We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything on your doorstep”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hermes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hermes Hotel
Ranked #18 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, South Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Everything on your doorstep”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2009

I spent a week in this hotel in the Plaka. I chose it for its central location and also because I got a cheap winter rate. I found it extremely convenient to be so close to all the sights. The hotel is a short walk from either of the metro stations of Syntagma or Monastiraki. The room was a good size and kept very clean. The bed (two singles pushed together) was rather saggy. The room had a new-ish bathroom (shower in the bath) and everything worked. The staff whom I encountered were efficient though not effusive (and somewhat vague with directions). The breakfast was good. Around the area were two laundries which took in travellers' clothes, a small supermarket, and the most enormous number of religious paraphernalia shops (the Cathedral is around the corner). There were many places to eat close by. A few minutes away there was a cheap internet cafe (otherwise a terminal in the hotel lounge). Best: location. Worst: saggy bed.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greenie-esplanade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,471 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    704
    607
    116
    35
    8
See reviews for
361
605
94
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
73 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2008

Very central for all the sites & transport links.
We arrived earlier than the official check in time, but they were very helpful & after 5 mins found that one of the rooms was ready so we could get settled & unpacked straight away.
Not a huge room, but perfectly adequate as we weren't intending to spend much time there! Comfortable beds, lovely bathroom & a pleasant stay all round.
Breakfast was fine to start you off for the day, more selection than than some places we've stayed!
The location really was the key here, most of the sites easily walkable, Plaka shopping 5 mins, Monastiraki 5 mins, Syntagma 5 mins, all a gentle stroll. We easily walked to the Acropolis, Keramikos, Lycabettus Hill, the Agora & the Benaki Museum. Central to Syntagma, Monastiraki & Acropolis Metro stations & close to tram & bus stops at Syntagma.
Excellent choice!

  • Liked — Central location, friendly staff
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Yiassas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2008

Re-visiting Athens after two years, I wanted a hotel nearer to the centre that would be clean, friendly and not too noisy. The Hermes certainly hit all those buttons. It is only a couple of streets away from Ermou (for shopping) and no more than 5 minutes walk from Syntagma Square and the main tourist streets of Plaka, but is far enough away to have little passing traffic at night.

The reception area is bright and welcoming and the staff were all exceptionally friendly and courteous. The room was compact (OK - small!) but the bathroom was of a good size, very clean and everything worked fine. The only slight problem was that the shower screen did have a small gap that could result in a wet floor but it was OK if used with care. The bed was comfortable, the air con was effective and it was great having a small balcony overlooking the street. CNN was the only English TV channel but who goes to Athens for the TV? There is a lounge area behind reception with a large screen TV, internet PC and a number of books - a good place to chill out rather than spend time in the confines of the room.

Breakfast was included in the room rate and was fine - if you are looking for a full cooked meal you would be disappointed but there were a good selection of cereals, cold meats, cheese, eggs, fruit, yoghurt, cakes and bread. For me the two most important things are that the coffee isn't too dreadful and that the food is continuously replenished and Hermes passed both tests.

Overall, great value for money and I would certainly have no hesitation in returning.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and location
  • Disliked — Small room
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank paul_44_mk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2008

For the price it was fine. Clean, friendly, and better than anything I ever stayed in when I was back packing. The fans in the bathroom make an awful noise and it's definitely not the quietest hotel I've stayed in, but considering the price and location, just a couple of mins walk to Syntagma Square , it's not bad at all.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Noise at night
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Olimur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales g.b
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2008

We stayed for five nights in room 404. Very noisy aircon on back like jet engine at night. School behind very noisy in morning school bell goes off around 8.00am. All rooms ending in 04 have kitchen noise and laundry noise. Breakfast plentiful but of poor quality. Hotel very clean, new towells and sheets every day. Decor and furnishings tired. No roof terrace just roof!!! Good views however. Good location very central everything in walking distance. Some staff aloof and unhelpful. Lift impossibly small tiny in fact. Alright for young people and students, rooms at front much better. It's ok as a base for touring Athens. Plenty of local places to eat, Head for Plaka right at base of Acropolis for good eating.

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Disliked — noise
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sparkle1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2008

Clean, recently remodeled, friendly staff, good/great breakfast.

Air conditioning works adequately well, very clean bathroom.

Multilingual staff, tried to be helpful, good attitude.

Walk out the front door, walk straight across the street walk 30 metres, to the right is a great little Greek restaurant operated by a nice young couple. They will be happy to have you and they will treat you as individuals.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank WellThatWasFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2008

A very average place, but didn't mind it at all. The last stop on my honeymoon was Athens and we wanted to stay in the Plaka at some place decent that wouldn't kill the wallet. The room was really really small, but it did the trick.

Our time in Athens was all about being outside and seeing the ancient sites, so the location in the Plaka was just where we wanted to be.

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank thattravelguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#12 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,139 reviews
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#30 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,625 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#16 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,117 reviews
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#15 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,851 reviews
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#5 of 325 in Athens
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermes Hotel

Property: Hermes Hotel
Address: 19 Apollonos | Plaka, Syntagma, Monastiraki, Athens 105 57, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Athens
#16 Family Hotel in Athens
#17 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hermes Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Bookgreece.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hermes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hermes Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing