We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent quality, great price!”
Review of Hermes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hermes Hotel
Ranked #15 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 December 2010

Of course the hotel is in a great location just as the other reviews state and the city & its people were amazing. Traveling with a friend and her 3 year old son, this hotel went beyond the call of duty to make our stay a memorable one. From searching out kid friendly events, finding restaurants, to locating a pharmancy that was opened on Sunday to help Gabriel who got an eye infection - the staff, with Angela in the forefront were all amazing. Gabriel, who never hugs strangers, was hugging everyone who worked there. so, you get a big thumbs up from the 3 year old too. This is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank x5marano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DORINAPLAKA, General Manager at Hermes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2011

Dear Guest,
Thank you ever so much for writing a nice review that will help others to make their choice in the future especially if they are travelling with children.
The central location with easy access to all mayor sites, as well as the experience of our staff is what makes this hotel stand out.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,563)
There are newer reviews for Hermes Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

990 - 996 of 1,563 reviews

Reviewed 21 December 2010

Of course the hotel is in a great location just as the other reviews state and the city & its people were amazing. Traveling with a friend and her 3 year old son, this hotel went beyond the call of duty to make our stay a memorable one. From searching out kid friendly events, finding restaurants, to locating a pharmancy that was opened on Sunday to help Gabriel who got an eye infection - the staff, with Angela in the forefront were all amazing. Gabriel, who never hugs strangers, was hugging everyone who worked there. so, you get a big thumbs up from the 3 year old too. This is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank saltlifepcb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2010

The hotel is located within 5 minutes to Acropolis and 10 minutes to other places like Agora or ruines of Zeus Temple. Such great location made us independent from the public transportation, which is a plus at times of frequent strikes. It is also less than 5 minutes to Sintagma Square which can be reached by subway. As it is in Plaka district it is also very quiet.
The rooms are modern and spotlessly clean. The rooms have wooden floors and bathrooms have marble tiles. Nothing to complain about. The breakfast are delicious. The hotel offers full information on sightseeing and very up-to-date information on public transportation, which is very important in times when strikes happen every second day. The person from hotel appeared from time to time during breakfast to make sure that everything is ok and to ask whether we need some info or help with sightseeing Athens.
All this, in 3-star hotel, which could be as well 4-star facility, cost us EUR 70 for the family of four - 2 adults and 2 small kids.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank waldeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DORINAPLAKA, General Manager at Hermes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2010

Dear Guest,
We are very happy to know that your stay at the hotel was positive experience. We thank you for sharing your thoughts on Tripadvisor as this will help future clients. We hope to see you on a future trip to Athens. Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2010

Great Hotel, location is perfect everthing is very near.
Staff are very nice and helpfull.
Rooms are ok, bit small and can be very hot. The airco is great to have.
But you don't spend much time in the room anyway with so much to see in Athens.
Bathroom is fine, nice shower gets a bit flooded at times.
Sheets and towles got changed every day, very nice!
Breakfast is fantastic, lots to choose from.

Would stay at this hotel again if planning a trip to Athens again.

Stayed: December 2010
Thank red2151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DORINAPLAKA, General Manager at Hermes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2010

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind comments on our property. As our main goal is to offer to our guests high quality facilities and services, it is great to read that you were satisfied with your stay. Thank you once more.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2010

We had originally booked at the Plaka Hotel, but when we arrived, we were told that the room wasn't ready (damaged by previous visitors). but not to worry, they had organised for us to stay at their sister hotel, the Hermes, which was just around the corner. We didn't lose out in any way by being transferred. The Hermes is a great hotel located in one of the quieter streets of the Plaka district. Everything is within walking distance, including the Acropolis. The staff a friendly, helpful, and speak good english. There is Wifi available in ther hotel (2 euro for 1 hour or 8 euro for 24 hours, very reasonable). Breakfast was included which was a continental syle, and plentiful and good quality. All up, a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David-Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DORINAPLAKA, General Manager at Hermes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2010

Dear Guest,

I am glad that you were satisfied with the service you received from our staff, and the location of the hotel. Satisfaction of our guests is our primary concern and we are very glad when we achieve a positive result.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2010

Cannot understand the negative comments. We stayed for 5 nights and have booked to return. Room well designed, immaculately clean, the bath towels were so soft and white!
Staff were amongst the friendliest we have ever experienced, the location is so central and convenient. I cannot recommend it highly enough, great value for money.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gabbai_shnukal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DORINAPLAKA, General Manager at Hermes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2010

Dear Guest,

We have read your very kind comments with great appreciation and satisfaction.
We thank you for your time to share these comments on Trip Advisor, and we are pleased that we were able to offer you an exceptional experience. Thank you for the high score.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2010

The Hermes is minutes walk to the acropolis and the acropolis museum,
minutes to cute streets where you find little restaurants and shops,
and we had an excellent price booking with booking.com. Stayed in a big room (for European hotel standard). 2 queen beds + pullout extra bed for our 3year old. Everything new and very clean. Bathroom is quite spacious (again, you're in Europe!) and has a bathtub. People were very kind, and breakfast is included.
I would go again.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ecrescia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DORINAPLAKA, General Manager at Hermes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2010

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing our hotel during your recent visit to Athens. Guest satisfaction is our primary concern and we are pleased to know that our high standards of service and facilities enabled you to have an enjoyable and memorable stay.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#10 of 282 in Athens
3,344 reviews
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#27 of 282 in Athens
1,769 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#13 of 282 in Athens
2,336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 282 in Athens
3,847 reviews
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#12 of 282 in Athens
3,153 reviews
Omonia
Athens Center Square
Athens Center Square
#22 of 282 in Athens
1,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermes Hotel

Address: 19 Apollonos | Plaka, Syntagma, Monastiraki, Athens 105 57, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Athens
#12 Family Hotel in Athens
#13 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £54 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hermes Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hermes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hermes Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing