointed that they were cheering for Olympiakos against United but understandable I suppose! Take the opportunity to visit the roof terrace at the sister Plaka Hotel just around the corner - enjoy an early evening drink with stunning views of the Acropolis. Wonderful even in the February rain. I would recommend the Hermes to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gog1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Hermes Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Gog1,
Your long and detailed review is mostly appreciated as well as your high score. I thank you and hope that on a future match you will come back and be even more satisfied.
Thank you again.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#12 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,171 reviews
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#30 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,647 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#16 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,159 reviews
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#15 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,897 reviews
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#2 of 325 in Athens
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermes Hotel

Property: Hermes Hotel
Address: 19 Apollonos | Plaka, Syntagma, Monastiraki, Athens 105 57, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Athens
#16 Family Hotel in Athens
#17 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hermes Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Bookgreece.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hermes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hermes Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing