We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice location, but not much else”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hermes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hermes Hotel
Ranked #18 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
washington, dc
Level Contributor
48 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice location, but not much else”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2014

I stayed here for a night while traveling through Athens, arriving late from the port & leaving early the next morning for the airport.
Since I was only going to be in Athens for one night, I wanted a place with a nice rooftop where I could see the Parthenon from. I thought this hotel featured that, but it definitely did not: The rooftop is small, and the view is blocked by other buildings.
My room was fine, but the hallways smelled like smoke and the elevator was painfully slow.
On the plus side, breakfast the next morning was better-than-average, and the hotel staff was nice to order me a taxi to the airport.

Room Tip: The elevator is slow, so I recommend getting a room on a low floor so you can take the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acon2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Hermes Hotel, responded to this review, 7 September 2014
Dear acon2012,
I am sorry your overnight very short stay did not give you the opportunity to gain a better impression from Hermes hotel. The roof terrace has a relaxing garden with view of Plaka area and limited of the Acropolis. ( for a better view all our guest visit and love our sister hotel's roof bar). Among the other things that you did not have the chance to profit are: free coffee and tea with biscuits offered until late in the afternoon, free storage room, free travelling information and tips, free use of the computer with printer etc. I hope that you will give us the chance, on a future trip, to offer you a better stay. Please check our offers on our web site.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,471 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    704
    607
    116
    35
    8
See reviews for
361
605
94
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Willemstad, Curacao
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2014 via mobile

Yes, the rooms are a bit small but then again you only sleep and clean your self there and for that it was great. We found it clean and the hostest was very nice and helpfull. Close too where you need to be....

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Harman T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Hermes Hotel, responded to this review, 7 September 2014
Dear Feddy T,
Thank you for being so understanding an appreciative with your stay at Hermes Hotel.
Best regards to your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

Nicely situated just next to the Syntagma square, this property is surrounded by restaurants and shopping. Acropolis is just a short stroll away as well. We loved the location especially as it is so near to the busstop of x95 from the airport. The hotel itself is very well-run with professional, efficient staff. Wifi was strong and fast and variety was good for breakfast. The manager was very friendly and would check with all visitors at breakfast to offer to plan tour routes etc - great service! Rooms were a good size, and well-equipped. The only problem we had during our stay was an unfortunate incident with a dripping air-con, but which the management resolved quickly. Overall a good stay, and we enjoyed it!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank airotciv86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Hermes Hotel, responded to this review, 7 September 2014
Dear airotciv86,
Thank you for reviewing Hermes hotel on TripAdvisor and for taking the time to submit photos.
I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the quality of our services and our rich buffet breakfast. As for the advantage of bus X95 is that is direct from the airport at only 5 euro. Hope you will come back. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quito, Pichincha, Ecuador
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

Although the rooms are sort of small, the hotel is pleasant and centrally located. It is close to the Acropolis, which is the main tourist attraction. It is also close to Syntagma Square. Breakfast was OK. The room was quite clean.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Patricia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Hermes Hotel, responded to this review, 7 September 2014
Dear Patricia F,
Thank you staying at Hermes hotel during your trip to Athens. I am glad you and your family had a pleasant stay and liked the very central location.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

I stayed three nights at this centrally located Plaka hotel. The staff were incredibly efficient and accommodated the various traveller needs quickly without being dismissive. During breakfast (with its yummy array of delicacies) a young lady would engage every table and ask if she could assist with 'any matter' and even offered to store one piece of luggage for 5 days while I toured the EU! The room is small but not smaller than the normal European standard - the bathroom has a lot of light and is larger than other greek hotels. A complimentary small bottle of wine and a fruit platter is provided on arrival. This modern boutique hotel is named after the youthful Messenger God "Hermes" in Greek Mythology. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly_K333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Hermes Hotel, responded to this review, 22 September 2014
Dear Kelly_K333
Hermes was the god of youth and protector of travelers...we, in Hermes hotel feel the same and take special care of all our precious guests.I thank for recommending us.
Looking forward welcoming you or your friends on a future trip to Athens.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
141 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

We stayed here for three nights and were really pleased with the location (just over 5 minutes walk to the airport buses on Syntagma Square, or just under 10 minutes to the direct underground link from Monastiraki, which takes you to either Pireaus or the airport. All of the major tourist sites are walkable (though the Archeological Museum is some distance).

The rooms were stylish, with all mod-cons, but typically small for a city hotel. The free tea, coffee, water until the evening was a nice touch, as was free wi-fi. Also, the breakfast was excellent (plus the lady who came round to check how things were going was very good in offering sightseeing/trip advice).

Room Tip: Rooms on the front seemed to have balconies, but those on the back only had small windows. Also, the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slartibartfarst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Hermes Hotel, responded to this review, 24 September 2014
Dear Slartibartfast
Thank you for choosing Hermes hotel for your stay in Athens. I am glad that we matched your expectations concerning, location, "excellent" breakfast and service. Our superior rooms have balcony. Standard rooms have a large window. We hope to have the plesaure of welcoming you again.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

Bravo bravo bravo
Unbelievable great hotel I was very impressed one of the best in Greece. Congrats service at its best. Service service the best
Clean rooms lobby. The staff was very friendly and used my first name after one day of checking,I will be back in November

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vanadium23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Hermes Hotel, responded to this review, 24 September 2014
Dear Vanadium23
It is always a pleasure to receive such an enthousiastic review and see over and over again our guests. WE all look forward to your November visit. Please contact us before booking for any special room request. See you soon
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#12 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,137 reviews
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#30 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,623 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#16 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,112 reviews
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#15 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,847 reviews
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#5 of 325 in Athens
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermes Hotel

Property: Hermes Hotel
Address: 19 Apollonos | Plaka, Syntagma, Monastiraki, Athens 105 57, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Athens
#16 Family Hotel in Athens
#17 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hermes Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Bookgreece.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hermes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hermes Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing