We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing staff and great guest experience.”
Review of Hermes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hermes Hotel
Ranked #18 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
70 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Amazing staff and great guest experience.”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed in the Hermes hotel for three nights. We loved the staff as they were so courteous and helpful. At breakfast the staff came by to help with the map and the key sights to see while we were in Athens. The breakfast was fantastic and had lots of choices. The staff worked so hard to clean up and ensure they replaced food when it was finished. For families there is a great little play room as well which my daughter loved. The family room was spacious, had Wifi, a refrigerator and the air condition that worked well very. The hotel was a 15 minute walk to the Acropolis but a 5 minute walk to the Plaka flea market which was so fun to hang out. We hope to return to Athens and would definitely stay again in the Hermes Hotel

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RenandIssey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Hermes Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Renandlssey,
We thank you sooooo much for your review! We will pass on your good comments to our staff: housekeeping, cooks, lobby as such comments are the best encouragement for all. Thank you for your feedback. We definitely expect you to stand up to your promise, and hope that you will come back. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,491 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    716
    612
    118
    36
    8
See reviews for
364
612
98
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Don't let your first impression of the rather unimposing appearance on a slightly Shabbat side street, this is a great place to stay...excellent location within blocks of Syntagma Square, one block from a main pedestrian shopping street, restaurants, etc. Good breakfast buffet, clean rooms and exceptionally friendly and helpful staff...especially the young ladies who visit every table in the breakfast room each morning to check ok on you and provide any assistance, advice possible. Good choice in Athens.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GNorris1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Hermes Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear GNorris1,
I deeply thank you for your review and for taking the time to share it on TA. I love your description of us being "excellent"! We would be glad to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Stayed at this hotel for a couple of nights. The atmosphere was welcoming from the very beginning. The rooms were impeccably clean, and the location excellent. Within walking distance of most sites including: Parliament, Temple of Zeus, Parthenon and the Acropolis museum. Also close to Monastiraki and Plaka which are very good for shopping or just strolling around. Breakfast and wifi included, and someone comes around at breakfast to help plan your stay. This may not be everyone's cup of tea but if it's your first time in Athens it's very helpful. Really enjoyed our stay here and would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Taetau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Hermes Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Taetau,
Thank you for your “simply amazing” feedback and for highly recommending Hermes Hotel!
Your review I am sure will be of great help to many TA readers.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biloela, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I stayed at this hotel in August 2013

The Room - The room was a lot more dated then the professional photos that you see. It was a little small but the bathroom was very nice.

The Hotel and Staff - By reading other reviews they have a sister hotel that has great views of the Acropolis. I don't think we were told about this. But from the Upstairs balcony we could just see a view of it. The staff were very helpful when we needed directions or help. There was a lift or you could use the stairs as well. It was good having two options if you didn't want to wait for the one lift.

The Location - The hotel was located in a very small narrow street which was just around the corner from all the main sights. There was lots of restaurants in walking distance and even had a few in the same street and a small shop.

WiFi - The WiFi worked really good in the rooms. I used face-time easily on my iPad.

Overall the hotel was a little out dated but for the price and location it was a good stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alanna1622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Hermes Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear alanna1622,
Thank you for mentioning that overall it was a good stay for the price and location and especially for you very nice photos.. As our repeated clients reviewed, we do renovations and changes every year, so I hope that on your next visit you will choose to stay with us again. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Our stay at the Hermes Hotel was a very comfotable end to our holiday in Greece.
Travelling with 3 children made it difficult to find accomodation in Athens but Hermes was fantastic as it provided us with 2 rooms with a common entrance which was perfect.
All the staff were professional, friendly and very helpful - the rooms were clean and tidy.
The buffet breakfast was excellent and plentiful.
This boutique hotel has a fantastic position in the heart of the shopping district. It is also surrounded by plenty of restaurants and sight-seeing heaven. We walked to the Acropolis and Syntagma square.
We enjoyed our stay at Hermes Hotel and can recommend it to any Athens visitor.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manolizza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Hermes Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear manilizza,
We in Hermes hotel really feel "patron of travellers"! Your brilliant review is incredibly motivating for us and we are very grateful the you took time to write about us. Our hotel has been ‘a-family-affair’ and families are most welcome in our connecting rooms that can accommodate up to 3 children (not easy to find in Athens at a fair price). We very much would enjoy seeing you passing through our doors again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

This is a conveniently located ,small hotel that is relatively inexpensive and clean with good family rooms. We walked everywhere , the breakfast was fantastic, great WIFI in rooms and staff very helpful and friendly. Special mention to 'KIVELI' who helped all the guests by welcoming them during their breakfast and offering helpful advice on various places to visit and how to get there !!! I would definitely stay return to the Hermes !!

Room Tip: Family rooms are two inter connecting rooms ... Perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annaapostolos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Hermes Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear annaapostolos,
We definitely expect you to stand up to your promise, and hope that you will come back with your family. We will pass on your special mention to our Kiveli, as she will be very happy that her hard work is mostly recognised. Kind regards to all of you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Stayed end June for 3 nights.
Great location ,easy distance from Syntagma Metro station.
The tight streets had me nervous,you wouldn't know a hotel was going to be part of the street.
In fact there are many , but its tight .
Great ,quiet ,clean Hotel.
Breakfast excellent. Kiveli [staff member who makes herself known to each guest at breakfast] very helpful with how to get somewhere ,everything.
Only a short walk to some great shops and great restaurants .And the Acropolis.
Easy to get a little lost .Keep the map handy.
Sister hotel PLAKA ,not far ,5 minutes ,recommend a drink up top to watch the sun go down,
And neat set up, great service . Best view in Town.
Perfect stay in Athens .

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Hermes Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Geoff T,
One could not wish for a better review; iAchiving a " perfect" review with high score it only brings smiles to all of us. I hope you will keep for long the precious holidays you had at Hermes Hotel.
Thank you and best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#12 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,171 reviews
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#31 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,652 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#16 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,162 reviews
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#14 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,907 reviews
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#2 of 325 in Athens
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermes Hotel

Property: Hermes Hotel
Address: 19 Apollonos | Plaka, Syntagma, Monastiraki, Athens 105 57, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Athens
#16 Family Hotel in Athens
#17 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hermes Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hermes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hermes Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing