We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location with great staff”
Review of Hermes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hermes Hotel
Ranked #16 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed here back in February for the Olmpiakos v Man Utd game. The room was excellent.

The staff are always very helpful. We arrived late on Sunday and the receptionist told us where to find restaurants' that were still open. We were also told how to arrange a day trip to an island which was a reel bonus.

Two unexpected pleasures are free coffee and tea being available all afternoon. You also have access to their sister hotel which has a roof terrace offering great views of the entire city. Ask reception about this.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Hermes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2014

Dear Richard F
I thank you for choosing Hermes hotel for your stay in Athens back in February and for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. I hope your team will play again with a Greek team, so that we have the oportunity of welocming you back.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,585)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

588 - 594 of 1,585 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2014

The hotel is in a good central location but is not easy to reach by car. The centre of Athens is very busy, with narrow one-way streets and nowhere to park so do be aware of that if you are arriving by car! The reception staff and excellent customer service advisor made us feel very welcome the moment we arrived and we were pleasantly surprised by our modern and well appointed room, not a large room but a very comfortable one. There is a spacious lounge area on the ground floor where magazines, tea, coffee, water and biscuits are available. There is also a computer and printer for customer use plus free wifi in the rooms. The local area is full of cafes and restaurants and all the central part of Athens, including the Acropolis, is within walking distance. Breakfast is excellent and the customer service advisor is there each morning to offer assistance and advice. We very much enjoyed our three night stay at the Hermes Hotel and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobsmumanddad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Hermes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2014

Dear TheBroadbeans
Thank you for choosing our Hermes Hotel for your short visit in Athens. Though your first experience was difficult, by car, I am glad we managed to offer you a relaxing and enjoyable time. Your promise to come back makes us very proud and all our staff sends you our best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I absolutely loved the hotel!!!
The location is very convenient - you can get on foot almost wherever, as it is very central, and it is very easy to get there from the airport. The staff are very friendly and offer help with anything you wish. The food is great - I loved that the breakfast included some Greek cuisine. The room was spacious and very clean.
I am sure to return some day.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jolanta C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Hermes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2014

Dear Jolanta C
We are very proud to have earned your recommendation and your promise to return one day to Hermes Hotel. Thank you for taking time to share the experience of your stay with us with other fellow travellers. Hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I ditto other reviews which are raving over this hotel's location, friendly and helpful staff and overall value. Great location enabled us to walk to neighboring attractions during our 3-day stay. Could hardly believe how quiet the streets were at night as we slept with our window open. The professional and friendly concierge at breakfast helped us with sightseeing tips. Wonderful breakfasts are included. The desk went out of its way on Easter Sunday to fix an electrical problem which we had caused in our room. Typical European rooms are small but clean and well appointed. Would absolutely stay there again and again. They are simply the best!

Room Tip: Worth it to ask for a room with a door to an outdoor balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BobbieOT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Hermes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2014

Dear BobbieOT
I thank you for your review with special mention on our "friendly" staff and "wonderful" breakfast (included in the rate). Your promise to come back makes us very proud. Please check on our website all offers and different types of rooms.
Best regards to your friends

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Our family absolutely enjoyed our stay here last summer. We had a family room - 2 rooms with interconnecting door, each with its own bathroom, which was perfect. The rooms are cozy, comfortable, and tastefully decorated. The location in Plaka is great for families with teenagers who want to go out exploring. It is convenient for all the major sites, and near many restaurants and cafes. The staff were friendly, kind, and helpful in every way. We would stay there again when back in Athens!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Hermes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2014

Dear Lin C
I am sorry it took me so long to thank you for sharing your positive experience at Hermes hotel on TripAdvisor. I am glad our family interconnecting rooms matched your expectations. We look forward to your next visit.
Best regards to all of you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We booked into the Hermes Hotel again for two nights, enroute to a Greek island, having had a great time there in 2013. This central hotel in Plaka is conveniently placed for many visitor attractions. Airport Metro and Bus links are also nearby. The room was fine and comfortable. Excellent breakfasts are served and the staff could not be more friendly and helpful. We will certainly book to stay there again in 2015.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Hermes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2014

Dear Charles B

I am sorry it took me so long to thank you for choosing Hermes hotel for your stop over to Athens.
I am so glad you enjoyed your second stay with us and we all look forward seeing you again through our doors next year. Please do not hesitate contacting me directly for the best possible service.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The hotel is ideally located, in a walkable distance to all attractions. The room is rather small, however comfortable. The efficient air condition was highly appreciated. Staff is very helpful doing their best to advise guests. Breakfast is very good. The hotel recommands the Plaka hotel roof (5 minutes walk) : don’t miss the view by night. Altogether, a very good option.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank eylon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Hermes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2014

Dear nylon,

I am sorry I did not thank you earlier for choosing Hermes Hotel for your short stay in Athens and for taking the time to review us on TA. I am glad you enjoyed the location, staff and our breakfast. We hope to have the chance welcoming you again on a future trip.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#12 of 282 in Athens
3,419 reviews
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#32 of 282 in Athens
1,819 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#10 of 282 in Athens
2,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 282 in Athens
3,931 reviews
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Omonia
Athens Center Square
Athens Center Square
#23 of 282 in Athens
1,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermes Hotel

Address: 19 Apollonos Street | Plaka, Syntagma, Monastiraki, Athens 105 57, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Athens
#12 Family Hotel in Athens
#13 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £52 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hermes Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hermes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hermes Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing