We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location”
Review of Hermes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hermes Hotel
Ranked #15 of 281 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 June 2014

A great hotel very close to the Acropolis and the other great Athens sites. The hotel is in a quiet side street, the rooms are a good size and breakfast is more than adequate. Wifi works well in the room and there is free tea and coffee available until 7pm. There are great little coffee shops and restaurants nearby. Staff are very courteous and friendly. I would stay here again if ever I happen to be in Athens again

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Hermes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Jane W,
We are delighted to read that we matched all your expectations! We thank you for taking the time to share your experience on TA and for your high score. Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,574)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

595 - 601 of 1,574 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2014

This hotel is perfectly located in the heart of Plaka which is within a walking distance to all the major sites, restaurants, shops and the major monuments.

Our rooms were very decent for the price we paid, a little outdated but clean and well presented for what you would expect from 3.5 to a 4 star which I would rate.

We visited their sister hotel for a few beers to see the spectacular views of the Acropolis lit up at night from their rooftop balcony.

This was truly magnificent and worth going to see.

We stayed here for 3 nights in total, the hotel provided great service and allowed us to leave our luggage in storage while we traveled to Mykonos and Santorini.

They provided a laundry service for 9 euros a bag which was great as we had travelled extensively prior and were running out of clean clothes.

Breakfast was basic and was included but we preferred eating out as we wanted to try new things.

The team here was very helpful and polite, they always had a smile and we're very kind.

We would definitely stay here again the next time we visit Athens.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Hermes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Dear Chan N,
We are delighted to read that your were so satisfied from your hotel choice in Athens. It is as you are describing, our location in perfect for a stay in the centre of Athens and for visiting all mayor attractions, shops restaurants and very close to the metro station with direct line to the airport and port. As you experienced, we think of our clients needs and try to provide services that will offer them a pleasant and relaxing stay. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Stayed here for two nights in June. We were visiting a friend who is from Athens and she told us that some of the areas where the big hotels are located are really not that nice anymore since the recession, and to avoid Omonia area. So we went for this hotel and the location was perfect, right near everything you want. Also Athens is rammed full of taxis (and all sorts of traffic, the driving is bonkers!) so it is really easy to get around the city should you find yourself far from your hotel late at night.

The hotel is clean, and has a very modern style. Free tea and coffee in reception during the day, free wi-fi worked OK, good air-con, hairdryer and toiletries, computer and printer in the lobby was useful for printing our boarding cards for the return journey. I would say don't bother paying the extra for the balcony view room - the streets are narrow and you won't see much from your balcony except the window directly opposite you! If there are more than two of you get a taxi from/to the airport, it works out nearly the same price as the metro.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank splodgeness999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Hermes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Dear Splodgeness68,
I thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your positive experience on TA. All your little tips will be helpful to future readers to make their choice. We hope to see you again on a future trip to Athens. Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Very nice hotel located in a great location. The hotel is a short walking distance to many restaurants and attractions in Athens. The staff is very helpful and nice to deal with. We enjoyed the nice breakfast every morning, even on our last day when we had to leave before the opening of the dining room, they made sure that food was available for us before our departure. The only down side is that our room was small, however it was clean and the bed was comfortable.

Overall a very enjoyable stay and a hotel that we would recommend whenever staying in Plaka.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lmrl1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Hermes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2014

Dear Lmrl1964,

I am sorry I did not thank you earlier for choosing Hermes Hotel for your stay in Athens and for your positive review. It is always very rewording to read that our efforts to provide our guests with the best is acknowledged. We thank you for your enthusiastic recommendation.
Look forward welcoming you again.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We had an enjoyable stay at the Hermes Hotel The location is very convenient, as it is just a stones throw from the main shopping district and just a 15 minute walk from the Acropolis and other attractions. It's also just a 10 minute walk from metro stations both to the airport and Pireaus.

The highlight of the hotel is the rooftop with partial views of the Acropolis and its sister hotel, the Plaka Hotel, with amazing uninterrupted views of the Acropolis and the town. Service was friendly and the breakfast served daily was excellent.

However, there were a few shortcomings which for a hotel of this supposed quality were disappointing. The bar fridges were not cold and every morning at breakfast the staff insisted on asking how you would spend your day. Some reviewers say this is a positive; we found it quite annoying and overly officious, particularly when some of the information about when museums would be open was wrong.

Overall I would recommend this hotel if people are prepared to ignore a few basic shortcomings.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Oracle128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Hermes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Dear Oracle128,
We thank you for closing our hotel for your short stay in Athens. We are glad you mentioned the great location, roof terrace and breakfast. As for the shortcomings at this point your feedback will be taken into consideration for addressing the issue. The truth is that all of our clients up to know had only positive things the say about this service. Taking honest feedback and acting upon it is our best approach to ensuring that your next visit will be an-absolutely-positive one.Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Hermes Hotel is in a great location near the Plaka, main street and Syntagma Square. About 15 mins from the Acropolis Museum. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Staff were friendly and able to answer questions for directions and locations. Breakfast was a mix of hot and continental and the staff moving from table to table in the morning, was helpful in providing information on transport and tourist attractions. PC is available for guest use with a printer.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dsshen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Hermes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Dear dsshen,
Thank you for endorsing our Hotel on Tripadvisor. We appreciate you underlining the efficiency of our staff and the location of the hotel. Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Three friends and I spent several nights at the Hermes in late May and were more than satisfied. The location was excellent, within walking distance of the Acropolis, many excellent restaurants and Syntagma Square. The lobby was modern and attractive, with comfortable chairs to sit in while waiting to meet up with others in our group, and the breakfast buffet was excellent. A very helpful hotel representative goes around each morning to offer help in planning one's itinerary for the day. The room was more than adequate for our needs, and I would recommend this hotel to friends looking for a place to stay in Athens.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GGHHartsdale_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Hermes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Dear GGHHartsdale_NY,
We are more than happy to read that you and your friends had a lovely stay with us and that location and breakfast were "excellent " for you. Thank you for your kind comments on our "helpful" staff . We loved your pictures! Thank you for recommending Hermes Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#10 of 281 in Athens
3,379 reviews
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#30 of 281 in Athens
1,796 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#12 of 281 in Athens
2,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 281 in Athens
3,887 reviews
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#11 of 281 in Athens
3,201 reviews
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermes Hotel

Address: 19 Apollonos | Plaka, Syntagma, Monastiraki, Athens 105 57, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Athens
#12 Family Hotel in Athens
#13 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £56 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hermes Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hermes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hermes Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing