We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad”
Review of Hermes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hermes Hotel
Ranked #18 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Not bad”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed at Hermes Hotel for 2 nights. Location was good for exploring the city, though the neighbourhood did not feel the safest at night. The room was a little dated, but we did not really mind as it was clean. Wifi connection was rather poor and intermittent, my WhatsApp messages couldn't go through half of the time. The breakfast spread was great. All in all, we enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank estellebyul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Hermes Hotel, responded to this review, 24 September 2014
Dear estellbyul
We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at Hermes hotel especialy cleanliness and our rich buffet breakfast. As for the area, Plaka is the safest in Athens and the fact that there is not a lot of light at night, as the shops are closed, this does not affect the safety. In our attempt to improve we surely value all the feedback we can get from our guests. Hope to see you again.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,491 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    716
    612
    118
    36
    8
See reviews for
364
612
98
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
158 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Location: Very good.
Service: Great.
Cleanness: Bad. Cockroaches found in lobby.
Rooms: Tinny, small beds, small bathroom. Uncomfortable.
Internet: Free but does not work from your room !!!!!! ...
Value: awful. The price is to hight compared to the value delivered.
I want to highlight that my rating is based on the negative value for money (high price and low quality of rooms, facilities and essential services).
I bet there might be some other better hotels in the are at a better price.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank rodarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Hermes Hotel, responded to this review, 24 September 2014
Dear rodarg
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to post your comments. In our attempt to improve, we surely value all the feedback (whether is negative or positive). Though I am glad you enjoyed the "very good" location and service, I apologize for causing you disappointment from an incidence at the lobby which is an extremely rare case.Our hotel does regular disinfection from professional team.
It would be my pleasure to personally find you a room that will match all your expectations should you decide to try us once more, which I sincerely hope you will. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly before booking.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Our family of four had the family suite, a room for the parents and one for our teens connected by a door. The facilities were good and the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. Hermes is a hotel which is clearly pulling out all the stops to make clients comfortable and welcome. Excellent value and would definitely recommend for a brief stay in Athens.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Hermes Hotel, responded to this review, 24 September 2014
Dear Sharon R
We really like to ensure that our guests are comfortable and are able to benefit from a relaxing break with us and so I was delighted to read that you were happy with your family room and most of all the service you received from our staff.
I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fargo, ND
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Our family of four stayed for two nights at the Hermes Hotel, July 7-9, 2014. We had two rooms that were next to each other with an outside door that could be locked. We arrived very early in the morning as we came from Santorini (a must if you are going to Greece!). Anyway, we were greeted by the lovely Margarita at the front desk. She could not have been any nicer. She told us our rooms were not ready, but that they would lock up our luggage and valuables in the safe. She then told us that we were welcome to the complimentary breakfast because it was still being served. We were hungry as we had gotten up at 4:30 in the morning to get to the airport to check in for our flight and had not eaten. Their breakfast here is very, very good. The lobby is very nice and has a computer so you can check in for your flights. The rooms were clean and nice. The location was excellent and we walked to the Acropolis and all the sights around it. We would definately stay at this hotel again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jtownleyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Hermes Hotel, responded to this review, 24 September 2014
Dear jtownleyc
Thank you for your warm comments about your stay at Hermes Hotel.
It is always so nice to read such complimentary comments about our staff as they aim to make every guests’ stay memorable. I will ensure that your kind words are passed onto Margarita and that her service is duly recognized. As you experienced we have looked at all little details that will make our guests stay memorable.
I do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel soon.
Best regards to all your family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lismore, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We previously stayed here in 2008, and were happy. There have been changes for the better.. more choices at breakfast, a very helpful lady to answer questions and give directions at breakfast time, and cold water, tea and coffee available in the lounge area from midday until the evening. We caught the X95 airport transit bus to Syntagma square then the short walk to the hotel. Great location for access to the Acropolis and the Agora, as well as markets and restzurants. Took the metro back to airport, easy. Wonderful to have marble bathroom in a e star hotel. Clean and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Hermes Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Carolyn A,
Thank you for choosing Hermes hotel once again. I am glad you were even more satisfied.
We all expect you will visit us again and we promise to offer an even better experience. Please check our offers on the web site and do not hesitate to contact me diretly before booking.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
70 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed in the Hermes hotel for three nights. We loved the staff as they were so courteous and helpful. At breakfast the staff came by to help with the map and the key sights to see while we were in Athens. The breakfast was fantastic and had lots of choices. The staff worked so hard to clean up and ensure they replaced food when it was finished. For families there is a great little play room as well which my daughter loved. The family room was spacious, had Wifi, a refrigerator and the air condition that worked well very. The hotel was a 15 minute walk to the Acropolis but a 5 minute walk to the Plaka flea market which was so fun to hang out. We hope to return to Athens and would definitely stay again in the Hermes Hotel

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RenandIssey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Hermes Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Renandlssey,
We thank you sooooo much for your review! We will pass on your good comments to our staff: housekeeping, cooks, lobby as such comments are the best encouragement for all. Thank you for your feedback. We definitely expect you to stand up to your promise, and hope that you will come back. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Don't let your first impression of the rather unimposing appearance on a slightly Shabbat side street, this is a great place to stay...excellent location within blocks of Syntagma Square, one block from a main pedestrian shopping street, restaurants, etc. Good breakfast buffet, clean rooms and exceptionally friendly and helpful staff...especially the young ladies who visit every table in the breakfast room each morning to check ok on you and provide any assistance, advice possible. Good choice in Athens.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GNorris1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Hermes Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear GNorris1,
I deeply thank you for your review and for taking the time to share it on TA. I love your description of us being "excellent"! We would be glad to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#12 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,171 reviews
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#30 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,648 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#16 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,160 reviews
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#15 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,899 reviews
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#2 of 325 in Athens
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermes Hotel

Property: Hermes Hotel
Address: 19 Apollonos | Plaka, Syntagma, Monastiraki, Athens 105 57, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Athens
#16 Family Hotel in Athens
#17 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hermes Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Bookgreece.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hermes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hermes Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing